We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard business hotel at easy reach to Basel World”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorint An der Messe Basel
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Standard business hotel at easy reach to Basel World”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Location: not the best location - to visit the city center I'd rather stay on the other side of the river (closer to the old town)
Service: average and I would expect improvement. For instance, if I ask over the phone to the frontdesk to get slippers I do not expect me to go downstairs to pick them but rather they bring them up.
Cleaning: the room are well cleaned but the cleaning service should pay more attention to the message provided by the frontdesk. Being a member, I could choose between a free bottle of water or small little breakfast, I chose the first choice but didn't get everyday.
Bed: mattress is a little bit too hard but the rooms are pretty quiet (neighborhood is
Restaurant: It was quite small and I complained that it was too oilly and salty. Improvement to be made.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana E, Guest Relation at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing the Dorint An der Messe Basel during your visit to our wunderful city. We appreciate every feedback in order to improve our processes and to provide high quality customer service.

Unfortunately we were not able to impress you with our services during your stay in our hotel. We still need to work on our processes and your feedback has been handled with the responsible departments after our executive committee meeting. We will do everything to improve our services, so that all the guest requests and needs can be fulfilled.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel and to give us the chance to satisfy you with our services. Please let us know if we can assist you with a further reservation.

Yours sincerely

Joana Eltermann
Guest Relation
Dorint Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    176
    62
    15
    6
See reviews for
40
96
18
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed In here on a Saturday evening in early may this year on our drive from the uk to Tuscany. The hotel was easy to find had a large underground car park, and the staff were excellent.

We went into basel on the Saturday evening, and the receptionist gave us free passes for the trams which was a really nice touch.

The rooms were really clean, and the breakfast was good.

I imagine a lot of business people stay during the week, but it was great for a weekend stay. The price was very good, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merc48mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana E, Guest Relation at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing the Dorint An der Messe Basel during your visit to our wonderful city. We appreciate every feedback in order to improve our processes and to provide high quality customer services.

It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our house and we were able to impress you with our services. We are glad to pass your positive feedback through to our employees. Please let us know if we can assist you with any further reservations. It would be our pleasure to host you during your next stay in Basel.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Joana Eltermann
Guest Relation
Dorint Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo-BRAZIL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Dorint is a nice hotel for who is working in Basel or even on vacation, but one thing I missed was a small fridge for water and soda.

The room is comfortable and spacious, with a desk for writing and computing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diderot61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana E, Guest Relation at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing the Dorint An der Messe Basel during your visit to our wonderful city. We appreciate every feedback in order to improve our processes and to provide high quality customer services.

It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our house and we were able to impress you with our services. Regarding the feedback that you’ve missed a fridge in the room we would like to inform you that we offer small fridges on request. Also please be informed that we are renovating our hotel rooms at the moment and will fit some of our rooms now directly with a fridge in the room as well.
Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback and we hope that besides this issue you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Please let us know if we can assist you with any further reservations as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to our hotel.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Joana Eltermann
Guest Relation
Dorint Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Crossing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A very pleasant and cosy hotel to stay at quite near to downtown Basel. Immensely helpful and accommodating staff. Make sure you secure a room on the 'courtyard side'; otherwise, the street side is far too noisy to get a good night's rest.

On weekdays, internet issues often occur lat in the evening as a result of 'user overload' but this is a technical problem that can surely be fixed without much expense. Rooms do not have a refrigerator or safety deposit box but you can use the communal safety box at the reception desk.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 'courtyard side'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBayney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana E, Guest Relation at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing the Dorint An der Messe Basel during your visit to our wonderful city. We appreciate every feedback in order to improve our processes and to provide high quality customer services.

It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our house and we were able to impress you with our services. We are glad to pass your positive feedback through to our employees. Regarding the bad Wifi connection we have to apologize. This issue has been forwarded and discussed with the responsible department and we will take action to optimize the issue. Regarding the feedback that you’ve missed a fridge in the room we would like to inform you that we offer small fridges on request. Also please be informed that we are renovating our hotel rooms at the moment and will fit some of our rooms now directly with a fridge in the room as well as safes.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Joana Eltermann
Guest Relation
Dorint Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed in the Dorint Basel with a friend in a European weekend tour and it was all positive. I've stayed here before and the staff is helpful and knowledgeable. It is a little bit out of the way but several buses/trams will take you to the city centre and train stations. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Will definitely come back (although I hope the pillows are firmer next time)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MxInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana E, Guest Relation at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing the Dorint An der Messe Basel during your visit to our wonderful city. We appreciate every feedback in order to improve our processes and to provide high quality customer services.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our house again and we were able to impress you with our product quality and services. We are glad to pass your positive feedback through to our employees. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our pillows. For your next stay you are welcome to reserve a firmer pillow in advance at our reception or housekeeping. Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Please let us know if we can assist you with any further reservations. It would be our pleasure to host you during your next stay in Basel.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Joana Eltermann
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Staff are friendly.. Not many though! Clean and neat rooms and bathrooms. The location is excellent for business.. Just beside the exhibition square but 5 tram stops away from the city centre. The food is good but over priced

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hala H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana E, Guest Relation at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing the Dorint An der Messe Basel during your visit to our wonderful city. We appreciate every feedback in order to improve our processes and to provide high quality customer services.

It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our house and we were able to impress you with our service. We are glad to pass your positive feedback through to our employees.

Please let us know if we can assist you with any further reservations. It would be our pleasure to host you during your next stay in Basel.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Joana Eltermann
Guest Relation
Dorint Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our room at the Dorint Hotel was spacious. It included a small but fully equipped kitchenette. Restaurants in Basel are fairly expensive, so stocking the fridge with groceries enabled us to eat breakfast in the room. There is a sofa and large desk and nice, modern bathroom. Very large windows let in a lot of light. Our room faced a courtyard and apartments so it was very quiet. Rooms on the street may be noisier. The front desk staff is nice, but not overly willing to get information I needed for my excursions. Bus and tram lines are a block away. The exhibit hall is about a 5 minute walk from the Dorint.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmdtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana E, Guest Relation at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing the Dorint An der Messe Basel during your visit to our wonderful city. We appreciate every feedback in order to improve our processes and to provide high quality customer services.

It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our house. Regarding the breakfast we suggest you to book our affordable Budget Saver Package. This offer is including breakfast and parking in our hotel´s own underground carpark. On limited dates we also offer our summer special for only 169 CHF per person and night including breakfast. Concerning our front desk staff we have to apologize. We will discuss this issue with the responsible department. I hope our front desk staff redacted your some of our information brochures for planning your excursions. Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback and we hope that besides this issue you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Please let us know if we can assist you with any further reservations. It would be our pleasure to host you during your next stay in Basel.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Joana Eltermann
Guest Relation
Dorint Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Basel Europe Hotel
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Adagio Basel City
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#44 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Stuecki Basel
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#11 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel
0.3 mi away
Hyperion Hotel Basel
Hyperion Hotel Basel
#21 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint An der Messe Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint An der Messe Basel

Property: Dorint An der Messe Basel
Address: Schoenaustrasse 10, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly Novotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#18 Family Hotel in Basel
#22 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint An der Messe Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint An der Messe Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Hotel An Der Messe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing