We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Basel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Though not located in the center of the city (near the shopping and restaurants), it is a great place for the business traveler. Located adjacent to the convention center (messeplatz), you can get anywhere with the mobility card on a tram or bus. The customer service is excellent. You come first. The rooms are plain, modern, clean and complete. Complimentary turn down service nightly with complementary water. The fitness center is well appointed and open 24 hours a day( also steam and sauna). The breakfast room has a full buffet and made to order eggs on request. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnanddon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest

What else can I say about your rating than a BIG THANK YOU! I am happy that you felt comfortable and that we provided all the services and treatments you needed. We will gladly pass on your positive Feedback to the whole team - I'm sure they will be delighted!

Thank you very much for your visit. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed as part of a group, for the second time. In the height of summer the rooms don't quite get cold enough for the 'feather quilt', so we pushed quilt to bottom of cover, or took cover off and used just that. (Probably gave the maids a bit extra work.) Other than that, the bed and pillows were very comfortable. Our room was non smoking, but did smell of smoke... when opening the window we noticed cigarette butts on the ledge outside, so some previous occupant may have thought that leaning out of the window was OK, even if all the smoke comes in the room. Wasn't too good for my asthma, and to be fair, we could probably have asked to change rooms. Bar fridge keeps things 'cool', but not cold, so it is a good idea to ask for an ice bucket and go to the floor with the ice machine if you want to have a really cold drink. Staff were very prompt and accomodating with requests. Breakfast which was included, was wonderful..... Absolutely fantastic buffet, which can fill you up for the day and suits all tastes. Included in accomodation is transport (bus / tram) ticket for central Basel, and with a tram stop right outside hotel, we used them all the time. No such thing as a view with the rooms, but seeing as you will be asleep when using room, other things make up for it.

Room Tip: This is not the hotel to choose for views, but is close to attractions. Try to get full breakfast in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 133Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel.

We will gladly pass on your positive and constructive Feedback to the whole team - I'm sure they will be delighted!

Thank you very much for your visit. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Clean hotel. Bad location. Grill 25 was pretty good. Wish we had chosen a better location… this was the hotel offered at the end of our Tauck Tour… they could have done much better for us! (No reflection on their tour, which was awesome!)

Room Tip: One of the few hotels that provide air conditioning… so that is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Lisa

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your last stay at our hotel.

For many years now we have the priviledge to welcome Tauck guest in our hotel, and until know the feedback we received was positive. Therefore, we are shocked and very sorry that you feel this way.

If I can do anything for you to make your next stay a perfect one please contact me at any time.

Again, thank you very much for your Tripadvisor feedback and we would be very delighted to welcome you again.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Nice hotel, high quality amenities, with cozy atmosphere...
Needs some consistency for 1st time customers. 1st week got complementary chocolates and water bottle. Following week check-in no more... :)


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ahmad Bhunnoo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay here in Switzerland. We are pleased that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. We are glad about your positive and constructive feedback and will pass this on to our entire team.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

it a really nice and clean hotel close to the center of the city and to the river of basel the rooms are nice and clean the wifi is good the breakfast is good with a lot of healthy things to choose i suggest it for sure

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilemach0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you very much for your friendly feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very nice, comfortable and clean. 10 min walk to old town of Basel. Great location for conference centre . Room was spacious, great pillows conducive to great sleep. All rooms have expresso machine, what a bonus!!!! Free WiFi
Great breakfast options.

Room Tip: No views to worry about
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzzieAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you very much for your friendly feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This well located hotel is quite lovely. Our room was very tastefully decorated and had all the amenities one might want. Included in our room rate was a public transportation pass, free wi-fi and breakfast. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFGAL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful feeback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Basel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 52 in Basel
613 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 52 in Basel
972 reviews
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Le Plaza Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Le Plaza Basel

Address: Messeplatz 25 | 4058 CH-Basel, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Basel
#10 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#13 Family Hotel in Basel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range: £86 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Le Plaza Basel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basel is not only a Swiss City with a big heart, with a smile on their face people from Basel proudly declare it a major city in pocket size format and they are right. The city by the Rhine offers everything you could wish for in a city trip. Culture and Business go hand in hand and only the sky is the limit. The same holds true should you decide to stay at the Swissotel Basel. No matter if you are traveling to the border triangle, the old town, the Rhine, the musical theatre or to other numerous sightseeing spots in Basel, all of which are in walking distance. Centrally located you will not only enjoy our elegant guest rooms but also real Swiss hospitality. Swissotel Basel provides 238 spacious rooms and suites with satellite LCD TV. Start your day right with a sumptuous breakfast at our Grill 25 restaurant or room service, make use of the complimentary newspaper, free wifi, complimentary use of our Puerovel Sport with a sauna and a steam room. Our concierge team would be delighted to assist in planning a day trip or assist in getting tickets to numerous Events and shows. Additionally our gusts truly value our pillow menu in the guestrooms as well as the espresso machine. Should you feel the need to discover even more of Basel and its surroundings, you can make use of your complimentary mobility ticket, which is provided to you for the duration of your stay to use the public transportation system, even for the day of your arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swissotel Le Plaza Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel Hotel Basel
Swissotel Le Plaza Hotel Basel
Basel Swissotel Le Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing