We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient. Nice breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Very convenient for bus to airport, and for train station. Well decorated. Nice breakfast, shame there's no restaurant. Staff very helpful and efficient. I stayed for three nights for a seminar in Basel and was happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_and_G2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights for business. Plenty of cupboard space for clothes. Spacious and comfortable room and excellent bathroom for one, or even two to share. Good place to work at the desk if needed with zippy wifi. Good breakfast I recommend with room. Hotel is right near Swiss train station for easy trips to Luzern, Zurich, etc. would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank DavidR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stay here regularly when we come to Basel. Room basic, but very clean and a reasonable size with free wifi and pass for public transport and complimentary soft drinks. Good bathroom, toiletries and hair drier and nice big shower with great high water pressure. Breakfast buffet good - cereals, yoghurts, fruit cold meats and breads. You can pay extra for cooked eggs etc. Just across from the station and a short walk or tram ride from the city centre. The trams can be a bit noisy if you have a room on the front. It has never been a big problem for us, but we wouldn't leave the windows open (there is aircon). Restaurant serves only breakfast, but there is a small bar area where you can get snacks as well as drinks and there is a good quality fast food chinese next door and plenty of places close.

Room Tip: All the rooms are OK, but the back of the hotel or higher rooms on the front have less tram noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Second time here which says something in itself! Professional receptionists, very clean room (with outward opening door which one rarely sees!), quality toiletries etc., and a healthy breakfast with lots of choice. N.B.There is a supplement for hot food.
Receptionists even found an adapter for my 'phone.
I can't speak too highly of this place: free non-alcoholic drinks along the corridor, free travel pass, close to the station - what more can one demand? - and the Swiss are rather O.C.D. when it comes to hygiene!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inspector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel during a work trip. It has the perfect location, right opposite the Basel train station and next to the BIS. The tram station is right in front of the hotel. There is a small convenience store around the corner from the hotel and a Burger King and Starbucks across the street opposite the tram station. The hotel rooms are spacious with a lovely shower. Coffee/tea making facilities are available. Wi-fi is free and a transport card is also provided which means you travel for free in Basel (all Basel hotels offer this). The breakfast in the hotel had lovely muesli, breads and different drinks. The staff was very friendly and all requests were executed perfectly. Even though the tram station is so close to the hotel, once you close the balcony doors you hear very little noise. The only negative is the fact that there seems to be only one lift for the entire hotel and sometimes you wait long for it. I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabihah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Basel at this hotel. The location was great beside the train and tram stations. Breakfast was excellent. The amenities of free wi-fi, complimentary water, juice, soda, and free tram passes were all a welcome addition. Rooms were large for a European hotel, clean and modern, and the staff was extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank banditoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I was in Basel for a seminar and the hotel is in an excellent location, right outside the train station and the main tram station. Three minutes by tram or maybe a 15-minute walk gets you into the city centre. I was given a pass when I checked in that allowed me to use the buses and trams for free during my stay.

The place was clean and well-maintained, bed was comfortable, no issues with hot water. I wasn't bothered by any noise (and my room was only one floor up, above the lobby, and facing the tram station) but someone else attending the seminar said there was occasional noise and that I must be a heavy sleeper. *shrug*, I stayed four nights and wasn’t woken up by any noise.

Breakfast was continental but had a decent selection and the wait staff were efficient and professional. Staff at the front desk were proficient in English so I had no issues there either.

Would have no problem staying here again. A colleague of mine who also attended the seminar said he would certainly stay here as well.

Switzerland is ex--pen--sive though so it would be difficult to find anything that's excellent value. Don't be put off by what may seem like a high price for this hotel, if you go cheap in Switzerland you may find yourself in a real dive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Qatarskeptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
929 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Euler
#15 of 51 in Basel
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 51 in Basel
576 reviews
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Basel

Address: Centralbahnplatz 1 | CH-4002 Basel, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > St. Alban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Basel
#9 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#11 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: £101 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience up-to-the-minute hotel facilities in a historic atmosphere In 1864, the Hotel Schweizerhof Basel was the first hotel to open at the Basel SBB railway station. In 1896, the hotel was sold and has remained in the ownership of the same family for four generations. It underwent a total renovation in 2006 and 2009. The result is a unique, harmonious symbiosis of the historic and modern in a perfect location. Enjoy spacious, bright and tall rooms, wide staircases and artistically forged banisters, surrounded by pleasantly warm colours. Guests who value a cordial, dedicated and individual service in a modern setting with traditional roots will find the Hotel Schweizerhof Basel the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing