We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very nice boutique hotel!!!”
Review of Hotel D - Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel D - Basel
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

me and my wife find the hotel excellent.the stuff was familiar and the breakfast was delicious!!! we had a llitle short at Basel for one night and this boutque hotel made us feel very comfortably.what the hotel needs is a bar to relax the cold nights that you don't want to go out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vasilis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am very pleased to read that you have had an enjoyable stay, and that our staff were so welcoming and helpful. It is correct that we have no bar, but for sure we also serve drinks at our lobby.

Look forward to having you back with us next time!

Kind regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

I found the hotel very good, great location, room was super clean and modern. The only thing was missing was a bar to relax in the evening. Breakfast was very good, with a good choice. Staff were super friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: This hotel is in a great location, the room's are super good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pasta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dearest Kevin,
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We are pleased to read your review and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel D in Basel. We are very sorry we do not have a bar but a nice lounge where you can enjoy a cozy for drinks.

We hope this visit would be one of many and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My friend and I stayed here for one night on our way to the Alps for a snowboarding trip. We got a great deal on the room on hotels.com and loved the place! We were on the 6th floor with a nice room with a lovely balcony. As other reviews have mentioned, the bathroom is a bit weird b/c there is a frosted glass window in front of the toilet which makes things a bit too obvious. But other than that, the place is fantastic. The cute little old town is a short walk away and you are practically across the street from Les Trois Rois hotel which has a lovely bar / tea room. There is also a delicious indian place nearby (Indian Tandori Palace). The hotel is also not far from the airport but a taxi ended up being about 40 swiss francs (not sure of the other options b/c we had snowboards & didn't want to hastle with a bus). Would absolutely stay in this hotel again if I were back in Basel!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetSetterPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Jessica,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel D. In Basel for your recent stay and thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

Thank you for the good comments about the rooms and location. I was very happy to learn you had a pleasant stay and your comments with regards to our team are greatly appreciated.

As mentioned, it is just a short walk to the old town.

It is correct that a taxi is quiet expensive. There is also the possibility to catch the bus. It is an easy and short ride. Also with the hotel confirmation you can use it free of charge.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hotel D has all it takes to be a favourite with business travellers: A comfortable bed in a pleasant, clean and quiet room. Holiday makers may find the hotel a little sterile for more than 1-2 nights.

A word of caution though: You and your roommate should know each other intimately and well, or even better, share a streak of voyeurism and exhibitionism. Only a clear glass wall separates the bedroom from the bathroom, allowing for absolutely no privacy in either room. Tinted glass or a light curtain would make the room perfect for regular couples as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denmark46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Denmark,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.
We are pleased to read your review and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel D. In Basel . We regret that we were not able to satisfy you with our design.

Even so we hope this visit would be one of many and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We have just returned from a weekend here to visit the Christmas markets, there were 3 of us travelling. We shared a room, we were in a room on the second floor at the front of the building, traffic noise was almost nothing, since most people use the fantastic transport system in the city, Hotel D provide you with free transport use for the duration of your stay which we found invaluable!
The location of the hotel is perfect, for those taking the bus from Basel airport, it takes 2 VERY easy bus journeys to arrive at the hotel, the journey lasting nothing more than 14mins! After getting off the second bus the hotel is right next to the stop!
One of the main tram stops is just down the road (approx. 4min slow walk), the River Rhine is literally JUST across the street and down a flight of steps.
As mentioned we went there for the Christmas markets- they take around 10mins to walk to at a slow/medium pace.
I have to mention that I am NOT a fit person who enjoys to walk, BUT all of the sights/attractions/christmas markets were in very reasonable walking distance, and if walking is a very big problem for you, the trams are so easily worked out that you could hop on/off as you please!
The hotel staff were lovely, polite and very helpful, prior to arrival helping with questions on transferring from the airport, they also provided us with countless maps, tram maps, walking directions etc.
Back to the room, we had a double deluxe room, set up with an additional sofa bed- the room exceeded our expectations, it was very spacious, modern and clean, the bathroom was to die for, the bed and bedding could of been smuggled home and the sofa bed too!!
We also paid for breakfast in our booking which was lovely, meats, cheeses, toast, pastries, yoghurts, fruit, fruit juices, COFFEE (the Swiss LOVE coffee!) so and very good start to the day!

Our ONLY gripe with this hotel was that they do not provide ANY sort of food, including room service, other than breakfast. This would normally be fine, we like to eat out and try new things, BUT be prepared, the food in Basel is VERY expensive!

All in all, we would definitely recommend this hotel for its location alone, but many more pros for this lovely city hotel!

Room Tip: The traffic noise is nothing that would keep you awake so rooms at the front are fine. We were on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dearest Catherine,
Thank you for your fantastic comment but also for your lovely pictures.

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time at hotel D in Basel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Basel in a near future.

Best wishes,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We loved this little hotel. We booked the executive size room (room 205) and thought our room was very large, especially for Europe. Super comfortable bed and pillows were also a treat as I usually hate the pillows in euro hotels, but these were firm enough for a night's sleep. The TV had a huge selection of satellite channels including four or five in English. In addition to the TV they have free WIFI! A huge bonus and it was super fast and easy to log on. We were on the 2nd floor and the room had floor to ceiling windows, but was very quiet. There was also a huge closet and plenty of space for your things in the room.The staff was very nice and helped us find a nice place to go have wine and cheese.

My only small quibble is the huge window that between the bedroom and the bathroom. You could see everything happening in the bathroom from the room!!! Yikes! There are some things my spouse doesn't need to see. They could also use a shelf for your toiletries, razor etc. If I had been here for longer than a weekend it would have been a pain to get ready daily without somewhere to put your stuff.

Despite the bathroom setup, I would love to stay here again and hope I get the chance soon.

Room Tip: everyone seems to complain about the size of the rooms. Ours was huge, if you want a big room, book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writeguy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us, here on TripAdvisor.
We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations as well as the great service you received!

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on business with my wife. The room was a good size and clean with good fit out. I stayed with on the 5th floor in the corner room on the road side. Overnight the room was quiet but in the morning the traffic could be heard but no more than I would expect staying in the centre of a city. Free Wi Fi, always a plus and large TV. Our room included breakfast which was continental buffet style. Food was fine but nothing fancy, breads were fresh and ordered coffee which was done well. As in some other reviews, pillows square which we're not the most comfortable. The strangest thing was the bathroom setup. It was well fitted out with good shower etc but between the room and the bathroom was a large clear glass window which had no curtain or cover and looked straight between the 2 rooms. I am no prude but thought a little privacy going to the toilet isn't too much to ask. We had to make sure not to look in when going. Overall a good experience though.

Room Tip: The higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Jason,

Thank you for your positive review!
We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that everything met your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 52 in Basel
657 reviews
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 52 in Basel
1,009 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D - Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D - Basel

Address: Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: £93 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D - Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Design & Boutique hotel in Basel, Switzerland. Located on the famous Blumenrainstrasse, close to the old town and the renowned attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel D - Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing