We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of the best Thai/Asian restaurants in Basel”

Chanthaburi Restaurant Sairung
Ranked #66 of 653 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Still one of the best Thai/Asian restaurants in Basel”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I have been here several times over a period of three years and the food is authentic.

This restaurant is not in a trendy part of town and from the outside, it might keep one from eating here. But especially in summer, when the back garden is open, this is a really nice place to eat.

Service might not be the best or fastest, but the food more than just compensates.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Spicy food in Klybeck”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

As a found traveler to Asia and Thailand in particular, I have visited this restaurant a few times when I used to work nearby. The service could be lengthy, but their dishes as usually appreciated. My only concern is their inaptitude to accomodate the food to different grades of spiciness, so be careful, even when they promise you they will prepare the food to your liking. Because of allergies, I had to send back my order on a few occasions as they had neglected to accomodate the dish when they prepared it for me. If you like spicy food and don't suffer from any allergies you should be ok!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Baryla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“once again: excellent food”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

already my second time in this restaurant, and I am really loving it. nice atmosphere, friendly staff and the food is very good! the tables are a little small when you get your food. I can recommend this restaurant, but I advice to take a starter to your main dish.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mexico1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Very friendly Thai ambiance paired with a nice location and incredibly good food.
The price is more than fair for what you get - portion and taste eise. The 3 course Menue during lunch time is usually too much to finish. Best of all - they will prepare for you items which are not on menu card, if you know what you want.

I have been their with my friends, family and company / each and everyone liked it - go and taste for yourself.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anjanmdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tasty and good atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Very good kitchen. Outdoor area is Summer is lovely and the service very friendly!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tribolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chanthaburi Restaurant Sairung also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Chanthaburi Restaurant Sairung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing