We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Nearby Hotels
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Airport Hotel Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aparthotel Adagio Basel City(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rochat(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Spalentor Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Dorint An der Messe Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ibis Basel Bahnhof(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Passage(Basel)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
GAIA Hotel(Basel)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveller rating
393
159
18
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
159
18
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busold townminute walkwelcome drinkoverlooking the gardenlounge areacontinental buffetfree wifimain roadrecommend this hotelby footgreat showerpublic transportcomfortable roomnice hotelthe hotel staffstar hotel
Filter
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 575 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Rocked up here after a 5 hr drive from Paris . Easy to find on the GPS . Lucky to find such helpful people on the reception . Elmira and Alex , were more than helpful . Sent us straight to the downstairs lounge for a complimentary drink ( or three ) We loved the city, we were lucky to arrive when there was a half marathon on and did it . The 21 k covered 3 countries ,Germany, Switzerland and France. Good staff, clean rooms, loved it !

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wallzy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear "Happy Campers"

We would like to thank you for your kind review on Stadthotel Steinenschanze. As you have mentioned, our staff is offering an extraordinary service at the reception as well as during the breakfast. We do try whenever possible to assist guests with any kind of problems, recommendations or special wishes. The Garden is our hidden "Oasis" a nice surprise for all customers in summer.
One of the main reason, why guest book our hotel is the great location. The old town with the tourist attractions, the center with museums and the shopping possibilities are just around the corner. Unfortunatey, you couldn't use the free ticket for the public transportation. May be next time:) It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back at Stadthotel Steinenschanze in future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Steinenschanze Stadthotel, Steinengraben 69, is an excellent hotel, very comfortable and clean and short taxi ride from the train station and a short walk to museums. The staff was outstanding. The desk clerk escorted us to our room, demonstrating how to use the elevator and the different features of our room. Throughout our stay, the staff responded to our every request with smiles, recommending a wonderful restaurant for dinner, giving us tips on sightseeing in Basel, and on using the city's fantastic transit system, and providing a free transit pass. For breakfast, the hotel has a generous buffet in a beautiful garden room/lounge. On sunny days guests can breakfast outside in the hotel's garden. On the day before our departure, the staff ordered a taxi for us and then stored our luggage on the departure day. They urged us to make ourselves comfortable in the downstairs lounge and then called us upstairs when the taxi arrived. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockys_friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela-Maria N, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guests

We thank you for your kind feedback about our hotel.
It is very rewarding for us to hear that you field comfortable and that you will keep a nice memory of your stay in Basel.

One of the most important for us is to be helpful and pleasant with our guests.
We hope that this is the reason why they like to come again to the Hotel Steinenschanze!
The other reason may be the great location of our hotel. The old town with the tourist attractions, the center with museums and the shopping possibilities are just around the corner. And you are right that the free ticket for the public transportation makes is easy to explore the city even if the center is only around the corner.

Now the sunny days arriving and there will be a special ambiance in Basel.
During the summer there are nice festivals along the river and in the old town.
For exemple Basel Tattoo, in July. (Bands and best representational orchestras from all continents. Marching to classic military music, rock-and-rolling to pop and rock, pipes and drums from the Scottish Highlands etc…)
There are many other occasions to visit Basel and it would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back at Stadthotel Steinenschanze in future

Best regards

Michaela Nazarek
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I loved everything about this hotel, except maybe the prices. I arrived quite early, at 7:45 but it was no problem for the staff. My room was already ready, so I had some time to refresh before heading off.
The staff was really friendly: they gave directions, offered an umbrella when it was raining and the first day they brought a tray with wine and salty snacks to my room as courtesy. Every afternoon, until midnight, you can help yourself to some free wine and other beverages.
The room was spatious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was beautiful, I loved the oversized rainshower. The placement of the toilet wasn't that well though. Apart from the toilet itself being a bit too small for me to comfortably sit on, you also had to keep the door open to have any comfort.
THe location of the hotel is perfect. It's near public transport and the city center. Even though a free public transport pass was given to me on check-in, I had no need for it because everything could be reached by foot.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janvryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela-Maria N, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear guest

We thank you for your friendly feedback about your stay in our hotel.
As you mentioned, our hotel is not far at all from the city center which can be reached in 5 minutes by foot. The mobility ticket is very helpful to reach some museums like the Foundation Beyeler which is a little bit outside of Basel or the congress center in only 12 minutes.
In refer at you description, you stayed in a double room from the category comfort. Those rooms have completely new bathrooms and air condition since one year only. One of the privileges in those rooms is that the welcome drink is served in the room.
As it is important for us to contain all our guests, we have also a category of double room economy which is more basic but also very nice. For this category, the welcome drink is also available in our nice lounge or in the garden.

We would be happy to welcome you again with us and remain
With our best regards

Michaela-Maria Nazarek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The first thing of note is that the service there goes the extra mile. When I arrived, they offered free drinks down stairs to help get settled in.
There is also nice water in the room. There is free WIFI and they offer every assistance you could ask for (even gave a free ticket for taking the bus or tram for a day).

The location is nice and is only 1 stop on the bus away from the Central Station (or could probably walk it in about 10 minutes). Bus stop literally goes in front of the hotel and starts from right in front of the station.

The beds are very comfortable and the pillows some of the most comfortable I've slept with.

Overall I'd recommend it, and compared to the price of other nearby hotels seems a bargain (although it's not an inexpensive hotel, comparatively to other nearby hotels is priced well)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela-Maria N, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you very much for your nice feedback about our hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed our services free of charge as the welcome drink, the WIFI and the mobility ticket.
We are intransigent about the quality of our beds and we are happy that you slept well. Did you saw our choice of special pillows? (Neck support pillow, allergic pillow, etc…)
We always try to assist our guests with different information’s about the city or the events so that they can enjoy Basel in the best conditions. You certainly appreciated that the city center is almost 5 minutes far by walk.
Basel is a little city with which have rich culture and with so much museums that you cannot see all in a short time.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel

Best regards

Michaela-Maria Nazarek
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

As grandparents, we wanted to take our two young grandsons, aged 6 and 8, to the Basel Zoo…(highly recommended as well, by the way) and we decided to spend one night in this hotel. We were so warmly welcomed and the staff gave us extra tips on other attractions which would be suitable for the children so we decided to stay another night. The very kind and polite receptionist did a bit of juggling and managed to give us the same room for another night. This room (59) was perfect for children even having a little patch of grass outside for a bit of a ball game! Breakfast was delicious and the entire experience was positive.

Room Tip: Room 59 is a suite with interleading doors and a shared bathroom. One of the beds is actually a pullout couch but is fine for kids to sleep in as long as they don't mind sharing a bed.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela-Maria N, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear guest

Firstly we would like to thank you for your kind review on Stadthotel Steinenschanze. As you have mentioned, our staff try always to give the best service at the reception as well as during the breakfast. We do try whenever possible to assist guests with any kind of problems, recommendations or special wishes.
One of the main reason, why guest book our hotel is the great location. The old town with the tourist attractions, the center with museums and the shopping possibilities are just around the corner.
As you mentioned it, the zoo is very famous and is a very nice attraction for children.

We are glad that you enjoyed the room 59 (also called studio) which is the ideal room for family.

It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back at Stadthotel Steinenschanze in future

Kind Regards

Michaela Maria Nazarek
your Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews