We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could ask for”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel is located at a busy tram and train station but this should not put you off as the hotel itself is superb and the staff ultra efficient.

Approximately £6 bus fare straight out of the airport will deliver you to the front doors of the hotel.

Accross the road there is the main train station which can take you anywhere in europe,

The breakfast was amazing with the only downside of the Swiss amazing prices £30+ each

The hotel has also a great little bar and restaurant attached which are well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Choose the rear of the hotel if you dont want waking up at six from other travellers using the train...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Excellent location across from the tram and buses. You can walk to the Marketplatz and absolutely anything you need is right there. Cleverly laid out, neat, clean and helpful staff. Oddly, this is the only hotel that I have stayed at that did not ask for a credit card or payment until we left. Juice and ginger snaps or fruit available free in the lobby which is great if you are running late or need a bit of healthy kick when getting in. Free wifi. All around very good at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank itravel9899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

There are three basic services I expect a hotel to provide to its guests: a good night's sleep, a refreshing (morning) shower and some feeling of hospitality. Hotel Victoria provides nothing of it all. Although I booked a suite (turning out to be a big room with a closet in the middle to divide the sleeping area from the sitting area) on the fifth floor, I haven't slept a wink for two nights in a row. The rooms are not soundproof and the Centralbahnplatz is the turning platform for the streetcars which make sharp screeching sounds as good as 24 on 24 hours. Terrible! The bath rooms are old and tiny. And at breakfast, the waitresses were more interested in getting home as soon as possible and consequently in returning the buffet to the kitchen rather than satisfying the hotel guests. A terrible experience in an otherwise charming city!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Guidhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We regretted that we only stayed here one night. It was absolutely incredible in every way. It was probably the most comfortable place we stayed on our entire Switzerland trip - with its luxurious beds and down comforters. The room was huge by European standards and the bathroom was exquisitely large and clean. The room was quiet and tastefully decorated. We had to leave early the next morning and this hotel was right across the street from the train and bus station - so convenient for us. And the hotel gave us complimentary bus tickets to the airport! The staff was friendly and helpful and I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Basel!!! Best of all, for what it was, I was surprised that it was not as expensive as some of the other hotel we stayed in. WIN!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank sanguinewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Easy to hop the train to the old city of Basel and a clean, nice place to stay. We were only there one night on our way to Strasbourg. Basel is such a nice town and we loved the Christmas Market in December. We would stay again...
L and M

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaPalosVerdes_ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A good, efficient, clean hotel in the heart of Basel, opposite the main railway station and a short walk from the city centre but it has little personality. The staff were friendly and, as you would expect, multi-lingual, offering excellent suggestions for both restaurants and places to visit. The lifts are close to reception but no help was offered with luggage.
The rooms are comfortable and bright without being anything special, mine had a wall virtually entirely of glass overlooking the internal garden area. The bathroom is adequate and functional, nothing more. The restaurant food was good and the bar - the street entrance makes it one of the closest to the stations meaning a number of travellers were there - friendly and lively with a good choice. Breakfast was included with a decent choice of both hot and cold food although using a self-service machine for tea and coffee was disappointing when there were so many staff available and the quality of the beverages were merely OK.
I would certainly recommend the hotel which, by standards of several others in the city, was good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just got back from 3 nights here beautiful hotel will lovely rooms. Breakfast very good with plenty of variety. The location is perfect with all the trams right outside although this was a down side for our friends who had a front room which was very noisy at night. It has a nice little bar and very friendly and helpful staff

Room Tip: A comfort room is very big no need to pay for anything larger
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowiecheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Euler
#14 of 51 in Basel
259 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
912 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Metropol Hotel Basel
#22 of 51 in Basel
244 reviews
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#31 of 51 in Basel
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Centralbahnplatz 3-4, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Formerly TOP Hotel Victoria)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > St. Alban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#15 Luxury Hotel in Basel
Price Range: £90 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria offers traditional hospitality and modern hotel comforts in the centre of Basel next to the main train station (SBB). You will be enchanted by the unique atmosphere of this stylish hotel. The rooms blend an exclusive Victorian ambience with all the comforts of modern life. All rooms are equipped with a functional working desk, phone, free Wi-Fi, large flat screen TV, room safe, minibar with free mineral water, door spy hole, tea and coffee maker facilities. Le Train Bleu Restaurant and Bar offers a fine choice of traditional Swiss, regional and international dishes. During summer, guests can relax with a drink or meal on the terrace. The hotel offers 24-hour reception, laundry and room services. The hotel also features a small fitness room, business corner with free Internet access, and a selection of daily newspapers. Guests staying at the hotel can use Basel's public transportation free of charge. The most attractive museums, theatres, sport stadiums, the Basel ZOO, as well as the congress and exhibition centre, are easily reachable on foot or by public transportation. Parking is possible in the hotel's underground garage. This is our guests' favourite part of Basel, according to independent reviews. This property also has one of the best-rated locations in Basel! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Basel
Hotel Victoria Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing