We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of ibis Basel Bahnhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ibis Basel Bahnhof
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in December, with our main visit to Basel being for the christmas market.

Location : Excellent. The number 50 bus is free from the airport and drops you off outside hte main railway station ( Bahnhoff SBB). You walk back on yourself past the station, over a bridge and you are there. Its literally 5-10 mins. Its only a 10 min walk then into the city centre, and the number 2 and 16 trams stop right outside the hotel. There is a small corner shop and a small supermarket nearby. Location was excellent.

Rooms : We had a lovely room on the 5th floor facing the main road. To our amazement we also had a balcony!! The rooms were lovely, all brand new, spotlessly clean. There is an open wardrobe, some shelving, flat screen tv and a decent bathroom. There is no bath but a large shower which always had hot water. The TV had loads of channels, though only about 3 were in English. Note that the electrical plugs while European in plug style, are not round, and round converters will not fit. We had to loan one from the reception desk. At night the area outside was quiet and there was little noise. Only downside to the room was that the bed was very hard, and we only had one pillow each with no extra in the room. Though we did have an extra duvet. The room had decent heating and air conditioning controls.

Facilities : IBIS hotels are plain and simple and this was no exception. The reception desk was very welcoming. There is a small bar which is actually excellent value for money and much cheaper than drinking out in the town! A beer and a glass of wine was 7 Francs. In town, a beer alone would cost 7 Francs. They also do simple snacks but they are nothing special. We didnt bother with breakfast, though this was 15 Francs if you did opt for it. There are some seats and sofas within the reception area and a PC with internet. Overall it was all we needed.

Basel : 3 nights was enough in Basel. There isnt much to do there unless you like walking around museums. We visited Munster Cathedral which was really nice, we crossed the Rhine on the boats, went into France and Germany, and visited the xmas market, but with the town being so small, you can do it all in a day or two. The main language spoken is German (Swiss German) but most people speak English and the people there were friendly.

Basel itself it stupidly expensive. A coke will cost around £4, a beer £5, as for restaurants, very expensive, and surprisingly, not that many around the town unless you really hunt high and low. For a steak dinner you could expect to pay £32 for the steak, around £30 for a bottle of wine, and £10 to £15 for a desert. We opted to eat in a place called Mr Wong's for 2 nights, which was a chinese place, where they cook the food infront of you. A main course was 15 francs (around £10), and the place was very busy, no doubt because it was cheap. The food was actually ok. The Co-Op's had restaurants, where you could get a meal with drink for around 15 Francs.

Transport : Great! You get a travel pass from the hotel, which allows you to use the busses and trams for free. You can use the number 50 bus to and from the airport for free. Transport was excellent and very safe, we used it all the time.

Safety : Generally the town felt safe, though late at night, and particularly on week days and Sundays the town gets very quiet after 9pm, with groups of lads walking around. While they seem to pose no threat, we did feel a little nervous sometimes walking past them on quiet streets. In addition, the town is absolutely covered by grafitti, it is everywhere, and really spoils the place and gives areas a more threatening feel about it. We did get approached on occasion by the odd homeless person asking for money.


Overall - the IBIS was excellent, though the beds could do with being just a bit softer and not so hard but I would stay there again. As for Basel, I wouldnt return, but if you are using it as a starting point for expoloring other locations, such as France, Germany, Itlay etc. then Basel with its location and transport links is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryH_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2009

Conveniently located five minutes walk from the station. Not a typical Ibis room (better than UK ibis rooms), quiet and clean so it provided what we required to enjoy our 3 day stay in Basel. Staff very friendly and informative of local area. Must agree that breakfast isn't great value, but transport very close by and we really enjoyed our stay, loved the zoo!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I booked on the internet and got the weekend rate of SFR 112 including taxed which is not bad for Switzerland. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Conveniently located five minutes walk from the station.

A typical Ibis room, not particularly luxurious but perfectly adequate, quiet and clean so it provided what I required.

I would recommend it if as a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Booked on internet and after quick check in went up to room facing railway station. Very comfortable especially bed, even if not very roomy. Breakfast excellent - perfect for a hungry cyclist!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brussels_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We agree with all of the comments that Blackheathbloke made in his review. This hotel is less than 5 minutes walk from the rail station. Our rate was 109 SFr. per night, which seemed like a great rate compared to other hotels in the area.

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel (being using to American prices, I couldn't force myself to pay 15 SFr. for breakfast). There were several more affordable places for food inside the train station.
Additionally, the A/C did work well...as an energy-saving feature (I assume) you must insert your room card into the A/C to make it work.

The room isn't really large enough to spend a lot of time in, but for a place to sleep, we enjoyed it. It was clean and quiet inside.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank uclabobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

I stayed in this IBIS when it had only been open for about 3 weeks, so everything was spotless and the room still had a 'new smell'. The decor was typically IBIS, so if you usually stay in IBIS hotels you'll know what to expect. One thing that was a little more upmarket than usual was the flatscreen TV in the room.

The hotel is very close to the station, if you exit the station towards the side away from the main square it's a few minutes walk to get there. As with most hotels in Basel they give you a card for free travel on Basel trams and buses, and as long as you have your confirmation with you then you can use the bus from the airport into town for free too.

I stayed here for 3 days, but was using Basel as a base to explore different parts of Switzerland by train so it was a great location for me.

Howver if you want to be right amongst the nightlife (remembering that Basel is very small, so you're only 5 minutes by cab and maybe 10-12 minutes by tram) you might be better to stay in a hotel nearer the river.

Overall I'd recommend, due to it''s recent opening it's of a slightly higher standard than your usual IBIS.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackheathbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We found the breakfasts at this new hotel to be very disappointing and expensive (CHF 15 each). Not good value! There was little food offered and the choice was very limited. Hot drinks were available from a self service machine only. However the lady in charge was very pleasant during our two night stay.
We stayed in the Ibis at Cologne Station last year and found the breakfasts there to be excellent so this new hotel does not compare favourably with it.
The room was very clean and new and everything worked OK. Internally it was quiet and we were unaware of other people staying in adjacent rooms (no TV noise, shutting doors etc). It is situated on a busy corner so windows open or closed means that there is traffic noise.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#30 of 52 in Basel
258 reviews
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#33 of 52 in Basel
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Alban
Novotel Basel City
Novotel Basel City
#20 of 52 in Basel
361 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Basel Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Basel Bahnhof

Address: Margarethenstrasse 33 - 35, Basel 4053, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Basel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#14 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: £68 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Basel Bahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Basel Bahnhof is located right next to the main train station in Basel and is 15 minutes from Basel's EuroAirport. The city center and the zoo are just a few minutes' walk or a short tram ride away. Our hotel with 112 rooms is fully non smoking. Enjoy our friendly 24/7 reception, our generous buffet breakfast, 24/7 bar service, free wifi and webcorner, luggage room and an indoor car park (12 spaces for an extra charge)are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Basel Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Basel Bahnhof Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing