We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, but nothing spectacular.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Arrived at the hotel after a 26hr journey from Sydney to be greeted by very pleasant front desk staff. They were very helpful in checking me in and assuring I knew my way around the hotel. They provided me with a tram access card for the duration of my stay in Basel, which was greatly appreciated.

The hotel was pricey compared to what I've experienced elsewhere in Europe, and the rooms are small also in comparison.

The breakfast buffet was standard fare for a major hotel, and the kitchen staff were able to supply either an ommelette or fried eggs on demand, and do it well.

There is a Europcar rental office located at the front of the hotel, and the trams stops are directly across the road so that you are able to quickly get to anywhere in Basel relatively quickly.

Will I stay here again? Yes, as I travel here for work every year or so and this hotel on our company list.

Tip for management - power point access needs to be inmproved. There is no powerpoint access from the desk in the room. I would assume this to be a standard convenience in business hotels world wide these days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sydneymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Sydneymax

Thank you very much for this nice review.

We were delighted to receive your positive and constructive feedback and have shared it with the entire team. We are not quite sure what happened regarding the internet. Free W-Lan is a standard in our hotel and we apologize if there were access problems.

Could let us know in which room you stayed in? It would help us to fix the problem immediately.

Again, thank you very much for your Tripadvisor feedback and we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for one night prior to a river cruise. Night manager was exceptionally friendly and customer focused. Room was very comfortable. Bartender at the bar was very friendly as well. Not sure just how expensive things are in Switzerland but 30 euros for a burger and fries seemed rather expensive.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Guy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest

I was very pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay together with your comments for improvement. Please rest assured that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

I hope that we will welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Wonderful, wonderful staff here, from the front desk to the concierge to the restaurant. Great food there as well. Not the most exciting of locations (next to the convention center) but if you want top service and you're on business, this is where to go

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

The whole team love your Feedback! Thank you soooooooo much!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Though not located in the center of the city (near the shopping and restaurants), it is a great place for the business traveler. Located adjacent to the convention center (messeplatz), you can get anywhere with the mobility card on a tram or bus. The customer service is excellent. You come first. The rooms are plain, modern, clean and complete. Complimentary turn down service nightly with complementary water. The fitness center is well appointed and open 24 hours a day( also steam and sauna). The breakfast room has a full buffet and made to order eggs on request. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnanddon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest

What else can I say about your rating than a BIG THANK YOU! I am happy that you felt comfortable and that we provided all the services and treatments you needed. We will gladly pass on your positive Feedback to the whole team - I'm sure they will be delighted!

Thank you very much for your visit. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed as part of a group, for the second time. In the height of summer the rooms don't quite get cold enough for the 'feather quilt', so we pushed quilt to bottom of cover, or took cover off and used just that. (Probably gave the maids a bit extra work.) Other than that, the bed and pillows were very comfortable. Our room was non smoking, but did smell of smoke... when opening the window we noticed cigarette butts on the ledge outside, so some previous occupant may have thought that leaning out of the window was OK, even if all the smoke comes in the room. Wasn't too good for my asthma, and to be fair, we could probably have asked to change rooms. Bar fridge keeps things 'cool', but not cold, so it is a good idea to ask for an ice bucket and go to the floor with the ice machine if you want to have a really cold drink. Staff were very prompt and accomodating with requests. Breakfast which was included, was wonderful..... Absolutely fantastic buffet, which can fill you up for the day and suits all tastes. Included in accomodation is transport (bus / tram) ticket for central Basel, and with a tram stop right outside hotel, we used them all the time. No such thing as a view with the rooms, but seeing as you will be asleep when using room, other things make up for it.

Room Tip: This is not the hotel to choose for views, but is close to attractions. Try to get full breakfast in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 133Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel.

We will gladly pass on your positive and constructive Feedback to the whole team - I'm sure they will be delighted!

Thank you very much for your visit. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Clean hotel. Bad location. Grill 25 was pretty good. Wish we had chosen a better location… this was the hotel offered at the end of our Tauck Tour… they could have done much better for us! (No reflection on their tour, which was awesome!)

Room Tip: One of the few hotels that provide air conditioning… so that is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Lisa

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your last stay at our hotel.

For many years now we have the priviledge to welcome Tauck guest in our hotel, and until know the feedback we received was positive. Therefore, we are shocked and very sorry that you feel this way.

If I can do anything for you to make your next stay a perfect one please contact me at any time.

Again, thank you very much for your Tripadvisor feedback and we would be very delighted to welcome you again.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Nice hotel, high quality amenities, with cozy atmosphere...
Needs some consistency for 1st time customers. 1st week got complementary chocolates and water bottle. Following week check-in no more... :)


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ahmad Bhunnoo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Manager at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay here in Switzerland. We are pleased that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. We are glad about your positive and constructive feedback and will pass this on to our entire team.

Sincerely

Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
929 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 51 in Basel
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Le Plaza Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Le Plaza Basel

Address: Messeplatz 25 | 4058 CH-Basel, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Basel
#10 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#13 Family Hotel in Basel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range: £100 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Le Plaza Basel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basel is not only a Swiss City with a big heart, with a smile on their face people from Basel proudly declare it a major city in pocket size format and they are right. The city by the Rhine offers everything you could wish for in a city trip. Culture and Business go hand in hand and only the sky is the limit. The same holds true should you decide to stay at the Swissotel Basel. No matter if you are traveling to the border triangle, the old town, the Rhine, the musical theatre or to other numerous sightseeing spots in Basel, all of which are in walking distance. Centrally located you will not only enjoy our elegant guest rooms but also real Swiss hospitality. Swissotel Basel provides 238 spacious rooms and suites with satellite LCD TV. Start your day right with a sumptuous breakfast at our Grill 25 restaurant or room service, make use of the complimentary newspaper, free wifi, complimentary use of our Puerovel Sport with a sauna and a steam room. Our concierge team would be delighted to assist in planning a day trip or assist in getting tickets to numerous Events and shows. Additionally our gusts truly value our pillow menu in the guestrooms as well as the espresso machine. Should you feel the need to discover even more of Basel and its surroundings, you can make use of your complimentary mobility ticket, which is provided to you for the duration of your stay to use the public transportation system, even for the day of your arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Le Plaza Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Le Plaza Basel Hotel Basel
Swissotel Le Plaza Hotel Basel
Basel Swissotel Le Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing