We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 18:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Basel
from US$15.25
More Info
Reviews (1,720)
Filter reviews
1,720 results
Traveller rating
897
621
152
29
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
621
152
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant enclosure monkey house penguin walk sea lions snow leopard great layout few hours worth a visit sunny day great place to visit train station enclosures elephants apes feeding vivarium habitat
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,720 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2018

The variety of animals, ease of viewing, and incredible care make this a first rate zoo for all to enjoy.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

We were looking forward to visiting Basel zoo whilst on a trip from the UK. Unfortunately the zoo was nowhere near as good as we were expecting based on other reviews we had seen. This was the 3rd zoo I had visited in the past 3 weeks but was, by far, the most inferior. I personally was particularly disappointed by all the monkey/ape enclosures which were very small. I would not recommend.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank chrisb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

The Basel Zoo is located a short bus ride from old town. There are 2 entrances. Make sure to get a map as it can be quite confusing if you are there for the first time. Good variety of animals; count on 2-3 hours at a leisurely pace to see it all.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank larry-mo-curly-jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We caught the tram to the zoo- easy to get to. Paid 50% of the entrance price using the Basel card (given to us free from the hotel) and spent 2 hrs enjoying ourselves- nicely set out with a number great animals( crocodiles, giraffes,snakes, hippos, penguins- even rats!!)

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Duddoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

This is a great day out for all the family and for the most part I enjoyed this. I particularly loved the aquarium which really provided a great selection of easily seen marine life. There are the 'standard' zoo animals here such as giraffes and lions but also a few animals I have not seen before such as Indian Rhinos and Sable antelope. However the low point was the kangeroos which seemed skinny and cramped into a small space.
The zoo is half price if you present the Basel card provided when you stay in a Basel hotel so it is quite affordable (10CHF for adult August 2018).
Well worth a visit, I would go again if staying in Basel.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews