We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Merian am Rhein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Merian am Rhein
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Basel is Very expensive, so first of all - this hotel is great value for money! Other than the nice, clean, comfortable, fully equipped (and more) room, you also get a free breakfast buffet - good, tasty selection, very vegetarian and vegan friendly - and a free, refillable minibar (mineral, coke, juice, etc.) and a Nespresso machine with as much coffee and tea as you could wish for. There is also free use of a computer and printer 24/7 and the possible free use of a near-by gym. The location is virtually unbeatable though because of that it may also get a bit noisy on the weekend in the street-side rooms, which can't really be helped. Best thing - excellent, kind, helpful and knowledgeable service accommodating your every wish from reception, maid-service, restaurant, etc. (and I'm a fussy guest...) Summer travelers - there is no AC, but then hardly any of the Swiss hotels do (only few of the seriously expensive ones) Bottom line:

Room Tip: river-side has view but is more expensive, if you go for a street-side room ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austen73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    136
    64
    22
    9
See reviews for
27
115
21
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a lovely view from our room overlooking the river .Breakfast was included and a good choice and variety of food to choose from . We had an early start on the last day and the reception ordered us a packed lunch to take with us which had an assortment of sandwiches and fruit. The restaurant is somewhat pricey so check menu before you book a table . We had a lovely meal overlooking the river with friendly staff .We pre-booked the car parking and this saved a lot of time. You don't need a car and the travel pass (complimentary) is a useful for getting around. You can see the old city across the bridge by foot and the weekend we were there we were lucky to see a group each night on the water free music for all to enjoy. Its a great spot to watch the swimmers come downstream and if you fancy a dip you can take part easily. We were there when the Jazz festival was on and it was a lively night around the old city on each corner a different sound with lots of lovely street food to sample. Very friendly and helpful staff We will return if passing through again.

Room Tip: Rooms with high odd numbers overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjab S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights as a postgraduate student of Basel University. The hotel is located perfectly, no argue. I got a single rom on the 5th floor although I had a confirmation form the travel agency for a double room for single stay...but the receptionist could not do anything which I found weird. The room was facing the street and not the river, so I had no view but quite much noise. The weather was summer like and ther was no air-conditioning so I had to keep the window open during night. The room was extremely small, could hardly move, in fact I could open my suitecase only on the bed. The bathroom was really diappointing, a very tiny shower with curtins so whenever I had shower the water was pouring out. There is only one elevator and you have to climp steep stairs form the street to reach the lobby. The gardrob was also extremely small. The hotel is clean but the whole interior is wormed and should be renewed. The breakfast is also a 3-star value. If you need a hotel really only for sleeping it is OK, but I will look for another hotel duting my next course on the university.

Room Tip: If you happen to stay in this hotel ask for a room overlooking the river and book a double room even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I was afforded a very friendly welcome after I had driven to this hotel from London. The receptionist talked me through the facilities of the hotel and was completely charming. The staff in the restaurant were also helpful and looked after me very well. I had a table by the window overlooking the Rhein. The hotel was clean, my room had absolutely everything I needed and was just what I needed.
On departure the receptionist offered me help and a map to direct me for my onward journey - simple but perfect

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Rhein - perfect position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Room was well placed centrally in the city with fantastic free access to public transport voucher when staying here. Lift access to rooms, and we requested river view access which was great but could be noisy at times. Breakfast was included and was wide variety of hot and cold buffet selections including fresh fruit. Rooms were very clean. Bathrooms also clean. All staff including housekeepers very helpful and courteous. We found the city a bit on the expensive side for eateries so included breakfast was welcome. Wifi sometimes bit patchy.

Room Tip: F you choose a river view room may need to be prepared for noise from river bank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Location is good,on the river and convenient to the Old City. We booked a room overlooking the river, but despite confirmation none were available on check in. Beware that a double room means a double bed, one side against the wall. The room and bathroom were the smallest I have every been in, and claustrophobic. No air/con, but a small fan, fortunately,as it was too noisy to have the window open. After several conversations with the staff, we spent the 2 nd night in a much larger room,which was much nicer, but no river view.The staff were friendly, the hotel is clean and breakfast is very good. Only one elevator, which is also used for service items. The lobby ,which needs upgrading,is reached by some steep steps from the road. Not handicp accessible.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xiabuxiabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

My wife and stayed here for four nights and we agree with the other reviews that the best thing about this hotel is the location. It's on the banks of the Rhine and the Old Town is only a few minutes away over the bridge. Get a room with a view of the Rhine if you can - it's worth the extra money. The rooms were comfortable although a bit small. The staff were helpful and spoke English well, and we both thought that the buffet breakfast was excellent. The only negative is the lack of AC, something the other reviewers also brought up. With the fan on and the windows open it wasn't too bad in late August but I can imagine in June and July it could get pretty warm.

Room Tip: Take a Rhine view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzfam51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
East-West Hotel Basel
East-West Hotel Basel
#37 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Hotel Krafft Basel
#25 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#6 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merian am Rhein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merian am Rhein

Property: Hotel Merian am Rhein
Address: Rheingasse 2, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Merian Am Rhein)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Merian am Rhein 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Merian am Rhein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merian Am Rhein Hotel Basel
Best Western Basel
Basel Best Western
Best Western Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing