We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in Basel again”
Review of GAIA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GAIA Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having stayed in the hotel for three months on business some years ago I was hoping that the hotel would be as good as I remembered. I was not disappointed, the room was great, very spacious, fabulous shower and a kettle !

The staff were very friendly and very helpful, the location is great for the station, trams and airport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

booked last minute for business trip, and was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. the staff was really friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and well-furnished, and the breakfast was a feast! the location is also extremely convenient. the ground floor was undergoing some renovation, so sometimes it was hard to get by/around the supplies; there were times the construction was loud, as well, but it should all be completed now...also, whether intentional or unintentional, the staff started restocking less than the original amount...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A great hotel with stunning rooms on the 4th floor. Fabulous location across from the SBB. The staff was cordial, friendly and knowledgeable. I plan on staying here again when I return and would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in Basel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel is very well situated and easy to get to by (frequent) bus from the Airport. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. Rooms are not big but practical for the business traveller. Breakfast was varied and delicious with something to suite most tastes. Close to quite a few restaurants, which I didn't get to sample.

On the down side, there should be info in the room to explain how to raise the window blind (outside venetion) and how to get one of the pillows described on the card by the bed. It would be helpful, also, to have ironing facilities in the room particularly for the overnight stay just to take the creases out of a packed shirt. You may have to run around in the shower to get wet as the water pressure (2nd floor) wasn't very good.

Having a room facing the station can be noisey with regular trams rumbling past and the odd busker in the square (bagpipes and drum). Not the hotel's fault but nevertheless very annoying during conference calls.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel was spot on for a visit to Basel and the Alsace being only yards away from the main station and entry to the free, for hotel guests, wonderful tram system. Our room was good with good TV with BBC and ITV as well as good free wifi. Staff went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible by offering different types of pillows, readjusting TV volumes. Little things that can make a stay that bit better. Perhaps it's a Swiss thing but their free minibar which was all soft drinks apart from one lonely beer was refreshed every two days, strange. Breakfast range and quality was first class and at Swiss prices would probably cost £30 if you had to pay for it so top marks. We would certainly come back and recommend to others. Hamish, Edinburgh

Room Tip: At the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I highly recommend staying here! The location is fantastic! While in some cities being near a train station might not be a good thing, in Basel it is key! Virtually all tram stops depart from outside the station and the included in your room rate Mobility Ticket allows you unlimited travel. As others have noted this Mobility Ticket even allows you to take the airport bus to Basel-Mulhouse!

My room was spacious as well as the bathroom. Plentiful towels and toiletries and lots of luggage space. My room had tiny closet which was about 2 feet wide. My friends' room was large as well, I get the feeling no room is the same but we certainly had good luck

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

The staff at reception were extremely helpful with any kind of question and had tram maps, brochures and helpful advice.

I would have no hesitation with staying here again!

Room Tip: I had no problems with noise on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLin96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have stayed in this hotel 3 times now and each time the staff are friendly, the rooms are spotless and have everything you need, the TV even has English channels and the breakfast is great! The location is very convenient to public transport and my companies offices.
Recently i was sick during my stay and the staff were wonderful ensuring i was looked after.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#7 of 51 in Basel
1,002 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 51 in Basel
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GAIA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GAIA Hotel

Address: Centralbahnstrasse 13 - 15, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel St. Gotthard Basel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Basel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#4 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: £124 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GAIA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly furnished 86 rooms not only provide for a restful and enjoyable stay to the guests of the GAIA Hotel. Especially businessmen, congressional and fair visitors can use their hotel room in order to work thanks to the comfortable furniture and the modern technological infrastructure. Delicately used art deco ornamental elements, warm colours and selected pictures of known artists contribute to the interior of the hotel in which one feels simply well at first sight. The in the Belle Epoque style developed banqueting room not only serves as a breakfast room, it reveals itself as a unique jewel for special receptions, company and family events or gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your GAIA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Gotthard Hotel
St Gotthard Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing