We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Basel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Granted the only time I stay in Basel is during the art fair, which is not necessarily the best time to stay in Basel, but Hotel Basel is my hotel of choice after staying at other local places (Swissotel and Hilton). It is by far the best location - so wonderful to be right off the market square and in the center of town. And the service can not be beat - Frau Brühwiler and her team could not be nicer nor more helpful! I plan to be back again next year!!

Room Tip: I would for sure opt for a "double room" as from what I understand single rooms tend to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Lori S
Thank you for helping us by writing such a nice comment. We do appreciate that verry much!
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    273
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
134
364
45
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
270 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have been traveling for several weeks in Bulgaria, Turkey, Italy, Switzerland, and have just arrived Copenhagen, enroute to Norway. I was really pleased with the Hotel Basel. It appears to be a fairly new building, but designed on the exterior to blend in with the old city architecture. I was imagining it to be more of a big city hotel, with the rather generic name. Instead, it is relatively small ( 5 floors of around 9 rooms per floor ) and is a modern boutique hotel with cool designs. Another recent reviewer thought the room was very small. Mine was a single and I was told that there were no others smaller than that one. I have been in some others recently that were OK, but with much less space than this one. The service was most cordial and helpful and the breakfast buffet is served in a crypt like basement room and it was quite good - if one does not get indigestion over the price! I also had lunch in one of the restaurants out on the sidewalk that is part of the hotel, ravioli with ricotta and spinach, and I was very pleased, taking advantage of their " free " glass of Prosecco.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand the rate structure when booking. They were in the right, but I thought the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear EAZELIFF
Thank you so much for your frindly comment. We do appreciate that very much! Infact we have about 14 rooms on each floor - 72 all together. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel in Mid May 2014 for a business trip. Excelent service and nice rooms. A little small compared to the US but to be expected in Europe. Great location very near the tram so i could get back and forth to my meetings. I would definitly stay here again.
Sam M.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Sam M
Thank you that you took the time to rate us. We do appreciate that verry much!
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Basel for two nights before embarking on a Rhine River Cruise. Our room was pleasant and very clean, bed was comfortable, and the area was very quiet. We enjoyed being in this pedestrian area of the old town where it was easy to walk to the marketplace, the Rhine, with its lovely long walkway, the remarkable City Hall, good restaurants, and lots of expensive shops. I inadvertently dropped my purse coming into the hotel after a trip to the marketplace and was in a panic, thinking it had been stolen in the marketplace. But hotel staff found it in the lobby and kept it safe until letting us know they had found it. The advertised breakfast buffet is CH 25, but you can opt to have a light breakfast of croissants and tea or coffee for CH 12.50, though hotel staff doesn't tell you that unless you ask.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurseni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear kurseni
thank you for your comment. We do appreciate that verry much.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have to confess I really don't understand all the love for this hotel. Granted, I came during Art Basel, but I still feel the tiny, characterless room I got for a whopping CHF 420 was among the worst value for money I've ever gotten at a hotel. The day before I stayed at a fantastic 5 star hotel in Bern, with a room twice the size, twice the amenities and far superior finish, for less money... My room at Hotel Basel (502) was threadbare, small, and altogether uninviting.

Besides the room, I had a few other minor complaints: the internet connection is unreliable and cumbersome to get on, there was practically nothing in the mini bar (I think 2 waters, a coke, and a juice), breakfast was very average, and the hotel doesn't have a great ambiance in my opinion. Anyway, to each his own... clearly I'm in the minority here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank RamblingRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear RamblingRambler
we are very sorry that you did not like the Hotel Basel. Just to explain: our minibar only contains a still water, a sparkling water, a coke and a beer because it is free of charge aswell as the internet connection which usually works unproblematic.
Thank you so much that you took the time to rate us. We appreciate any comment. Only due to your comments we can improve.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We did a Rhine Valley cruise out of Basel and needed a night to stay. We wanted to be in the old town and picked the Hotel Basel. It was Excellent. The room was big and modern and wonderful. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We have stayed at many hotels in Europe and this was clearly the best ever.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Bruce B
Thank you so much for your nice comment. We loved to be your host! Hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffin, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

During our recent EU holiday, my wife and I stayed at the Hotel Basel for two nights. I stayed here several years ago while on business. Since I was accompanied, we upgraded to a junior suite. It was well worth it for the added space and comfort. This hotel is centrally located to the old part of town and has easy access to dining, shops of all kinds and numerous points of interest. The staff was exceptionally cordial. We were very pleased with the nice added touch of free tram passes. You cannot go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 516, which is right of the lift. Excellent views, no noise and easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pagur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear pagur
Thank you so much for your nice comment. That will help us and other guests.
Hopefully you will be back to Hotel Basel soon!
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
446 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
812 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 51 in Basel
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basel

Property: Hotel Basel
Address: Muenzgasse 12, Basel 4001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personally owned and managed Hotel Basel is situated in quiet yet central old town location. Pedestrian area with permitted access by car for hotel guests anytime. With 72 rooms furnished in a modern yet classic style, conference and event facilities and two cosy restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing