We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Basel”
Review of Hotel D - Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel D - Basel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Basel”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Lovely and modern, in a great location right near Les Trois Rois but at a fraction of the cost. We had a luxury room (one up from the basic level) and this was really nice with a big comfy bed, good tv, beautiful bathroom / rain shower. Asked for a quiet room and got a room facing the back on the top floor (6th) - it was very quiet with a view across the rooftops. Also asked for iron / ironing board in the room and this was ready when we arrived. No tea/coffee in the room so take a travel kettle if you want this. There is a mini-bar in the room though. Breakfast was good too - liked the layout of the restaurant. Simple selection of continental breakfast items but all very fresh and tasty - especially the mini-croissants. Staff very helpful too. Would stay here again as it is in a great location and had everything we needed.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you need it. Better to pick a luxury or executive room if you can as they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback about your recent stay with us.
We take pride in the service and amenities that we provide to our guests and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your Deluxe room.

Our team strives to exceed our guests expectation and I am pleased to see that was your experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again for your next stay in Basel.

Best regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    303
    50
    8
    6
See reviews for
87
303
42
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Small but well-designed room, very helpful staff. Breakfast could be better - simple but no hot food (even no simple smashed eggs) - various ham, cheese, bread, yogurt and fruit.

Location is very good - sightseeing and main restraints just on the next street.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MayaGetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time share your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our establishment our service and our design as well as its location.
It is true that our Standard rooms only have 15 square meters, but feel free to book and enjoy another category of room during your next stay in our Hotel.

Moreover, all the descriptions of our rooms and their size are available in our official Web Page: http://www.hoteld.ch.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Hotel D in Basel.

Kindest regards,


Julien Baly,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
247 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during Fasnacht, and the location was great, a short distance to the town centre. The room was well designed and spotlessly clean but small. The bathroom was well designed, so everything was in the right place. Breakfast was good, with tasty bread. It is also on good transport routes.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice comment.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. It is true that our Standard room only have 15 square meters, but do not hesitate to book and enjoy another category of room during your next stay in our hotel.
We are pleased to know that the design of the hotel and its location have been at your convenience.

We hope to welcome you for your next stay in Basel.

Best regards,

Julien Baly,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Hotel D is a very pleasant, modern and tasteful hotel. My only criticisms are (a) the size of the room - at 15 square metres, it was the smallest room we encountered during our trip in Switzerland. There was barely enough room for our two suitcases. (b) breakfast was not included - at 24 CHF per person, this was too expensive, given that my wife doesn't eat very much for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggersn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay in our hotel.
During your stay, you have booked a Standard room, which is 15 square meters, but for your next stay, do not hesitate to book an Executive room : 25 square meters or a Suite : 30 square meters.
About breakfast, we are sorry that it has not been at your convenience; however, we have special offers including breakfast at 17.-CHF.

Nevertheless, we can assure you that we will take your comment in consideration.

We hope to welcome you for your next stay in Basel.

Best regards,

Julien Baly,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent one night at this hotel in the beginning of March. Hotel was easy to get to, no parking though, public garage was 5min away, 24CHF per day. When we arrived at 20.30 cca, there was nobody at the reception with a message to call on some number. Room was spacious and nice, two TVs, free wifi, dock for iPhone, everything as advertised. Only one small pillow in the bed which was pretty surprising in comparison with everything else which was at high standard. Breakfast not so rich as in other hotels with 4 stars Ive been to but no bigger issue. Great location, bus station in front of the hotel, tram stations nearby. Pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Lukas

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel and for taking the time to share your comment regarding your recent stay.

About the parking, regretfully, due to our location (town centre) there is no space around the hotel to build a parking. As you mentioned in your comment above, we usually send our guests to the City parking which is less than 5 minutes on foot from our Hotel and even tough, it is 24.- CHF per day, it’s still the cheapest parking in the area.

Moving forward to your next comment about the fact that there was nobody at the reception when you arrived, I would like to apology and hope that you didn’t have to wait too long. I assure you that we are doing our best for this not to happen. Nevertheless, sometimes, especially during the evening, it can occur that some guests call the reception with special requests, in order to meet some of those, our receptionist might have to leave the front desk for no longer than five minutes.

To conclude, it is regrettable that you found our pillows too small, fortunately, if our guests need anything, including more pillows, our team will be more than happy to provide them with its best service.

We are very pleased to read that you had a nice stay in our hotel; we will take your comment into consideration and hope to welcome you for your next stay in Basel.

Best regards,

Julien Baly,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Suisse
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Very cute little hotel. Fantastic locaation, walking distance from center and lots of trams & buses just in front of hotel. The suite is amazing, the extra large balcony offers quite an impressive view of Basel. Breakfast is ok, could be extended. Unfortunately the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, nor a real bar feel at night...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable stay in our hotel.
I am pleased to read that the Suite met with your expectations, it is true that the view you can have on the sixth floor is amazing.
As you say, we only serve breakfast in our hotel, but next time, do not hesitate to ask the reception if you want to eat in a good restaurant or to drink something in a nice bar.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again

Warm Regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

really nice hotel. I was lucky and got upgraded to a suite (much to the annoyance of my colleague), which had a balcony and fantastic view over Basel and the river. Hotel is very 'boutique', but looks good. Rooms are very nice, spacious and comfortable. Hotel is very clean. There is a small gym with 3 cardio machines and a small set of weights, as well as a sauna which I did not use. Why four stars? Well the breakfast selection is poor compared to the other hotels I've stayed at in Basel. I was there for a week and there were a few times where things ran out when it was busy and took a long time to get replenished - as the selection is small to start with, this is particularly frustrating. All in all though, excellent hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: try and get upgraded to a suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cussmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your lovely comment and for describing our hotel in a such beautiful way. It is true that our Suite have an amazing river view, which you can enjoy on the balcony.

Regarding the breakfast I will take your comment into account, that will allow us to improve ourselves.

We hope to welcome you back for your next stay in Basel.

Best regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Basel
#9 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#10 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#3 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D - Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D - Basel

Property: Hotel D - Basel
Address: Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D - Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Design & Boutique hotel in Basel, Switzerland. Located on the famous Blumenrainstrasse, close to the old town and the renowned attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel D - Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing