We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very fine hotel with an even better location”
Review of Hotel Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Basel
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Guatemala Ciudad
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A very fine hotel with an even better location”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I keep on staying at this charming hotel with highly motivated, professional, friendly and helfful staff, excellently furnished and equipped rooms, a remarkable breakfast buffet and fine food either in the Sperber Bar, at the Brasserie Steiger or in summertime in the Boulevard Restaurant. Hotel offers free public transprotation, what is a great added value. Whenever in Basel I shall stay at Hotel Basel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubilo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    281
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
136
373
45
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The hoel was very clean and friendly. We loved our stay there

Room Tip: Rooms are quit because they are in a traffic free zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdoenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Great hotel, lovely room, had to ask for a robe, but it arrived promptly. Right in the centre of the city, so you can relax by just looking out of the window! Friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful breakfast in the basement, which has a characterful room, stylishly furnished. Location is the huge benefit. Don't consider anywhere else if this place is within your budget.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marionjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights based on friends' recommendation. Location is top notch and in the heart of Basel. Near shops, restaurants, sites. The hotel is clean, well maintained, and friendly. We are picky about hotels and had only great experiences here. This place is a gem! Would love to go back!
Great bakery diagonal from hotel (has brown sign). Try Jay's Indian Restaurant - best indian food we've ever had. About 15 min walk from hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

I asked for directions to the hotel at the train station information services when I arrived. I was told it was on the main square and the tram to take to get there. It was an easy quick ride. But when I arrived in the square and looked all around for the hotel it wasn't there. I went into the Mont Blanc store and a very nice gentleman directed me one block up the hill from the square and two blocks parallel to the square. I eventually found the hotel. It's in a nice area. As a solo traveler I always felt safe.

The hotel reception was attractive and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was decorated in a minimalist modern style. The room had free internet which worked well. The 2nd floor room had a large window that opened to look out over a quaint street. I liked to lean out the window in the evening and watch people below do their shopping at the bakery and other shops. The hotel hallways were very basic but clean.

The breakfast room was in a stone basement. It was attractive. The buffet options were varied and of good quality. The included breakfast was one of the hotel's best features.

After being out all day sightseeing in a chilly drizzle I decided to try the hotel restaurant for dinner. It can be entered through a door off the lobby as well as a street door. The food choices seemed limited but tasted okay. They were of course expensive since it was Switzerland. The restaurant seemed to cater to locals more than tourists which is a good sign.

I would recommend this hotel to other budget travelers.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

I stayed here one night and all the staff from the check in desk to the bar and restaurant were friendly and seemed to care. The hotel is in a great location for shops and bars, however dont over look the bar ansd reataurant in the hotal, I had the Winter Special meal and it was fantastic. Well done to all at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

There was one review that described it perfectly, 2 star from the outside, 4* reception, then back to 3* room.

I had to convince myself, that I was staying at a 3* hotel, to not be disappointed. Rooms were dim, needed more colour and light. The duvet was small. Ameneties and entertainment system (TV) were nothing special. Internet and DVD prices were incredbly high.. The gym and recreational area is too small, so small that the running machines are placed right next to the pool.

The positives:
The service at the reception
The breakfast
Located 2 mins away from the train station, meaning many tram lines pass right in front of the hotel.
Room was clean

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjouni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#3 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basel

Property: Hotel Basel
Address: Muenzgasse 12, Basel 4001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personally owned and managed Hotel Basel is situated in quiet yet central old town location. Pedestrian area with permitted access by car for hotel guests anytime. With 72 rooms furnished in a modern yet classic style, conference and event facilities and two cosy restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing