We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here if you value your sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorint An der Messe Basel
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you value your sleep!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

They were carrying out some refurbishment on floor 3 during my 2 week stay and the noise could be herd on every floor.
This was a business / working stay and I was working nights but was unable to sleep past 8 in the morning due to the noise.
The rooms were small, you had to pay extra for tea & coffee facilities and the room was cleaned only once every 3 days. A poor hotel. Do not waste your money here !!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drummer1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana E, Guest Relation at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing the Dorint An der Messe Basel during your visit to our wunderful city. We appreciate every feedback in order to improve our processes and to provide high quality customer service.

Thank you for your feedback. Based on the information provided we are assuming that you belong to the Basel Tattoo group. We do understand your concern and thank for your this information. Regarding the cleaning of the room, please note that it has been agreed on in the contract that the cleaning takes place every 3 days. Of course you can contact us if you need additional service and items in the room. If you are still our guest we would appreciate if you contact us so that we can discuss this directly.

For the noise of the construction work in our house we have to apologize. We talked about this with our workers to start them work at 10 o’clock to avoid any more disturbance. We would be glad if you visit our hotel once again after finishing the renovation to get an impression of our new rooms.

Please let us know if we can assist you with any further reservations as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to our hotel.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Joana Eltermann
Guest Relation
Dorint Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    181
    62
    16
    7
See reviews for
41
97
18
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very friendly and helpful Staff. Quiet location within easy walking distance of Central amenities, Rhine and all tram and train points. Very we'll placed for Basel Tattoo events. Not sure it's a 4 star, but certainly a very solid 3 plus. Very clean and tidy as you would expect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana E, Guest Relation at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Arnie

We would like to thank you for choosing the Dorint An der Messe Basel during your visit to our wonderful city. We appreciate every feedback in order to improve our processes and to provide high quality customer services.

It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our house and we were able to impress you with our location and services. We are glad to pass your positive feedback through to our employees. Please let us know if we can assist you with any further reservations. It would be our pleasure to host you during your next stay in Basel again.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Joana Eltermann
Guest Relation
Dorint Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I went several times to this hotel (nothing positive nor negative, except for prices) but last time I was disappointed because despite the fact that I asked for a non-smoking room they gave me a smoking one. I do not expect simpathy from a smoker but for a non-smoker that feels the smoke from the distance sleeping in a smoking room it is a crime...For 7 hours I had to breath the nicotine flying in the air and being impregnated in the textiles of the room...
I asked for a different room but I was told they do not have anything else available. Except for a superficial "sorry" I did not hear anything else from them. And given the prices in the Basel hotels to me it reflects a very low level of service and care for customer. My personal opinion is that they live in a protected world by being able to charge such high prices with such low amenities and customer service. One more point while looking at the other reviews: do not consider the free passes as a benefit, they are a given for all the Basel hotels. It is probably a requirement of the cityhall, therefore is a non-differentiator, whatever hotel you pick you will get one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelallover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana E, Guest Relation at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We would like to thank your stay at the Dorint An der Messe Hotel Basel and especially for your feedback. Every guest feedback helps us to improve our processes and to provide high quality customer services.

We are very sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations at all. Your anger and disappointment are totally justified and we really do apologize for all inconveniences due to the smoker room (instead of the reserved non-smoking room). Our staff has been not only informed about your feedback, but also trained to handle these kind of situations professionally. We will do our very best to improve our customer service and it would be great, if we could get another chance to convince you about our enhancements.

Please let us know if we can assist you with any further reservations and to welcome you again here in our house.

Yours sincerely

Joana Eltermann
Guest Relation
Dorint Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Location: not the best location - to visit the city center I'd rather stay on the other side of the river (closer to the old town)
Service: average and I would expect improvement. For instance, if I ask over the phone to the frontdesk to get slippers I do not expect me to go downstairs to pick them but rather they bring them up.
Cleaning: the room are well cleaned but the cleaning service should pay more attention to the message provided by the frontdesk. Being a member, I could choose between a free bottle of water or small little breakfast, I chose the first choice but didn't get everyday.
Bed: mattress is a little bit too hard but the rooms are pretty quiet (neighborhood is
Restaurant: It was quite small and I complained that it was too oilly and salty. Improvement to be made.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana E, Guest Relation at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing the Dorint An der Messe Basel during your visit to our wunderful city. We appreciate every feedback in order to improve our processes and to provide high quality customer service.

Unfortunately we were not able to impress you with our services during your stay in our hotel. We still need to work on our processes and your feedback has been handled with the responsible departments after our executive committee meeting. We will do everything to improve our services, so that all the guest requests and needs can be fulfilled.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel and to give us the chance to satisfy you with our services. Please let us know if we can assist you with a further reservation.

Yours sincerely

Joana Eltermann
Guest Relation
Dorint Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed In here on a Saturday evening in early may this year on our drive from the uk to Tuscany. The hotel was easy to find had a large underground car park, and the staff were excellent.

We went into basel on the Saturday evening, and the receptionist gave us free passes for the trams which was a really nice touch.

The rooms were really clean, and the breakfast was good.

I imagine a lot of business people stay during the week, but it was great for a weekend stay. The price was very good, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merc48mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana E, Guest Relation at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing the Dorint An der Messe Basel during your visit to our wonderful city. We appreciate every feedback in order to improve our processes and to provide high quality customer services.

It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our house and we were able to impress you with our services. We are glad to pass your positive feedback through to our employees. Please let us know if we can assist you with any further reservations. It would be our pleasure to host you during your next stay in Basel.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Joana Eltermann
Guest Relation
Dorint Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo-BRAZIL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Dorint is a nice hotel for who is working in Basel or even on vacation, but one thing I missed was a small fridge for water and soda.

The room is comfortable and spacious, with a desk for writing and computing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diderot61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana E, Guest Relation at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing the Dorint An der Messe Basel during your visit to our wonderful city. We appreciate every feedback in order to improve our processes and to provide high quality customer services.

It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our house and we were able to impress you with our services. Regarding the feedback that you’ve missed a fridge in the room we would like to inform you that we offer small fridges on request. Also please be informed that we are renovating our hotel rooms at the moment and will fit some of our rooms now directly with a fridge in the room as well.
Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback and we hope that besides this issue you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Please let us know if we can assist you with any further reservations as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to our hotel.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Joana Eltermann
Guest Relation
Dorint Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Crossing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A very pleasant and cosy hotel to stay at quite near to downtown Basel. Immensely helpful and accommodating staff. Make sure you secure a room on the 'courtyard side'; otherwise, the street side is far too noisy to get a good night's rest.

On weekdays, internet issues often occur lat in the evening as a result of 'user overload' but this is a technical problem that can surely be fixed without much expense. Rooms do not have a refrigerator or safety deposit box but you can use the communal safety box at the reception desk.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 'courtyard side'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBayney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana E, Guest Relation at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing the Dorint An der Messe Basel during your visit to our wonderful city. We appreciate every feedback in order to improve our processes and to provide high quality customer services.

It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our house and we were able to impress you with our services. We are glad to pass your positive feedback through to our employees. Regarding the bad Wifi connection we have to apologize. This issue has been forwarded and discussed with the responsible department and we will take action to optimize the issue. Regarding the feedback that you’ve missed a fridge in the room we would like to inform you that we offer small fridges on request. Also please be informed that we are renovating our hotel rooms at the moment and will fit some of our rooms now directly with a fridge in the room as well as safes.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Joana Eltermann
Guest Relation
Dorint Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Basel Europe Hotel
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Adagio Basel City
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#44 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Stuecki Basel
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#11 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel
0.3 mi away
Hyperion Hotel Basel
Hyperion Hotel Basel
#21 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint An der Messe Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint An der Messe Basel

Property: Dorint An der Messe Basel
Address: Schoenaustrasse 10, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly Novotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#18 Family Hotel in Basel
#22 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint An der Messe Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Dorint An der Messe Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Hotel An Der Messe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing