We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, great location”
Review of ibis Basel Bahnhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Basel Bahnhof
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“great value, great location”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Couldn't believe the price in comparison to other hotels in area. Rooms were in excellent condition, clean and necessary amenities. Easy walk to train station, old town and 15 minute bus ride to airport. Complimentary bus tickets, maps of old town and transit system. Staff spoke several languages fluently, and were helpful. Free computer/internet in lobby. Shutters closed in evening, so rooms were quiet. Appreciated email sent a few days before arrival, giving weather and links to other possible attractions and needs.
Will definitely use the Ibis chain again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    476
    84
    7
    1
See reviews for
98
352
132
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at the Ibis hotel on the 12/13th April. It is in a great location near the Basel SBB - walking distance. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bedrooms were small, well equipped and good for a short stay, especially at the price. As with a previous review we too experienced the same sleep issue here. The room was so hot you had to open the window to cool it. You then had Catch 22. The noise from the railyards!ll We had a room on the 2nd floor. While the windows cut out the noise, you needed them open to try and lower the heat, all unfortunately because the aircon. was not working due to it being "heating season". Staff unfortunately had no control over this and could not change it. The TV was good however more english speaking channels apart from 24 hour news service that repeats every 20 minutes would be nice. The beds could do with some improvement as well. Having a 50mm foam mattress on top of a base really is not good enough. The layer moves and fails to provide adequate comfort. A good proper mattress would be more appropriate.
It really is such a shame that your sleep quality is impaired with these problems as the hotel has so much going for it.

Room Tip: Find a room that the aircon is working so you can keep the windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigruss57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Ibis on a number of occasions and have found the hotel exactly as we expect it every time. Given how expensive hotels in Basel are, I can think of no reason why it is worth spending a lot more money on your room

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MarkRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
217 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I had previously regarded the Ibis chain as pretty down-market but this hotel changed my views. The prices of everything in Switzerland are ridiculous but the cost of a night's stay in this hotel (just over 80 Swiss Francs - book well in advance!) seemed pretty good relatively. We arrived off a river boat at 10.00 am but the receptionist accepted us without a quibble - which was much appreciated and will not be forgotten! The hotel is within 5 or 6 minutes, walking, from Basel main railway station and is well situated for anyone wanting to use the railway system. But it is also situated on three tram routes which will take you pretty well anywhere by interconnecting routes. Also there is a large public transport area just outside the railway station. The hotel receptionist gave us a guide book to Basel and a bus/tram map plus some guidance. At present if you book a hotel room (perhaps anywhere in Basel but certainly in the Ibis Hotel) you will get a free ticket to all local public transport which at Swiss prices is really helpful. Our room was basic with open "wardrobes" - very similar to the Holiday Inn Express chain - but had air-conditioning, excellent soundproofing (even good enough to cope with a tram outside!), adequate space, a comfortable bed and a good shower. My only complaint was the liquid soap - anyone want to join my campaign for proper soap in all hotels? I sampled the bar twice as it was pleasant enough and a lot cheaper than drinking in central Basel. We had breakfast which was excellent. There was no hot food but the ample cold buffet for 15 Swiss Francs was very good value (especially at Swiss rates) and thoroughly enjoyable. I thought that all the staff whom I met were helpful and courteous. They certainly changed my views about ibis and I would certainly return to stay at this hotel. It is a budget hotel but of a wholly acceptable standard.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hibees43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Hotel is in an excellent location for Basel SBB -we walked it with hand baggage in 5 minutes. Like all budget hotels the effort has gone into the bedrooms rather than pretentious public rooms. The bedrooms were small but well equipped and perfectly adequate for a short stay - at a reasonable price for a Swiss city hotel. The breakfast was good for 15 francs and our understanding was that snacks/simple meals were available most of the day. We were recommended by reception to an excellent Italian restaurant nearby. All in all it would have been a good stay if I could have got some sleep. We had a room on the 4th floor facing out onto the street and with the window open the street noise people/cars and in particular trams was about as bad as it gets. The noise insulation of the windows was excellent but unfortunately the aircon. was either not working or ineffective - remember the room is small. By the time we realised the problem it was too late to call reception. If you book this hotel then try to book a room away from the street and/or check if the aircon. has been switched on for the summer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyseye99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel at the beginning of March. Absolutely brilliant! Just what we needed, the hotel website that I booked this through stated that it was 2 star but this is definitely not the case. Great location walking distance to the train station and a 15-20 minute walk to the market square. There is a tram stop right outside the hotel which will take you to the centre of Basel within 5 minutes, we heard no noise at all. Upon check-in a friendly man on reception advised us on where to travel to the following day as we had hired a car, he helped us with maps and directions which was very much appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel as it was perfect for what we needed at a great price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnfirstchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#22 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#7 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Basel Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Basel Bahnhof

Property: ibis Basel Bahnhof
Address: Margarethenstrasse 33 - 35, Basel 4053, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Basel
#12 Family Hotel in Basel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#14 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Basel Bahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Basel Bahnhof is located right next to the main train station in Basel and is 15 minutes from Basel's EuroAirport. The city center and the zoo are just a few minutes' walk or a short tram ride away. Our hotel with 112 rooms is fully non smoking. Enjoy our friendly 24/7 reception, our generous buffet breakfast, 24/7 bar service, free wifi and webcorner, luggage room and an indoor car park (12 spaces for an extra charge)are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Basel Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Basel Bahnhof Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing