We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveller rating
431
381
93
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
381
93
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convention center concierge staff business hotel pillow menu the congress old town room service nice hotel tram stop hotel is located perfect stay swiss hotel breakfast buffet across the river river cruise business trip easy access
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 958 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Simply excellent. The buffet breakfast is absolutely a 10 out of 10. Service is great. We highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Basel. Are you going to a trade fair in Basel? If so, the location cannot be beaten.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Thearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Thearts

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you felt well looked after and would recommend our hotel to others.

Wonderful, that you started the day well,with our rich breakfast buffet. Hopefully our central location was the perfect starting point for trips into the city. Surely you got many great impressions!

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we would like to thank you for choosing us.

We very much hope you shall come and see us again in the near future.

Meanwhile, we wish you all the best and many sunny summer days!

With best regards
Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Stayed here for two nights pre Rhine river cruise and would certainly recommend it. Excellent location within walking distance of the river which seems to be very much the centre of everything but also only three (free) tram stops if you are feeling less energetic. Great staff who recommended a couple of excellent restaurants to us as well as providing travel and discount cards to us which was a nice surprise as it was our first visit to Basel. Tram line just across the road and Hop on Hop off tourist bus beside hotel which was very convenient. Excellent breakfast, only missing on tap bubbly which hopefully will be dealt with before our next visit' Otherwise everything lovely and I would highly recommend, particularly for the friendliness of its staff.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 186605Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear 186605Jacqueline

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.
It was an enormous pleasure to have you staying with us and we are thrilled we made your stay memorable.

Thank you for your kind words relating to the service you received. It is the most important aspect of our work and so it means a lot to us to receive such wonderful feedback. Our entire team will also be thrilled to read your review.

Furthermore we hope that you had a wonderful Rhine river cruise with many exciting impressions!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We very much hope that we will see you again very soon.

In the meantime, we wish you many sunny days and a pleasant time.

With best regards
Brigitte Fritz
General Manager





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location to explore the sights of Basel or the shops, cafes and bars. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is excellent and again the service was excellent. A definite recommend if you are in Basel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrian242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Adrian 242

Thank you very much for your recommendation!

We are very glad to learn that you had an excellent experience with us - from our central location, to the breakfast and our staff as well.

It will be our pleasure to share your kind compliments with our colleagues.

Furthermore we hope that you spent a fantastic time here in Basel and that you explored all the beautiful sights of the city.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back on your next Basel trip.

Meanwhile, we wish you all the best and a pleasant time.

With best regards
Brigitte Fritz
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We received an excellent welcome at Swissôtel Le Plaza where we were given travel cards for 2 days, including public Wi-fi hotspots code, River Rhine ferry tickets, and a discount card for the Zoo, maps, and lots of good advice on travelling and sightseeing. We were amazed by Swissôtel Le Plaza. We were told of a room upgrade to a “junior suite”, though I don't know why, unless it was that we had just come from their hotel in Zürich. It was room 604 on the top floor (6). There was a lounge area with big sofa and armchair. There were seats for 9 people in the room. There was a desk area with coffee machine and kettle. A coffee table and telephone, large screen TV with various multimedia playing equipment connected. In the adjoining bedroom through the archway there was a very large desk with another telephone, a table with a second (even larger) TV, and a bed of triple size with 3 large pillows. Like the Swissôtel at Zürich there was an extensive choice of available pillows with their various properties described on a card. The bathroom had a bidet and a third telephone. The LED light round the magnifying mirror was permanently lit. The rest of the lighting provision and sockets, charging facilities, were extensive. I used the sauna on the lower ground floor. There was a very large fitness suite, drinks table, relaxation room with 3 recliners (entered from both the fitness room and the sauna area). At the entrance to the sauna area there was a pile of towels, bathrobes, and slippers (though these were also provided in the room so it was easy to prepare for the sauna before going to the basement). There were separate ladies’ and gents’ locker rooms with wristband keys, showers, washbasin, hairdryer, and toiletries. There are steam and dry saunas. Both are for mixed sex and nude use. The dry one would probably accommodate 6 reclining or 12 seated. The steam one is smaller. It was all spotlessly clean and superb.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BernardM1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Bernard M

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to send us such a detailed review!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and felt like everyone went above and beyond to help you with your needs and wishes. Of course, we will pass on your lovely commetns to our entire team!

Furthermore we hope that you spent an outstanding time in Basel and that you had the opportunity to explore the wonderful city.

Thank you once again for your recommendation and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back with us.

Meanwhile, we wish you all the best and a very pleasant time.

Best regards
Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Close to tram stations that could be anywhere in the city in a short time. All the staff were truly helpful and attentive. Great breakfast package with good food. I would recommend the stay at this location.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with swissotel.com
Thank BigDaddy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear BigDaddy33

Thank you very much for your review and your recommendation!

It is a pleasure to learn that you had an excellent experience with us, that you enjoyed our breakfast and our attentive staff as well.

Furthermore we are glad that our central location at the exhibition square was perfect to explore the city of Basel.
We are sure that you spent a great time with unique memories!

Our entire team is looking forward to welcome you back again very soon.

Meanwhile we wish you all the best and a pleasant time.


With best regards
Brigitte Fritz
General Manager






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews