We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expresso and great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expresso and great room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very nice, comfortable and clean. 10 min walk to old town of Basel. Great location for conference centre . Room was spacious, great pillows conducive to great sleep. All rooms have expresso machine, what a bonus!!!! Free WiFi
Great breakfast options.

Room Tip: No views to worry about
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzieAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for your friendly feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    287
    74
    25
    15
See reviews for
71
222
39
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This well located hotel is quite lovely. Our room was very tastefully decorated and had all the amenities one might want. Included in our room rate was a public transportation pass, free wi-fi and breakfast. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFGAL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful feeback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Swissotel Le Plaza Basel was very nice. The week I stayed, it rained almost everyday but the room included an umbrella! I didn't have to worry about asking each day for an umbrella or worry about returning it to the front desk. This definitely made my stay much better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for your friendly feeback! There will always be an umbrella waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for work. Great location and room size was good although one day there was no hot water and room service selection was not that good but location makes up for it since its on the Main Street of town. Restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLDinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for publishing your rating.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you overall felt comfortable in our hotel and that you enjoyed your time here in Basel. We have shared your answers with all our staff members as we strive to exceed all our guests expectations and to always provide the best possible service. Therefore, thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the Swissôtel Le Plaza Basel very soon. In the meantime we wish you all the very best.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel knows how to cater to the business traveler with quick internet access, business resources (printer, extra paper, etc), comfortable room and nice amenities. Room service was quick and food was hot and well prepared. Room was quiet and bellman was quick to offer assistance when I needed directions on which tram to take. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful Feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Recently spent 1 night in this hotel and it was a great experience. The service was great. The concierge and all reception staff were really nice and helpful to make our stay the best!
The room was spacious and very clean. We could get our room early in the morning. The free pass for Tramway and bus in the city is a very good idea. We used it to go around. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant and again it was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful Feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Even though the swiss hotels in general are quite short on friendliness, this one in particular is quite warm and the service is outstanding. All the internal services are spot-on, with a team thriving for the best service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0t4b3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful Feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#7 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Le Plaza Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Le Plaza Basel

Property: Swissotel Le Plaza Basel
Address: Messeplatz 25 | 4058 CH-Basel, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Basel
#9 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#13 Family Hotel in Basel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Le Plaza Basel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basel is not only a Swiss City with a big heart, with a smile on their face people from Basel proudly declare it a major city in pocket size format and they are right. The city by the Rhine offers everything you could wish for in a city trip. Culture and Business go hand in hand and only the sky is the limit. The same holds true should you decide to stay at the Swissotel Basel. No matter if you are traveling to the border triangle, the old town, the Rhine, the musical theatre or to other numerous sightseeing spots in Basel, all of which are in walking distance. Centrally located you will not only enjoy our elegant guest rooms but also real Swiss hospitality. Swissotel Basel provides 238 spacious rooms and suites with satellite LCD TV. Start your day right with a sumptuous breakfast at our Grill 25 restaurant or room service, make use of the complimentary newspaper, free wifi, complimentary use of our Puerovel Sport with a sauna and a steam room. Our concierge team would be delighted to assist in planning a day trip or assist in getting tickets to numerous Events and shows. Additionally our gusts truly value our pillow menu in the guestrooms as well as the espresso machine. Should you feel the need to discover even more of Basel and its surroundings, you can make use of your complimentary mobility ticket, which is provided to you for the duration of your stay to use the public transportation system, even for the day of your arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Le Plaza Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel Hotel Basel
Swissotel Le Plaza Hotel Basel
Basel Swissotel Le Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing