We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites”
Review of Hotel Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Basel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I travel a lot in Europe and HB is becoming one of my favorites. Super location. One block from tram. Great service. Very clean. All rooms appear to be on street so can be noisy if rowdy foot traffic but worth it. Smallish rooms but works great for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Winston34
Thank you for your super comment. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    290
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
137
387
48
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is a very clean, friendly hotel right in the city centre and meets all the usual Swiss standards. Rooms are what some may consider on the smaller side, but they are clean, well equipped and the beds are comfortable. The free beer and soft drinks in the mini bar is a welcome plus.

Breakfast is great - good selection of buffet foods to suit all and the breakfast room itself is extremely pleasant. I did not eat in the hotel restaurants or take room service so cannot comment there.

Staff were always friendly and helpful. Always happy to provide directions and offer assistance.

The biggest downside and the reason I am unlikely to stay again is the lack of a gym. The hotel can offer you an expensive pass to an excellent commercial gym by the train station, but its a 15 minute walk one way and will cost you 25 CHF.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cussmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear cussmuppet
Thank you for your findly comment. It is a petty that you will not come back because we do not have any gym at the Hotel, but we have not the possibility to build one.
Hope to see you anyway one day again.
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Basel on a business trip recently and left very early in the morning. In my haste, I left my wedding band on the dresser and did not notice till I was on the airplane headed home. I called the hotel front desk once I landed and was told that the ring was found and that they would send it back to me by mail. I'm so thankful for the honesty and service from the staff at Hotel Basel. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Mason S
You are more than welcome! We are glad you get your wedding band back.
Thanks for your frindly words and looking forward to see you soon again.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed here on a business trip in Dec 2013. Fortunately it was the Christmas season so the Christmas markets added to the vibrancy of the town especially at night.

The hotel is well-located just a stones throw from the Marktplaz, which is ringed by retail outlets and eating establishments. Many of the main tram lines also run through this area, making commute easy and convenient.

I arrived early and was given a room by around 10am, which was before their usual check in time, so that was good. Check in was quick and fuss-free and I was in my room within 10 mins.

The room was a business single, with just enough space for a single bed, a small desk and an armchair. A bit small for the price, but hey, this is Switzerland. Room was clean and had all the usual amenities: safe, TV etc. Self-serve Ironing board and shoe shine machine is located on another floor. The room was well insulated from the December cold, as well as the outside street, though the windows can be opened if you want some fresh air.

The wireless was fast and logging in was quick and effortless.

There are two restaurants on the first floor, and breakfast is located in the basement level. Breakfast selection was the typical Swiss breads and cheeses, though there was also scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon for those who prefer that.

All in all, a nice hotel f you're in Basel both for the ease in getting around as well as for the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gymrat76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Gymrat76
Thank you for your detailed commend. We appriciate very much the time you took to rate us!
That will help us and other guests.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Basel and first impressions were good. Room was clean and appeared to be a very nice hotel.

However, upon returning to our room on the day of check out we were amazed to find the staff removed our belongings. Our cases were in reception and everything loose was stuffed in a little plastic bag and labelled with the cases except the chocolate and drinks we had bought which didn't turn up for another hour! I firmly believe the staff were not expecting to give them back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callum S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Callum S
This is one of these situations we don't know what to say: Fact is there was a confusion with room numbers. We do very much apologize for what happend and will contact you personally to solve this situation properly with you.
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
282 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Nicely located hotel, ment alaso for small busness meetings.
Unfortunately heating nearly did not start yet, although I was there in November. It was COLD in the room. Came back home with a very unpleasant ear inflammaton. Meeting facilities were Ok, but a gym would be very much needed!! Breakfast very nice, but lunch in breaaserie not so exciting... Staff not too friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for heated room, otherwise you get a proper cold!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kito9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Kito9
Thank your for your detailed comment. We are sorry that you did not have warm enough in your room. Please ask next time for an extra heater. We hope your ear inflammaton is better now.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Basel.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo
Level Contributor
123 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A very centrally located beautiful hotel in downtown Basel. We were celebrating a birthday here and they gave a complimentary box of chocolates and organized a delicious cake (and with a very correct price) into the room according to the wishes. Staff very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcomed right away.
The room itself (junior suite) was large with modern deco. We really liked the little details in the room: ultra comfortable bed and beautiful light system, a separate and huge "closet" for clothes and bags, lovely sitting area etc. The bathtube was absolutely fantastic and so was the toilet with quality bath products. Free wife worked perfectly, free minibar and nespresso machine were a great bonus as well. Our big room had two televisions and lots of channels (in several languages).
Breakfastroom was very beautiful, modernity meets the cave look, and everything was so fresh and tasty, pastries, breads, eggs, fresh fruit, cheeses and lots of other things to choose from. Very beautiful setting and friendly service.
We'd highly recommend this lovely hotel to everyone visiting beautiful Basel, within a short walking distance - even if you get a free tram card - to restaurants, shops and all the main sights.
We are also thanful to all the little special details and efforts that made the birthday special!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadCalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Road Calls
thank you for your fantastic comment. We really do appreciate the time you took to rate us so in Detail :-) !
Best ragards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
465 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 51 in Basel
847 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 51 in Basel
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basel

Property: Hotel Basel
Address: Muenzgasse 12, Basel 4001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personally owned and managed Hotel Basel is situated in quiet yet central old town location. Pedestrian area with permitted access by car for hotel guests anytime. With 72 rooms furnished in a modern yet classic style, conference and event facilities and two cosy restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing