We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$156
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Spalentor Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$146
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dorint An der Messe Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Airport Hotel Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aparthotel Adagio Basel City(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$255
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Victoria(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$117
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$198
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$154
US$139
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
384
156
18
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
156
18
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busold townminute walkwelcome drinkoverlooking the gardenlounge areacontinental buffetfree wifimain roadrecommend this hotelby footgreat showerpublic transportcomfortable roomnice hotelthe hotel staffstar hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for the past few nights with my 20 year old daughter.
Was greeted with a very warm welcome and instantly made to feel at home.
The twin room we shared overlooked the lovely gardens.
Everything is spotlessly clean and breakfast is wonderful.
The location is perfect, from the SBB we took the bus 30 and got off at the first stop, and it's directly in front of you.
The centre of Basel is a 2-3 min walk away.
All the ladies on the reception desk have been pleasant and so very helpful.
They even have a welcome drink and nibbles in the afternoon of your arrival.
All in all a little gem.
I'd recommend this to anyone heading to Basel.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Lyndalove48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela-Maria N, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guests

We thank you very much for your feedback.
You mentioned some of our “strong points” but we are particularly happy that you feel at home in our hotel!
As you mentioned it, we have the advantage to be very near from the city center and even so we have a wonderful and quiet garden. During the summer, we serve also the breakfast there.
As you stayed several nights with us, we guess that you could see an important part of the city and enjoyed the good living, and true authenticity of Basel!

Looking forward to welcome you again with us we remain

With our best regards

Michaela-Maria Nazarek
your host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in a two room suite (506 & 507) with 2 adults and 2 children. The rooms were small but comfortable and very clean in an Ikea type style. Both rooms featured a balcony overlooking the old town. The staff was very kind and helpful and the free snacks and drinks in the evening was very nice. It was a short and easy walk from the hotel into the old town. There was a parking garage right across the street and a surprisingly peaceful courtyard behind the hotel (and adjacent to the dining room). Free wifi was good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela-Maria N, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guests

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed the room, the service of our staff, the ambient in our quiet garden and the position of the Hotel Steinenschanze. (When the weather is nice, we also serve the breakfast in the garden!)

The old town with the tourist attractions, the center with museums and the shopping possibilities are just around the corner.
Also, the free ticket for the public transportation makes is easy to explore the city or get to the offices.
Every season is interesting in Basel!
During Summer time, you can swim in the Rhein. In October, there is a nice autumn festival and we have also a beautiful Christmas market!
Auf course you can also visit one of our multiple museum.

So it would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back at Stadthotel Steinenschanze in future!

Michaela-Maria Nazarek
Your Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 days recently. We were staying for a Marilyn Monroe exhibition and for the car show in Geneva.

Room was round the back. It was quiet. Room was clean, lovely, big.

Wi-fi worked well. Only a 5 minute walk to the Museum, shops etc. bus from train station stops outside the hotel.

Hubby went to the tourist information desk at the airport, as we were staying at a hotel, we didn't pay for the bus from the airport to the centre. At the hotel, we got a free ticket each for the buses, trams etc.

If in Basele again, we would stay here again.

At the airport, if you want to eat + shop, do so before you go through passport control (after duty free) as there us nothing much beyond passport control.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joviscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for rating us. We do appreciate that very much! And thank you for so many friendly compliments. Be sure, that we will keep on doing our job with pleasure.
Looking forward to welcome You again in future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The staff at the Hotel Steinenschanze was absolutely superb. All three of the front desk staff members with whom I had the pleasure of interacting were professional, warm, and genuinely interested in providing the best service possible. I had the misfortune of traveling to Basel on business and showing up at check-in with two minor medical emergencies (airplane ear induced by flying with a head cold, as well as a raging infection in both eyes that started two hours before I had to board my plane). They immediately made me feel like family by showing compassion and going to the trouble of finding me excellent medical help within walking distance of the hotel (an ophthalmologist happens to have an office right next door, and one of the staff members personally escorted me there and got me an appointment right away). In short, they were there for me in my time of need at the end of a very long journey from the US, and they did it with grace. I am indebted to them.

The rooms are typical modern Euro style, but very functional. It's amazing what they were able to squeeze into their bathrooms given their small size; the hardware and fixtures were top-notch. The shower in my bathroom had both an overhead "heavy rain" showerhead and a handheld showerhead. The hot water was plentiful and the water pressure was excellent.

The breakfast was more than adequate for my needs.

I would stay at the Scheinenschanze again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are probably the quietest because there are no roadways immediately behind the building, but you really can't go wrong because the building does have a decent setback from the road that fronts the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LDubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear guest

Firstly we would like to thank you for your kind review on Stadthotel Steinenschanze. As you have mentioned, our staff is offering an extraordinary service at the reception as well as during the breakfast. We do try whenever possible to assist guests with any kind of problems, recommendations or special wishes.
One of the main reason, why guest book our hotel is the great location. The old town with the tourist attractions, the center with museums and the shopping possibilities are just around the corner. And, you are right, the free ticket for the public transportation makes is easy to explore the city or get to the offices.
It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back at Stadthotel Steinenschanze in future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Really good hotel and an ideal base for exploring Basel.
Great location within a short walk of Basel's main sights and shops/restaurants.
Really friendly and helpful staff.
Modern, clean, comfortable and spacious rooms.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 505 which was nice
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_and_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews