We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite for my kids”

Tierpark Lange Erlen
Ranked #15 of 153 things to do in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A favorite for my kids”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is a great park/playground/zoo for kids. First, it's free. Second, it's right on the 36 bus line so very easy to access. We usually start playing at the playground, then head down to the river to splash around in the water, then finish up walking around the zoo. It's shaded which is nice for the summer and the zoo has a shop that sells ice cream. The restaurant near the playground was a little too nice/pricey for the kids.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    48
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Radauti, Romania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect for all ages”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Perfect place for all ages! The kinds will love the animals, the playgrounds and the ice cream boutiques. You can also organize a picnic or just walk around the park or you can have lunch at a terrace in a green area. If you're a dog person, there are lots of facilities for walking or training your pet. Also, there are perfect running pats for keeping fit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank oana_redinciuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great place to have a walk, run or a ride”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I love this place, I go there very often for biking and there are very good paths for running and walking. You can enjoy it with family or friends. It is quite large and spacey and very green indeed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DSS_Willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Good take, small zoo”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This zoo offers a relaxing visit with some species present in the central Europe zone. The animals are in very good areas and the visit is for free. There is a small shop for buying snacks and souvenirs. There is also a restaurant and very close there is a small river (Wiese). It is possible to go for a walk in the bank of the river, the landscape is very nice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tripadvasor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheinfelden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful little zoo”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I love this place. Every time, I think a different animal is my favorite ;-) With two young children, we love being able to visit an animal park for free for an hour or so, culminating in a stop at the nearby playground.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Swissmiss1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tierpark Lange Erlen also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Tierpark Lange Erlen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing