We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest and Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Port Cunnington Lodge & Resort
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rest and Relaxation”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I've stayed here on several occasions at Thanksgiving, but the most recent stay was a 1 week summer holiday. I needed a place of total relaxation, down-time, and quiet. This property and resort met all these needs. The cottages are well spread out across the property making it seem like very few people were here. Stayed in the BoatHouse #1 - wow, a balcony looking out over Lake of Bays with the waterfront literally steps away. Awoke in the mornings to the sunrise shimmering across the bay. Plenty of kayaks, canoes free for use. Played pool in the 'barn' in the evenings. The lodge provides great meals for breakfast and dinner. The BoatHouse is a lovely 2 bedroom (one queen; and one room with 2 twins); a small bar fridge; two burner stove, and dishes. Lovely little living room with wing back chairs and sofa, overlooking a beautiful deck right on the water. Great place for young families with small children who can be easily watched at the beach; and equally great for couples looking for solitude and a break from the rat race. Cottage was clean, beds comfortable and cozy for sleeping, awoke to the sounds of loons. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Meal plan was mandatory for the Boat House, but we had plenty of room for cheese, wine, meats and sandwich material in the mini fridge. Evenings, there were two locations for campfires with cords of wood stacked up for use. Fishing off the dock in the evenings for the kids who caught small bass. Enjoyed taking the canoe around the bay and just floated listening to the sounds of 'nothing' - no traffic, no voices, only the wind and sounds of water and occasional bird. This was my total relaxation holiday....read books, swam in the crystal clear water (a bit chilly) but refreshing. Morning breakfasts are buffet - all you can eat; and dinner included ($60pp/day) from a menu. Have also stayed at this lodge in the Fall at Thanksgiving in the Sandpiper, the Crow's Nest and the Hummingbird. Thanksgiving weather can be iffy - one year hot, the next rain and some snow. But the units all had fireplaces and the ride into Algonquin is only about 20 minutes or so.

Room Tip: The Boat House is good for couples or those with little to no mobility problems (as you needed to cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calvin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We made phone reservations for our 2 night visit with Angela , who is very pleasant and helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We used the gas fireplace, but like another viewer, we were not sure how to turn it on. Perhaps in their welcome sheet an explanation would be helpful.

The grounds are well maintained and they have a putting green, tennis courts, shuffleboard & library with quite a few books. There is a separate building with a pool table, dart board and a lg. TV. In front of some of the buildings there were picnic tables as well as gas bbq's.

I liked that they had a couple of docks for lounging, with comfortable chaise loungers. They also had large solid pergolas to protect you from rain or sun on part of the large docks.

Fishing was not quite as good in this Lake as other lakes around this area.

The Buffet breakfast was excellent and lots of fresh fruit was cut up and nicely displayed. The homemade breads and jams were delicious. Dinner was also excellent and the chef's expertise was impressive.

For accommodation there is quite a selection and it would depend if it were couples, families or persons with some mobility issues. Some buildings are on a bit of a hill & Sandpiper being one of them. It is also further from the water. Apparently they have modified one bldg. to accommodate persons with some special mobility needs. There is a building by the water that has the library and also washrooms.

In many of the Cottages it is mandatory to take the meal plan which is breakfast and 3 course dinner and light housekeeping daily. Children under 12 are half the adult rate and children under 3 are free. It is $60.00 pp./day.

There is nothing close to the Lodge to eat. However, they do have small fridges (freezer has the lift up door inside fridge), microwave, coffee maker, cutlery, some dishes , glasses and I think I saw a toaster. You can buy some groceries and bring them with you as with so much nice fresh air and things to do, the kids will be hungry.

Just off Hwy 35 near the cut-off to go Port Cunnington Lodge is a LCBO for the adults who are thirsty. I "think" the corkage fee for the dining room is $10.00, but their wine list was not that expensive. Our room did have a cork screw.

Upon check-in they also ask for a separate cleaning deposit of $250.00 It will be returned at check-out.

It is a great place to have family reunions and we hope to return there next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My wife and I were lucky to get-away for a relaxing stay in Lake of Bays, and take advantage of a Groupon promotion that we extended to 4 nights. We stayed in the a unit of the Sandpiper House, which is not right on the look, but just a short walk up from the unsupervised beachfront/dock area.

The staff were very friendly, and we enjoyed chatting with the helpful servers for the dinners. We ate all of our breakfasts in the main lodge building, as well as 3 dinners (as part of the deal). They certainly feed you enough! Very big portions, and nice meals, and the menu had a few changes every couple of nights. Breakfast was a filling start to the day, and our primary recommendation (and little disappointment) is that the syrup that accompanied some great meals was not pure maple syrup, which is available and good in the region. We quietly brought our own in for the last breakfast and it made the meal that much more enjoyable.

The room was clean and comfortable, but lacked some of the more "rustic" appeal we would have liked in this cottage area. Nice to have a little mini fridge, kettle available as well. Also, the weather was on the cool side during our stay and the gas fireplace in our room was not working - we did ask for someone to come fix it, but never had anyone come to investigate or show us what we might have been doing wrong, which was a bit disappointing given how pleasant everyone there was.

The canoes and paddles/life vests available was a highlight of our time spent here! Beautiful lake. Too cold for us to take a swim, but we could appreciate how nice a place this would be to spend some time in the summer months. Also, being within 30 minutes of Algonquin Park, you couldn't ask for a more picturesque area to stay.

Overall, a very nice property in a beautiful setting and close to many other Algonquin and Muskoka region highlights. We likely wouldn't return ourselves, but would have no problem recommending it for others if this is what you are looking for!

Room Tip: Sandpiper House is split into at least 3 or 4 different "units". We would recommend paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geefmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was a wonderful experience. We were there from Fri afternoon to Monday morning. The whole property and the cottages are well maintained. Didn't try the restaurant. We rented two cottages to accommodate approx 15 people. All the amenities were great. There are no TVs (except in a some bar that was closed) and no motor boats or swimming pool. But canoes and kayaks and surf boards were good enough. Life jackets are provided in the boat house. The beach is unsupervised. They have a floating slide and two trampolines in the water but the ladder is not adequate to provide access for most people. We did not try the restaurant. There were mosquitoes and the weather did not cooperate but we still managed to have fun. The fire-pit near the beach was great - we sat there late into the night. Overall we would use this resort again but don't know if we can replicate the deal we got.

Room Tip: Choose cottages away from the centre - these are more quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurbanali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We had family coming in from Alberta for a visit and wanted to spend a couple of nights away. In the Toronto Star, Jaunt.ca advertised Port Cunnington Lodge.We liked the look of the Lodge and after placing a phone call and speaking to Angela, a lovely conversation, we booked. What a wonderful gem in the Muskoka's Enjoyed every moment, the food was exceptional and our accomodation lovely, The Boathouse. Highly recomend. The staff are friendly and helpful. Thank you.

Room Tip: Lake views from the boathouse are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 620george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Just returned from a one nite Wagjaunt getaway & can't wait to book again. I know the area quite well so knew what to expect from spending time on Lake of Bays, but had no idea what a fabulous job they've done with this property. First of all, it's spotless and everything appears brand new. The food was exceptional and the service very good and extremely personable. I highly recommend it. Hope to make it an annual getaway - discounted or not!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Experiences1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We spent the last weekend here attending our daughter's wedding. From the dinner on Friday night to the breakfast on Sunday morning everything was fabulous! The accomodations were a highlight for all, with the variety of cabins and rooms, the lodge dining room, the porch, and the barn where the wedding took place. The food was absolutely delicious, the waitresses were lovely and the atmosphere was calm and relaxing. We felt like we owned the place! The grounds are beautifully maintained and our guests made good use of the tennis courts, putting green and shuffleboard areas. Angela was very helpful in the planning of the wedding itself, giving input and sharing her expertise.
I understand the viewpoint of another traveller who said he was on a weekend high while staying there. We felt the same, and the recurring comment from our friends and relatives was that it was a shame that we couldn't stay longer! We would recommend a Port Cunnington wedding to anyone! We LOVED it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jecav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake of Bays
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
8.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
462 reviews
7.9 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Lake of Bays Lodge
11.2 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
174 reviews
5.2 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Cunnington Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Cunnington Lodge & Resort

Property: Port Cunnington Lodge & Resort
Address: 1679 Port Cunnington Rd, Lake of Bays, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Lake of Bays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lake of Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Cunnington Lodge & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1890, Port Cunnington Lodge and Resort has been welcoming guests for over a century. Enjoy the scenic surroundings, fine country dining and all the activities Muskoka has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Port Cunnington Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Cunnington Hotel Lake Of Bays
Port Cunnington Lodge And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing