We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good simple business hotel”
Review of ibis Basel Bahnhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ibis Basel Bahnhof
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I generally like Ibis and this is no exception. Easy walk from train station. Very friendly staff. Room small but efficient. Shower does not include shampoo/conditioner, just generic liquid soap. Free and good WiFi. Basel metro pass free of charge. Not really walking distance to sites, but very easy tram ride. You can hear muffled noise from train station a little, would recommend room facing street. No mini bar or hotel shop, and nearest mini grocery is at train station. Small hotel bar. Breakfast is a bit lean for 15 francs. For short term business travel, it is a great alternative.

Room Tip: Face away from train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trinzeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

We've stayed here recently when we went to Basel for a friend's birthday. The location is great, close to the train station and the stop for the airport bus and the mobility ticket that we received upon check-in allowed us unlimited travel on public transport while we were there. Staff were friendly, our room was clean. Didn't have any food or drinks here, but we absolutely did not have any complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank TrippyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

No reason at all to give this hotel less than 5-stars. Excellent location, about five-to-ten minutes' walk from the station, and on several important tram routes (beware some tram and train noise in some rooms). Hotel is welcoming, with excellent knowledgeable staff, and scrupulously clean. Rooms are quite small but adequately equipped. Bar is available 24 hours, and breakfast is an impressive 'all you can eat' buffet from 6am. Price of this hotel is significantly below that of some of the big hotels (e.g. Hilton), but I can't quite work out why I would spend more money on a hotel in Basel. The neighbouring restaurant recommended by the hotel, 20 metres away was honest and convenient; just across the bridge, the Brasserie at the station is a very nice bar to have a drink or to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheRoliingMcStones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

1. Very conveniently located
2. Free Mobility Pass provided by Hotel is a great gesture
3. Nice comfortable rooms
4. Five min walk from Downtown
5. 10 min walk from Basel Zoo

Long story short - i liked the place

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Ibis Basel is a relatively new hotel situated about 5 mins walk from the main station. It is typically Ibis in decor although the rooms are bigger than in some locations. My main gripe is that the breakfast lacks hot food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Petefromswinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have stayed in several hotels in Basel but I keep coming back to the Ibis Basel Bahnhof, in fact over 20 times . In terms of location, value, cleanliness, friendliness and the breakfast I feel you will not get better value. Forget Ibis experiences in France etc, there is a "Swissness" at large in this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but the top floor rooms feel a little special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Ibis hotels are well known by providing a " simi- luxury " hotel rooms with a very reasonable prices in everywhere, but in the terms of Switzerland heavy or busy business days the prices gets high a lil so you can put that in concerns!! Still the hotel staff were so helpful & friendly and the location is like almost at the city center! You will definitely enjoy your stay at ibis hotels!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrtieonafly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#33 of 52 in Basel
426 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#30 of 52 in Basel
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Basel Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Basel Bahnhof

Address: Margarethenstrasse 33 - 35, Basel 4053, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Basel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#14 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: £70 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Basel Bahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Basel Bahnhof is located right next to the main train station in Basel and is 15 minutes from Basel's EuroAirport. The city center and the zoo are just a few minutes' walk or a short tram ride away. Our hotel with 112 rooms is fully non smoking. Enjoy our friendly 24/7 reception, our generous buffet breakfast, 24/7 bar service, free wifi and webcorner, luggage room and an indoor car park (12 spaces for an extra charge)are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ibis Basel Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Basel Bahnhof Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing