We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in Apalivin Budget Hotel in Basel, Switzerland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
“Disappointed in Apalivin Budget Hotel in Basel, Switzerland”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The "Apalivin" word conveys an image of "apart-hotel", but I was not convinced. It is more "budget" hotel. The 2 receptionists were not welcoming and seemed annoyed at being disturbed when I approached the front desk. They never greeted me first or made me feel at home. They queen bed is a double bed, there was no microwave to heat a meal, they provided a morning coffee capsule, but no milk. I do not plan to return there and would not recommend this place for the money!!!!!!

Room Tip: Dont go there. There are other deals to be had in Basel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yocasta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    34
    31
    5
    7
See reviews for
4
18
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Having read a few negative reviews on here, we weren't too sure how it would go at Apaliving. Luckily we did our homework - mainly thanks to fellow Trip Advisors' reviews - and sorted out our Door & Room codes before we arrived, so no hassles during check in.
The Hotel is more like an apartment block and I think they have a mix of long and short-term guests. We found staff to be very nice. They only work office hours though, so plan to have to sort your own stuff out at times.
The hotel is about 8min walking from Basel SBB main railway station and we found the place very easily. In the area near the hotel there was no shortage of shops, supermarkets, eateries (we basically ONLY ate at Sutter, a lovely cafe which also sells SALADS, pastries and pastas) and tram stations.

The room was larger than expected, like a wee flat, but without the kitchen. The room was clean and fairly well furnished (lots of storage place AND a fridge where we kept our own perishable food). WIFI was available and worked well, however they have a system where you need to go online and request a new password every hour (this is sentto your cellphone at no cost, I think) but can be a painful experience.

Bathroom OK, hot water and water pressure OK also. Despite being quite a big place, we slept soundly every night.

All in all, as long as you know you're not checking in into an actual hotel, and you're OK with it, it's probably worth the money you spend as you have a chance to store your food, you're very central and you can use their washing machines and dryers in the basement. Please note that whilst this service is provided free of charge, it took us over 3 hours to dry (medium size) load, which was ridiculous. I think this was due to 2 out of 3 dryers not working properly.

CHF 150 per night was probably more than we should have paid, hence 3/5 for VALUE, but quite happy with what we got regardless.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the elevator. Definitely ask for a Door and Room code if you're p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank el_ser83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Considering most motels and hotels near the SBB rail station are CHF200 or more, this was a steal. I traveled alone and found the room to be perfectly adequate. Sure, the TV is small and only has one English Channel. Sure there's no AC. But the hotel is within walking distance to SBB, grocery stores, restaurants, etc. 2 tram stations are nearby to bring you into the old city (Altstadt) for free (they give you a mobility card at check in.) If you send them an email prior to arrival, they provide door entry code and code to get your room key. They will even store your luggage during reception hours (7-5:30 during weekdays). Convenience without cost! My only negative would be the hard bed which I found difficult to sleep on since I like soft mattresses. Book this place already!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooldeben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

It was a nice stay on the apartments as it was very near to the railway station. I find it slightly over-priced but when you take everything like distance, location, transport etc in consideration then it is a fairly good deal. Rooms are nice and spacious. Staff is also very helpful. There have this process of check-in before certain time of day else you need to get a password from the folks and collect the keys to your room from an automated machine, I liked that about it!! Have stayed there during last 2 trips to Basel and might consider it next time as well..

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank LALOTRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Introduction was to a locked hotel when I arrived and a number to call posted to get code to check in. Unless you have a phone that operates in Switzerland, that's a problem. Would it be too difficult to send us an email with the code and instructions to get the key?

Cleaning schedule erratic, perhaps is by plan but would be nice to see posting of when to expect. And on Saturday morning with hotel closed for weekend and leaving on Sunday the soap/shampoo ran out. Too much to expect a refill after a 10-day stay?

And other inconveniences in between. A rally bad experience overall...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmcconne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Basel hotels

Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

It's a good budget place if you plan to stay in switzerland in a short period time, they also had monthly fees which is also good. Close to the train station around 15min walking so really easy to travel as well. Don't expect anything special about it, but it's neat and clean.

Room Tip: - No reception for quite a long period including evenings and weekends so please check beforehand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabasjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Clean, friendly, convenient and favorably priced for long-timers like me. I have been staying here for 6 months and have been extremely happy. It's quiet and the wi-fi is always available so it's easy to work in the evenings if necessary.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back. You get woken by the sound of birdsong and can't hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#18 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Hotel Balegra
#41 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Munchnerhof
#48 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#32 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel

Property: Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel
Address: J. J. Balmer-Strasse 1 | 4053 Basel, Basel 4053, Switzerland (Formerly Appartementhaus Gundeli-Park)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
APALIVING offers near the center of Basel a pleasant, quiet living for the best value for money. In a few minutes by bus or tram you are at the train station SBB (2 minutes), in the city center (6 minutes), at the fair (9 minutes) or at the St. Jakob stadium (7 minutes). The stations are two minutes’ walk away from the hotel.180 rooms in two categories are available. Laundry facilities and WIFI access are free of charge. An ironing station can be used during reception opening hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appartementhaus Gundeli-Park Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing