We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a new design”
Review of Hotel D - Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel D - Basel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2012

the location is very good very comfortable rooms especially for family,a modern and luxury equipments and design,a very kind staff .i think it was a nice memory for us

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0bin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you having taken the time to share your experience.

As you have mentioned Hotel D is ideally located in the heart of Basel with major shopping streets nearby as well as the market square and a vast variety of museums.
We are delighted that you and your family had a pleasant at with us, and will carry this memory with you.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Modern and comfortable rooms. Well located, in the heart of Basel.
Friendly staff

Room Tip: Standard rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swisstraveler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Hotel Guest

Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed our modern and comfortable rooms.

As you have mentioned we are located in the heart of Basel and within walking distance to most places of interest.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Good location, nice comfortable rooms with all that you can need without extravagance and very friendly and helpful staff. I would go again

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 379olga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel D.

We will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their service and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel D in the near future.

Kind regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The rooms are very good, and location as well. Front desk helpful, except we did not understand how the breakfast charge worked. Perhaps our oversight to not clarify. So we ate at the breakfast area each morning, and were charged. The quality of the breakfast was modest, the charge "deluxe".

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BayAreaBrownsBackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, as you have mentioned we are ideally located in the heart of Basel. We are delighted that our front desk staff was able to help you with your queries.

As for breakfast, if it is not booked directly with your stay it gets charged separately at check-out.
If it is additional it is stated on your confirmation. We regret that this was not clear to you.
May recommend for your next stay you book the breakfast directly, it will thus also be at the reduced rate.

Thank you again for having taken the time to write this review.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Hotel D.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel D for a couple of nights in May 2012. The location is ideal for walking tours of the old city. The accommodation was first class and the continental breakfast was plentiful and varied. Throughout our stay the staff was most helpful, with advice, maps and free transit passes.
We will certainly stay at Hotel D again next time we are in Basel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ex-patBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear valued hotel guest,

We were delighted reading your positive review on Hotel D.

As you have mentioned Hotel D is ideally located in the heart of Basel, in walking distance of the old town and most major sights of interest.
Our staff always tries their utmost to provide our guests with information and guide them through Basel.

Here in Basel we are fortunate to have a tourism board which came up with the mobility ticket system which makes getting around convenient and of course complimentary the maps are ideal to guide you through the picturesque streets of Basel.

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience, it is much appreciated.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Hotel D on your next trip to Basel.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The rooms at Hotel D are very modern and VERY clean. The staff at the Front Desk could not have been more helpful and professional. Every question we had concerning directions, they would pull out a map and show us the route. Excellent location to historic district, shopping, restaurants, trolleys etc. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staplesjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, Directeur général at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience.

The Front Desk staff felt much rewarded by your kind words and positive feedback.

We are delighted that they were able to assist you with directions and showing you how to get around.

As you have mentioned we are ideally located in the heart of Basel and right next to the old town with major shopping streets, places of interest and museums all just a short walk from the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel and enjoyed every one of them. The rooms are very modern and newly remodeled. Yes, they aren't small but they are fully adequate by European standards and they are so well organized that we didn't mind the size. The location was great, right near the tram stop for all sorts of lines (and you get a free tram pass with your room). Plus you could walk to the Marktplatz and other city center locations. The staff was very congenial and helped us at every step of the way. I'd stay on a higher floor because the tram does run by the hotel.

Room Tip: HIgher floor would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear guests,

We thank you for your comment on our Tripadvisor page. We are delighted to read your many positive comments and we hope to welcome you soon!

As you have well explained in your comment, our establishment is located at the entrance of the old town with excellent acces by car or public transport.

All of our guests are offered free public transportation tickets which are valid throughout their stay at the D.

Therefore guests are able top leave their cars in one of the two public car parks located one block away from our establishment.

Furthermore, we are glad that you have enjoyed the room amenities and our services.
The D is trying its best in honoring any guests requests to fulfill in the best possible way the clients expectations.

Thank you again for your comment and please do not hesitate to come and visit us again.

Best regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Basel
#7 of 51 in Basel
1,002 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 51 in Basel
575 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D - Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D - Basel

Address: Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: £101 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D - Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Design & Boutique hotel in Basel, Switzerland. Located on the famous Blumenrainstrasse, close to the old town and the renowned attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel D - Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing