We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but a little bit pricey for an Ibis”
Review of ibis Basel Bahnhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Basel Bahnhof
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is well located just few minutes walk from the train station. As platinum member, the staff offered me a welcome drink upon the check-in, also a transport card.

The room is clean, spacious and quiet even though it was close to the train station. The bed was perfect! Firm and comfortable as what I need to have a good sleep. I had the room 101 and it had some kind of double door so you won't hear the noise from the corridor which was excellent. Nevertheless, the pillows are to be improved in order to get the highest score for the sleep quality :) The toilet brush is missing in the bathroom and this is quite annoying if you aren't travelling alone.

Overall, this hotel is good if you need to pass a night to catch an early flight/train the next day from Basel. It keeps the promise for the Ibis standard, but perhaps a bit pricey. Anyway, it's Switzerland overall, comparing to the other hotels in the area, this one is among one of the best choices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suradech S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie J, Manager at ibis Basel Bahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay in the ibis Basel Bahnhof. I am pleased to see that we have all in all managed to meet your expectations. It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to have you staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
There are newer reviews for ibis Basel Bahnhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel offers the usual reliable Ibis experience - very clean rooms, comfortable beds and a buffet breakfast that is good value for money. A few minutes walk from the station, it is perfectly situated for anyone travelling by train. What sets this hotel apart from other Ibis hotels is the friendliness of the reception staff, who provided a street map and advice about the tram route into the town centre ( 24 hour tram tickets are included in the price of the room).

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenandjohn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie J, Manager at ibis Basel Bahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the ibis value for price paid. Thank you as for having highlighted the friendliness and helpfulness of our team. I am glad to see that they have managed to make your experience with us enjoyable. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A short 2 minute walk from the rear exit (through the overhead bridge) of the Basel SBB (Main Train Station) and you're there. The Basel travel pass is complimentary (at all other Basel hotels too) and the hotel is right next to the tram and bus stop. In fact I think its a better place to get hold of Tram #2 if you're headed towards Messeplatz since its one stop before Basel SBB.

Wi-fi is great (via coupons), beds comfortable, ibis style well designed bathrooms, pretty soundproofed rooms, coffee shop, breakfast room. Very helpful staff, with everyone speaking immaculate english.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinksaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie J, Manager at ibis Basel Bahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you so much for having given us a 5 out of 5 ! Thank you as well for having mentioned the helpfulness of our staff. I will for sure share your comment with them. It has been a pleasure to have you here at the ibis Basel Bahnhof and we hope to welcome you back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Room Tip: The wheelchair accessible room was great when travelling with a pram. Lots of space.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank littlemazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sophie J, Manager at ibis Basel Bahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Well the Hotel situation in Basel is during fares very strangen, than also an Ibis Hotel manage to cost more than 150€ per night. But back to the Hotel itself, it is very clean, modern and very close to the main train station, which is also the biggest drawback to this Hotel. It is quit noisy, in the front of the Hotel 2 different Tram lines are located and next to the Hotel it the entry of the main train station were all Trains has to pass. Overall I can only recommand this Hotel during fare, when other Hotels are even more expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie J, Manager at ibis Basel Bahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you very much for your comment. I was pleased to read that our value for price paid and our location have been meeting your expectations, particularly in the frame of a fair in Basel. I am sorry to read that you have found the room not to be quiet enough. For a future stay, feel free to let us know at check in and we would happily of course try our utmost to allocate you a room, which can better suit your expectations. I hope we will get the chance to welcome you again in the near future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Surprisingly spacious room (and spacious bathroom) in clean, new building.

Location very convenient for SBB train station and trams. Note - although it's right next to the SBB train station, you need to leave the station from the correct exit to take advantage of this. Take the wrong exit, and you could end up walking right round the outside of the station and railway lines in a big, tiring, 20 minute circle.
The quickest route (5 minutes at the most) is to walk down PLATFORM 14 from the main station building. This requires going down a flight of steps to platform 14, then climbing a flight of steps at the end of the platform to the top of the railway bridge. Once you're at the top of the bridge, you're about 30m from the Ibis hotel on your left. There's a tram stop right outside the hotel, which will take you down to the town centre by the Trois Roi hotel.

The price of the room was good for Basel. Can't comment on the breakfast, as we thought it too expensive, so bought food at the supermarket in the SBB station and ate in our room. A coffee at the hotel was about 4 Euros.

Soundproofing excellent, as it tends to be in newer hotels.

There's even a lift to the upper floors, which is always a boon.

Service friendly, helpful and multi-lingual. Wifi signal was good in the room.

Overall, this hotel exceeded our expectations. Well done, Ibis !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NightOwl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here for one night. The hotel is right next to the train station, and is very easy to find. The town centre is about a 5-10 min walk away. The rooms were lovely, and were very clean and tidy. The reception staff were very nice and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhiannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#32 of 51 in Basel
389 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#4 of 51 in Basel
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#24 of 51 in Basel
542 reviews
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#31 of 51 in Basel
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Basel Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Basel Bahnhof

Address: Margarethenstrasse 33 - 35, Basel 4053, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Basel
#12 Family Hotel in Basel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#14 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: £72 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Basel Bahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Basel Bahnhof is located right next to the main train station in Basel and is 15 minutes from Basel's EuroAirport. The city center and the zoo are just a few minutes' walk or a short tram ride away. Our hotel with 112 rooms is fully non smoking. Enjoy our friendly 24/7 reception, our generous buffet breakfast, 24/7 bar service, free wifi and webcorner, luggage room and an indoor car park (12 spaces for an extra charge)are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Basel Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Basel Bahnhof Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing