We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First choise @ Basel”
Review of GAIA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GAIA Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This was my second stay at this hotel and everything was perfect again.All the positives ,just as my first stay a few years ago.Clean room,comfort bed,great buffet breakfast and -last but not least - the staff.Helpfull,smiley ,willing,it makes the difference!The hotel is laying 50 metres (at your right hand) from Basel Hauptbanhoff,in a safe area near by all the trams and taxis.Close by the Aldstand,if you`d like to walk is about 25`walking or take the tram.I was for business there and the hotel provided me all the necessaries for my job.As the title reports my first choise for a Basel stay.I recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank miltoschios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a wonderful time at the St. Gotthard Basel. Their motto "Come as a guest, leave as a friend" is absolutely true. Everything about the hotel was top notch. All the staff members from the chamber maids, kitchen help and front desk are courteous, helpful and lovely people. We (family of 5) stayed in the beautiful suite/apartment and we were all very comfortable. It was a 5 star luxury quality with super thick towels, bathrobes and all the trimmings (at a fraction of the cost of two regular hotel rooms elsewhere in the city). They were very understanding about our last minute cancellation of our first night due to a flight change and helped get us into our room way before check in time, which was really not expected. The breakfast was fresh with a large selection of breads, meats, fruits and cereals, all in a spectacular room. Our first floor suite faced the train station and trams and we barely heard outside noise when the windows were closed. I would highly recommend this hotel for every possible reason; location, comfort, style, price, warmth and quality of staff, food... Nothing bad to say other than we had to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NYS43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had chosen (family of 4) St Gotthard Hotel in Basel, Switzerland for our 7 night stay in August. We expected that it would be a nice hotel after reading the reviews of other guests and going through the photos, but it really exceeded our expectations! The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was very spacious (65 sq.mtr) and luxurious, with excellent sound proofing, super clean, and the mini bar was replenished every 2 days at no extra cost. Furthermore, the hotel is very conviently located across the main train station as well as the tram and bus stop. So everything was great during our stay, would definetely recommend St Gotthard to whoever is travelling to Basel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeEleftheriou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Everything about my stay this time was excellent, I like especially the comfort of the beds, the room layout and especially you're delicious breakfast buffet.

I was disappointed this time however that the mini-bar was not stocked and contained half eaten food from the previous guest, I took a picture and showed it to the reception desk man but there was no apology or removal of the food which I had to do myself.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side from the Basel station are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank O7315NSrobertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have stayed in the St Gotthard 6 or 7 times on business, the staff are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are always spotless. It is close to the station so convenient. On my latest visit I noticed that they now have a small bar, although I didn't use it. There is free wi-fi and use of the mini bar in the rooms which is not always the case in hotels in Switzerland It is my first choice each time I visit Basel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We always stay at the St. Gotthard when in Basel. It's proximity to the manin SBB train station, to the trams, to downtown, its very friendly staff, and wonderful(!) breakfast buffet make it a perfect hotel for us.

Room Tip: We always ask for the connecting rooms at the end of the hallway, which allows our family 2 connecte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WernerZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This property was the first pit stop to a 4 night sojourn to Switzerland. What it became was a future destination! If you are reading my review to find a hotel in Basel that is close to the railway, look no further. We traveled by train from Paris to Basel after a long flight and travel day from the US. You literally walk out of Basel SBB station to the hotel. Food Coop and McDonalds (for those who care) are adjacent to the property.

Rooms are well appointed and energy efficient. The front desk team are wonderful and over the top helpful. I had a single room on the number 3 floor and it was on the front of the property and it was not noisy like other reviews stated. The morning breakfast was very complete and we'll attended by the staff. The property also has a juice bar.

I will return to Switzerland and I will stay at this property.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Elwood E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 52 in Basel
657 reviews
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Euler
#15 of 52 in Basel
287 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#6 of 52 in Basel
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GAIA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GAIA Hotel

Address: Centralbahnstrasse 13 - 15, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel St. Gotthard Basel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Basel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#4 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: £123 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GAIA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly furnished 86 rooms not only provide for a restful and enjoyable stay to the guests of the GAIA Hotel. Especially businessmen, congressional and fair visitors can use their hotel room in order to work thanks to the comfortable furniture and the modern technological infrastructure. Delicately used art deco ornamental elements, warm colours and selected pictures of known artists contribute to the interior of the hotel in which one feels simply well at first sight. The in the Belle Epoque style developed banqueting room not only serves as a breakfast room, it reveals itself as a unique jewel for special receptions, company and family events or gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your GAIA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Gotthard Hotel
St Gotthard Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing