We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & very helpful staffs, comfortable, unique design..”
Review of Hotel D - Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel D - Basel
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel was very easy to reach from Basel main train station by bus. The staff on duty was also very helpful on getting many information for us. Had a problem of getting a rental car since it was a long weekend, which he also assisted by providing potential contacts. Comfortable & beautiful room, and unique modern design. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KNizam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor and for sharing your nice experience in our hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our establishment, its comfort, its location and its Deign.

We are also very happy to read that you found our staff friendly and very helpful. I will personally share this comment with the team.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again for your next stay in Basel.

Kindest regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have just recently had 5 nights at the Hotel D. As one of us was attending a conference, the hotel location close to the University and to the centre of town, as well as the bridge across to the bars and shopping on the other bank of the river made it a very convenient location. The reception staff were very helpful with whatever we needed and the small business centre was very convenient. As the weather was especially hot while we were there, we really appreciated the airconditioned room. The mobility ticket included in the reasonable room rate made getting around the city on the trams and buses very easy and cheap. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soultravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable stay in our hotel.

Our goal is to provide exceptional and attentive service to ensure our guests’ visit is the most pleasant and memorable. I have shared your review with our different departments and they were just as pleased as I was to receive such complimentary words.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed four nights in this hotel. The location was very good, within easy walking distance of the river, restaurants, shops and historic sites. We were also right next to bus and tram stops and a travel pass was provided to guests in the hotel, so getting around Basel was so easy. The hotel was modern...everything new and clean. The room was very spacious and had air conditioning. Everyone at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. We had breakfast each morning with lots of choices...really delicious (extra charge for this). We wished the rooms had provided a kettle for tea/coffee, and an extra pillow would have been nice. But we did not lack anything else during our stay, and we would definitely choose this hotel again if we were to return to Basel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anameineed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for your nice comment.
Our hotel was built three years ago, so it is quite new and modern.
We are happy to read that you liked the rooms, the hotel, the continental buffet breakfast, and all the services the staff provided you.

For your next stay, do not hesitate to ask the reception if you need an extra pillow or a kettle, it will be a pleasure for the staff to bring that up to your room.

We look forward very much to welcoming you for your next stay in Basel.

Best regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel D for two nights before leaving on a river cruise. It is in an excellent location for exploring the city. Easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Easy access to nice walking, jogging/biking paths along the beautiful river. Good location for city transportation. We stayed in the Junior Suite with Terrace - Top Floor and really enjoyed the balcony. The bed was very comfortable. We appreciated the blackout shades for sleeping as we came from the U.S. and needed to get some daytime rest. We had no problem getting wifi. We were high enough not to be bothered by traffic noise. We did wish they had a blanket alternative to the down blanket as we got hot sleeping and had to throw off the cover on and off. Even with the AC running. This is a very clean hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to getting us in our room early. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel. We found all the restaurants to be very expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this comment.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Basel. It is true that our Suites are the best rooms we have, with a huge balcony and a wonderful view over the city. In all our rooms we have triple glazed windows so it is a quiet hotel in the heart of Basel and normally the traffic noise should not bother our guests.

I will share your nice comment with my team.

We hope to welcome you for your next stay in Basel.

Best regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We're so glad we used Tripadvisor to find a hotel in Basel. First of all, our beautiful, quiet room was reasonably (for Switzerland) priced and relatively large. If you can manage it, move up to "Executive" size. Not only was the room spotless and very comfortable, the design of the room and the bathroom was striking. It was quite modern yet very welcoming. As suggested by others on Tripadvisor, we requested and got a quiet room on an upper floor facing away from the the street. One amusing moment came when we were lounging in our bed the afternoon we arrived. Suddenly, the shade (which lets in a lot of light but maintains privacy) began to rise, exposing us to some buildings close by! We called down to the desk and were told how to raise and lower it ourselves (a switch by the bed). They cleverly have a system where when the sun is burning through the widow, over-heating the room, the shades close. When the sun has passed, they open automatically.
The staff all spoke English and were unfailingly kind and helpful. You can easily walk to museums and other sites, but the free bus and tram pass with a map that tells you which one to take to arrive at your destination, is very easy to use when you want to visit somewhere a bit farther afield.
Parking is at a paid city-lot about a block from the hotel.
Our only suggestion is that a brighter sign identifying the hotel would be helpful when trying to find the property on the busy street. The building is quite bland on the outside and the sign sort of blends in.
We would absolutely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor !
We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Guests are often surprised by the way our shades works, but it is quite convenient in summer when the sun burns through the windows.

I will personally share this comment with all the staff and they will for sure be happy to hear that.

Now that you have found the hotel once, we hope you will come back for your next stay in Basel.

Best regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Hotel D in Basel is an oasis of hip and comfort. Near a tram stop and close to the Rhine River with all its cafes--and the river ferry. Very nice accommodations in a new space--a nice change from the old Swiss hotels. The staff was very helpful in orienting us to the public transportation system. Heads up folks! If you have your hotel confirmation with you, your ride on public transport from the train station is free. Hotel D will then provide you with a transit pass good for your whole visit.

If you stay be sure to check out the shipping container outdoor cafe located on the opposite bank of the river. Great people watching and memorable spot. Get there via ferry: exit the hotel and walk across the street, then down the steps to the river and you're on! There's also a very good, family-owned Turkish restaurant located just a block away from the hotel on Herbergsgasse.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at the Hotel D in Basel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our establishment, its comfort, its design and its location.

We are also very pleased to hear that our breakfast was at your convenience.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Sometimes one runs across a property that is totally unexpected. The Hotel D in Basel was just that. The outside was unassuming, then walking through the automatic door, you came into a very ultra modern lobby. Sort of like Ikea decorated buy much higher end. The front desk staff was very friendly and knowledgeable helping us to plan a morning itinerary before heading to our river cruise.
All the latest security features were in place. The room is in two sections, the sleeping area and the sitting area. Both with large screen HD tv's. The bathroom was fabulous with a rain shower and all the necessary amenities. It was clean and very quiet, with our room facing the street with trams running every 5 minutes. We were very surprised when we hit a switch and low and behold an auto matic shade came down over the window to completely darken the room. Best sleep in weeks.

Breakfast was not included and was the only thing that dragged a great stay down. But I would not discount the rating as there are many places from breakfast out side the hotel. The cost of the breakfast was E24.00 and converted to Canadian was $36.00. An obnoxious amount for toast and coffee and a hard boiled cold egg. One must remember Switzerland is very expensive and not a place I would spend vacation time.

Room Tip: Do not pay for the breakfast, it is not worth it. We were very happy with our assigned room, We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julien_basel, General Manager at Hotel D - Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for the kind words expressed in your review.

Our goal is to provide exceptional and attentive service to ensure our guests’ visit is the most pleasant and memorable. I have shared your review with our different departments and they were just as pleased as I was to receive such complimentary words.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Little Tip for your next stay: On our official Website http://www.hoteld.ch you can book your room with breakfast included at a lower price.


Best regards,

Julien Baly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 52 in Basel
655 reviews
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 52 in Basel
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D - Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D - Basel

Address: Blumenrain 19, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: £95 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D - Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest Design & Boutique hotel in Basel, Switzerland. Located on the famous Blumenrainstrasse, close to the old town and the renowned attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel D - Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing