We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly superb”
Review of Purefoy Arms

Purefoy Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$46
Cuisines: Gastropub, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A 5* Hotelier (Paul - Four Seasons, YTL Hotels) an award winning Chef (Dougie - Michelin red M, 2 AA Rosettes) along with front of house manager (Matt - Alfred's of Mayfair, The Bath Spa, The Gainsborough Bath Spa) have joined forces in the pursuit of turning a beautiful country pub into Gastro heaven. All classically trained and living for what they do, they are serving up stunning daily changing menus which are based around traditional classic French & English dishes, with Local ales, speciality lagers from as far flung destinations as Spain, Holland & Japan. A stunning array of wines selected from a number of distributors both local and nationwide and a carefully selected spirit list to compliment any London cocktail bar. All in the beautiful surroundings of the Hampshire countryside. Expect fine dining service and food by trained professionals with amazing people skills. Where possible only local and award winning produce is used, and as time goes by everything they intend to use will be either grown or made in house. Look out for their soon to be established vegetable & herb garden and their homemade ice creams. Expect wine and whisky tastings, along with exclusive and not to miss events. With heroes like Cesar Ritz & Auguste Escoffier, It's not hard to understand the dedication and passion that goes into everything they do. A lighter bar snack menu is available midweek in the designated lounge bar area, with a semi private dining room offering 6 course tasting menus for between 6-12 people when pre booked. A garden menu will also be available during the summer months. The garden area is also available to hire for private functions and weddings. Please not that last orders in the restaurant are 21:30 midweek and 22:00 Friday & Saturday
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly superb”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Girlfriend and I visited the Purefoy almost by accident. The menu was extremely varied and quite unusual. The wine list was superb.
We had the full 3 courses and coffee and just couldn't fault anything the wine was fantastic too.
A little more than we usually pay but we left happy with what we received for the money. My only slight gripe is the automatic service charge.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wakeham64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    96
    42
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chawton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great menu”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had a lovely relaxing meal with friends. The waiter recommended a mix of tapas to share as a starter & his choice was spot on. Fab mix of flavours! Great main courses to choose from & the plaice with crab gratin was delicious! Will definitely be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adml2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fairly priced”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My last visit to the Purefoy Arms was three years ago and I'm glad to see the quality is just the same. Just had lunch there with my mother and after some home-made bread and good olives Mum had the rack of lamb with pea pods and girdles. The lamb would have been pinker to suit my taste but Mum said it suited her perfectly. I had an unusual cut of Iberico pork, which was cooked like beef, a much darker meat than the pork we normally see. This was served with very soft chick peas mixed with salt cod and a black olive aioli. An unusual and very good combination of ingredients. We both had a salted caramel mousse encased in chocolate cake with a passion fruit sauce for dessert. My only criticism is that it would be good to have a few more wines available by the glass. The full wine list is extensive and varied but probably only about a dozen available by the glass, maybe fewer than that. We ate in the sunny and sheltered garden which has views across the countryside. There's a reasonable amount of parking on site but it would be difficult to park otherwise. Staff are all friendly and knowledgable. Not cheap at £70 for two courses each and a glass of wine but the ingredients are of the highest quality so good value nonetheless.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJHinWinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What A Find”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were taken here by my daughter and her husband who raved about it after their first visit two weeks previous,and they were right to be so elated.The atmosphere was beautiful which was helped enormously by the fabulous staff especially the Australian manager who new all the answers to our questions on the food and wine.He had a fantastic knowledge of the wine regions and indeed individual vineyards of the wines on offer.Staff that talented are hard to find.The food was superb.We all started with the Spanish Tapas which was beautiful followed by wonderfull main courses.
We will be returning without a doubt as there is absolutely no reason not to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Business Lunch”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Perfect location for a Tuesday afternoon business lunch, amazing food and perfect service. Clear the afternoon as the wine list is extensive!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jayyjayym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purefoy Arms also viewed

Alresford, Hampshire
 
Alresford, Hampshire
Alresford, Hampshire
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Mapledurwell, Basingstoke
 

Been to Purefoy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing