We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location but Small Size rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Basel
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Location but Small Size rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I normally stayed at this hotel when I visited Basel.
The location is excellent. Very central and well connected.
The rooms are very small. At best good for a single person.
Maybe it was the cheapest room (I travelled on company expense).
The service was good but each time you order room service, there is a charge levied.
I sometimes ordered a bottle of water and the total cost would be CHF 12 (Cost of water plus Room Service charge of 5 CHF). The good part was that they would upfront mention the cost so that you could make up your decision.
It also has a nice restaurant which serves quite good food and very local cuisine.
Overall, if you are looking to be in a hotel which is very centrally located but not very fancy, this could be a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank logotherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear logotherapy
Thank you for your rating. There are also bigger rooms to book. Please note that the drinks in the minibar are for free, so you don't have to order extra water with the roomservice.
Kind regards
Sibylle Wagner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    277
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
136
366
45
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak View, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I stayed the Hotel Basel from June 19 to June 25. We expected it to be quite nice and we were not disappointed. Switzerland is certainly know to be clean as well as efficiently run. Hotel Basel was no exception. We were quickly checked in, the room had a charming street view and was very clean, as well as large. The staff was always friendly and helpful with any of our requests. We had a rental car and had paid for valet service and they always had the car ready when we asked for it.The restaurant had excellent food, and the staff there was great as well. The World Cup was going on while we were there and one night we watched a late game in the bar. I'm sure we went past normal closing time, and were the only guests there, but the staff never indicated that they wanted us to leave; in fact they joined in the game as time allowed them. The location of the hotel was excellent, allowing us to walk in the center of the city. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Basel.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, and at first thought the street noise might be a problem. It wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Edward S
Thank you for your comments. We are grateful to hear that you ejoyed your stay and liked the Restaurant and that you had a good World Cup evening.
Kind regards
Sibylle Wagner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed for one night prior to going on a river cruise. So glad we made that decision. The hotel is in a wonderful location, perfect walking distance to all the central sights. The room was very nice, and the hotel staff was very helpful. Many people choose to bypass Basel on their way to a cruise, but we would suggest that you stay a few days--and we definitely recommend Hotel Basel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TCF25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear TCF25
Thank you sooo much for your nice comment. Than really helps us and future guests!
Thank you and we hope you will return soon.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our stay at Hotel Basel was very pleasant and comfortable. The room was clean, fairly big with a nice odour. The bathroom was big and clean, very nice. The reception staff was friendly, they helped us with directions and advised a good restaurant. We got a pass for a free travel on public transport. We can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyKickitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent location in the city center with high quality of services, good parking service. Breakfeast was very good with various selection of the food. There is more shopping possibilities and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Michal K
Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that you took the time to rate us.
Hope to see you soon again.
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Granted the only time I stay in Basel is during the art fair, which is not necessarily the best time to stay in Basel, but Hotel Basel is my hotel of choice after staying at other local places (Swissotel and Hilton). It is by far the best location - so wonderful to be right off the market square and in the center of town. And the service can not be beat - Frau Brühwiler and her team could not be nicer nor more helpful! I plan to be back again next year!!

Room Tip: I would for sure opt for a "double room" as from what I understand single rooms tend to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Lori S
Thank you for helping us by writing such a nice comment. We do appreciate that verry much!
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Best regards
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
270 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have been traveling for several weeks in Bulgaria, Turkey, Italy, Switzerland, and have just arrived Copenhagen, enroute to Norway. I was really pleased with the Hotel Basel. It appears to be a fairly new building, but designed on the exterior to blend in with the old city architecture. I was imagining it to be more of a big city hotel, with the rather generic name. Instead, it is relatively small ( 5 floors of around 9 rooms per floor ) and is a modern boutique hotel with cool designs. Another recent reviewer thought the room was very small. Mine was a single and I was told that there were no others smaller than that one. I have been in some others recently that were OK, but with much less space than this one. The service was most cordial and helpful and the breakfast buffet is served in a crypt like basement room and it was quite good - if one does not get indigestion over the price! I also had lunch in one of the restaurants out on the sidewalk that is part of the hotel, ravioli with ricotta and spinach, and I was very pleased, taking advantage of their " free " glass of Prosecco.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand the rate structure when booking. They were in the right, but I thought the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBasel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear EAZELIFF
Thank you so much for your frindly comment. We do appreciate that very much! Infact we have about 14 rooms on each floor - 72 all together. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Your Hotel Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basel

Property: Hotel Basel
Address: Muenzgasse 12, Basel 4001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personally owned and managed Hotel Basel is situated in quiet yet central old town location. Pedestrian area with permitted access by car for hotel guests anytime. With 72 rooms furnished in a modern yet classic style, conference and event facilities and two cosy restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing