We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located but not overly comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aparthotel Adagio Basel City
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Booked a week in Basel and stayed at the Adagio City Aparthotel. The room was an apartment which comprised an entrance which incorporated the kitchen which had fully functioning cooking facilities and fridge freezer. The living room doubles up as the bedroom with a fold down settee. We kept the bed down most of the time. When changed to a settee it was really uncomfortable. Not much better as a bed. En suite facilities include a bath, shower and wash-hand basin and was more than satisfactory. The one thing that this hotel and as I understand it the majority in Basel don't have is air-conditioning. Some websites describe this hotel as being air conditioned - it is not. It does have a ventilation system that is supposed to circulate air around the apartment but we found this to be of limited value and did not cool the air in the apartment down. Thank fully a relative provided us with a fan, which was worth its wait in gold. The hotel is in an excellent location for getting in and out of the city, but go a few streets to the right of the front door at night and you will find yourself in the red light area. We found it by mistake. We did not eat in the hotel. Cleaning of the apartment is about 8Chf per day if asked for, otherwise no cleaning takes place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanthesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel wasn't great, but was a solid value for a rather expensive city to stay in. It's located a good 15 minutes walk from the market square, so be prepared to walk to find the action. The hallway and gym have a slight "dungeon-like" feel, so you're better off running outside along the river. Though the facilities weren't great, the service was pretty good when I needed assistance (or a N.American power adapter). Will look for alternatives next time I visit, but won't count it out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at the Adagio a couple of times last month. I particularly like the location of the hotel - it just about 100 mtrs from the tram station and located almost centrally in Basel. There are plenty of eating options around the hotel. The staff is helpful and courteous. The rooms, while small, are comfortable and decently furnished.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a city break. The staff were very welcoming on arrival. The room was great - trendy clean and roomy. The mini kitchen came in useful. We opted to get our own breakfast but note the local shops/bakery are closed on Sunday inc Lidl. The hotel is well located for trams and buses. Max 5 mins walk. We walked into town which only takes 15 mins. Public transport was a bargain as you get a card when you check in for free travel. We also bought a basle card giving us free access to the zoo and half price boat trip.
We would use this hotel/hotel group again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Glennons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We love this little town with everything within walking distance n friendly people. We made the right choice of picking this hotel although its abit difficult to locate (we are not that good with maps). Was greeted with warm welcome.

The reception check us in while we explore their wide range of brochure on the town. Complimentary local transport pass was given we made full use till we left.

The room was great! Spacious enough for the 4 of us (2 adults 2 kids). Kitchenette with everything u need if u want to cook which we didnt. regular fridge n oven suitable for long stay if u want. We stayed for 2 nights. Sofa pull out bed for kids approx king size bed. There is a door in the middle of the room which allows us to continue packing or watch tv while the kids are asleep.

We didnt take the breakfast package as we decided to explore the surrounding filled with many lovely bakeries n cafes. It happened to be christmas season so we got a chance to join in the Christmas market.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank borntraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Hotel provides apartments, which is really good for those who used to have cup of tea before going to bed or if you like to have breakfast in the room. Cable Internet is not free, but who cares if you can have wi-fi connection for free. Another advantage - free pass for all public transport.
To sum up - comfortable, clean, quiet and definatly worth that money.

Room Tip: Take non-smoking if you do not like it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetlana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio-Duty_Manager, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Aparthotel Adagio Basel City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Svetlana!

Thank you very much for your review and additonal comments.
We like to inform and communicate that wired and wifi internet is free at all (as in all our Adagio and Adagio Access apartment hotels!)

Best regards,

Steffen Ruhland
1. Receptionist
Adagio Basel City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#11 of 52 in Basel
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#16 of 52 in Basel
926 reviews
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#30 of 52 in Basel
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Adagio Basel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Adagio Basel City

Address: Hammerstrasse 46, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: £64 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Adagio Basel City 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aparthotel Adagio Basel City is perfectly located within short walking distance of the old town and welcomes you in inviting surroundings close to the banks of the Rhine. This Aparthotel welcomes both business and leisure customers for long and short stays, with 77 comfortable and practical 2-person studios and 2-room apartments for 4 people. The Aparthotel is close to the exhibition center and within easy reach of the airport, and facilities include a fitness room and car park. Studio for 2 persons accommodation includes 1 double bed - french 150*200 (twin beds only on special request on availability), Apartment with 1 bedroom for 4 persons accommodation includes 1 sofa bed in living room and a bedroom with twin beds. All apartments are equipped with full equipped kitchen, bathroom with bathtub, toilet, vanity mirror, towels warmer and hair dryer, Satellite-TV with over 115 international channels, personal safe, individually adjustable ventilation system, high-speed Internet (free WIFI available), mini-stereo. Apartment facilities 220/240 V AC- Emergency exit map- Safe deposit box in room - Alarm clock- Radio in room - Opening windows - Remote control TV - Crib in room (on request)- Operator wake up call- Automatic wake up call- Satellite colour HD-TV - Manual temperature control- Free access with phone card - Direct dial telephone 1 - Microwave in room- Coffee/tea making facilities - Kitchen facilities- Pots/Pans/Dishes- Vacuum cleaner- Ironing board & flat-iron- big Fridge- Dishwasher- Cleaning kit- Coffee maker- Keycard-operated door locks- Security peephole- Smoke alarm in room- Emergency info in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aparthotel Adagio Basel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio City Aparthotel Basel Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing