We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ibis Basel Bahnhof
Nearby Hotels
Dorint An der Messe Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Spalentor Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Aparthotel Adagio Basel City(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
DASBREITEHOTEL(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Airport Hotel Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victoria(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rochat(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
GAIA Hotel(Basel)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (942)
Filter reviews
942 results
Traveller rating
323
518
91
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
518
91
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopminute walkseems expensivemain stationcity centretravelling by trainshort staynumber buspublic transportcold cutsfree travel cardmobility cardfree wifitrams and buseslate at nightrooms are smallsbb station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 942 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

the hotel is located in a great location, it is within walking distance to the Basel SBB, the rooms are clean but not very spacious but very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going there especially on business

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie J, Manager at ibis Basel Bahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you so much for having awarded us a 5 out of 5! I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay in the Ibis Basel Bahnhof and that you would happily recommend us. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our Viking River Cruise for a party of 5 docked very early at St. Johannspark. Walked up the street to tram stop and took tram 11 to Marktplatz then tram 16 to IBW for Ibis Basel Bahnhof using our hotel reservation for free fare. Hotel could store luggage but rooms were ready and we checked in. Ibis staff were very accommodating and issued us Basel Mobility Tickets for local transportation use. Rooms are small, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and there were no problems with noise, despite being in the city centre. Walked to Basel tourist office in train station and purchase city tour tickets and Swiss Rail Pass. Breakfast was included in our room rate (16 CHF) and you get an excellent buffet, including fruit juices, water, cappuccino-type coffees, fruit, pastries, rolls, cheese, meats, pate, jams, cereals, yoghurts etc. was excellent. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie J, Manager at ibis Basel Bahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you so much for your excellent review following your stay in the Ibis Basel Bahnhof. Thank you as well for having highlighted the quality of our breakfast offer. It has been a pleasure for us to welcome you and we hope to have you staying with us again in the future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in several Ibis hotels on this Swiss trip, and were impressed by all of them. The Basel one includes a free ticket for public transport in the city, which was excellent. I think all hotels offer this, as visitors are charged a small city tourist tax. Rooms are small, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds. Staff were pleasant and helpful, and there were no problems with noise, despite being in the city centre.
A word of advice about the breakfast: at 16 Swiss francs each, it seems expensive, but it really isn't. We tried buying an alternative breakfast at the nearby railway station on our first morning, and spent over 11 Swiss francs each on a ham baguette (small), a small coffee and a banana each. For 16 francs at the hotel, you get an excellent buffet, including fruit juices, water, cappuccino-type coffees, fruit, pastries, rolls, cheese, meats, pate, jams, cereals, yoghurts etc. Even if you don't fancy a big breakfast, simply buying a fruit juice, coffee and a ham roll outside would cost 16 CHF.
For eating out, we took the 16 tram from right outside the hotel to the Markt Platz, where there are loads of eateries at all sorts of prices. Swiss meals are not cheap (you can easily pay 25 CHF each for just a main course), but we enjoyed all the ones we had.
I would happily return to this hotel if I went back to Basel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iris033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie J, Manager at ibis Basel Bahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Iris, thank you very much for your nice review following your stay in the Ibis Basel Bahnhof. Thank you as well for your positive feedback related to our breakfast. I was delighted to see that it met your expectations with regards to its variety and price. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in the future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Basel Ibis, lives up very well to its Ibis name - unpretentious, clean, well equipped with all necessities and then top it off with a substantial breakfast. It is 10 minutes walk to Basel SBB which is useful for one who needs to catch the train. The room was quiet, despite the busy Basel SBB nearby. Would recommend it to anyone who needs a good night's sleep and catching an early train.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie J, Manager at ibis Basel Bahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

I was happy to read that we have met your expectations and that you would consider recommending the ibis Basel Bahnhof. It has been a pleasure for our entire team to welcome you and we would be pleased to have the chance to have you staying with us again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is well located just few minutes walk from the train station. As platinum member, the staff offered me a welcome drink upon the check-in, also a transport card.

The room is clean, spacious and quiet even though it was close to the train station. The bed was perfect! Firm and comfortable as what I need to have a good sleep. I had the room 101 and it had some kind of double door so you won't hear the noise from the corridor which was excellent. Nevertheless, the pillows are to be improved in order to get the highest score for the sleep quality :) The toilet brush is missing in the bathroom and this is quite annoying if you aren't travelling alone.

Overall, this hotel is good if you need to pass a night to catch an early flight/train the next day from Basel. It keeps the promise for the Ibis standard, but perhaps a bit pricey. Anyway, it's Switzerland overall, comparing to the other hotels in the area, this one is among one of the best choices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suradech S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie J, Manager at ibis Basel Bahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay in the ibis Basel Bahnhof. I am pleased to see that we have all in all managed to meet your expectations. It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to have you staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews