We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was there for the Carnival (Fasnacht), that was an unforgettable experience. The hotel is located next to the railway station and is very easy to access. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was good. I appreciate that on first day of the Carnival (Morgenstreich) they offered breakfast at 2:30 a.m. and also extended the regular breakfast hours to 1p.m. for people like me that wanted to sleep after the Morgenstreich. I also liked that instead of the usual expensive minibar drinks they are offering free drinks. The price was rather high, but that was expected during the Carnival

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tadiw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    212
    36
    7
    0
See reviews for
40
169
77
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed just one night, but will definitely be staying here again. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. You get free local travel with your reservation so can get the bus to and from the airport free of charge and it stops virtually outside the hotel. The hotel is right next to the tram and train station also so great if you want to get out and see a bit more of the place. We asked about smoking and the hotel runs a completely non-smoking policy but the guy who checked us in gave us a room at the front of the hotel, overlooking the square & trams etc with a huge balcony so we could smoke out there! The room was exceptionally clean, especially the bathroom, which I was most pleased about. The shower was brilliant too! There are also free soft drinks, water and ice on some floors so you can help yourself. When we were ready to leave it was a lady on reception and she put our bags in a secure place until our late flight home so we could go out for the day. We did not have breakfast but will next time as it seems good value for money considering what we paid when eating out. Overall a wonderful place to stay, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It gets a full 5 stars from me!

Room Tip: If you are a smoker ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie072_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

stayed 1 night, great location, as its just a couple of mins from the basel sbb station, and opp all the tram stops, and the bus stop to basel airport..

this is not our usual hotel when we stay in basel, but will use again for sure..

checked in very quickly by kersten, our room was at the front of the hotel, overlooking the square, where all the tram stops are, an the bus stop to basel airport. the room was clean an tidy, with a nice large double bed, which was nice an firm. shower great, with one of those multi jet type showers, loads of hot water at all times....

continental breakfast was very good, lots to choose from, although certain types of egg ( boiled, an scrambled were extra ) we sat in the conservatory at the front an watched the world go by when we ate ours, plenty of tea an coffee.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubankid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Though a small hotel but clean, quiet & cozy. Reception staff very helpful. My room was lovely, spacious, warm and so comfortable. Though I'd love larger bed but it was fine, I had good sleep anyway. Excellent value for money. Nice breakfast. Good coffee. Walking distance from train. I'll go again

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Nice hotel in a good location. My room was very small, I'm not sure if this is because it was a single room or not. The rate was still quite high though. Breakfast is included in the room rate, but if you want eggs (other than cold soft boiled ones) and bacon, then it's extra. I was shocked that scrambled eggs were the most expensive extra at 7.50 CHF!

The room decor is very nice and modern. The walk in shower is well-designed. The bed and pillows etc are really comfy. I've stayed in a few of the hotels that surround the station square and this one is really well sound proofed. The only down side was that there was no minibar or fridge in the room and the complimentary bottle of sparkling water had clearly been around for a while, as it was flat.

Room Tip: My room was very small...so check if you are booking a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleFox2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, null, Isle Of Man
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Very convenient for bus to airport, and for train station. Well decorated. Nice breakfast, shame there's no restaurant. Staff very helpful and efficient. I stayed for three nights for a seminar in Basel and was happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_and_G2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights for business. Plenty of cupboard space for clothes. Spacious and comfortable room and excellent bathroom for one, or even two to share. Good place to work at the desk if needed with zippy wifi. Good breakfast I recommend with room. Hotel is right near Swiss train station for easy trips to Luzern, Zurich, etc. would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DavidR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Euler
#15 of 51 in Basel
241 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#24 of 51 in Basel
523 reviews
Hotel Basel
#9 of 51 in Basel
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Basel

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Address: Centralbahnplatz 1 | CH-4002 Basel, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > St. Alban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Basel
#9 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#11 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience up-to-the-minute hotel facilities in a historic atmosphere In 1864, the Hotel Schweizerhof Basel was the first hotel to open at the Basel SBB railway station. In 1896, the hotel was sold and has remained in the ownership of the same family for four generations. It underwent a total renovation in 2006 and 2009. The result is a unique, harmonious symbiosis of the historic and modern in a perfect location. Enjoy spacious, bright and tall rooms, wide staircases and artistically forged banisters, surrounded by pleasantly warm colours. Guests who value a cordial, dedicated and individual service in a modern setting with traditional roots will find the Hotel Schweizerhof Basel the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing