We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Basel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

Minimalist but comfortable. Well run and in a good postion within the old town.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m_a_t31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    270
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
132
360
45
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

I booked this hotel because it is one of the few hotels in the old side of Basel that is not a basic 2 or 3 star place. Basically, if you want to stay on the southern side of the river, then you have either this hotel or Les Trois Rois to choose from. Since LTS is about 3 times the price, the choice should be easy for you.

On arrival at the hotel, I was checked in straight away. This was impressive, as I arrived there around 10am, and didn't expect my room would be ready. My room was a single room, for single occupancy. Don't get any ideas about being able to share this room, it's sold as a single for a reason! The room was nicely decorated, if a little dim. The layout is quite bizarre, in that the vanity unit is built into the main room in a galley-style. The toilet and shower are in a separate room behind a door. Overall, the room was nice, plenty of little places for storage and an impressive number of clothes hangers. In-room safe is also provided free of charge. There is also a decent sized refrigerator in one of the closets, which contains local beer, coke, still water and sparkling water. These bottles are complimentary and replaced daily.

The tv was mostly full of German and French tv channels, as one would expect in this part of Europe. As far as I remember, there was no in-room movie feature.

The hotel prides itself on the quality of its retaurants. At the time I visited, the cellar dining room, where breakfast is usually served, was under renovation. The Sperber Brasserie was being used for the breakfast buffet instead. The hotel breakfast was really, really lovely. There is a good choice of cereals and milk, with plenty of fruit and nut toppings to add if you wish. There is also a generous variety of cold dishes, such as various fruit salads, yoghurts, fruit juices, etc. Cold meats and cheeses are also supplied. A further area for hot food contains dishes that I would assume are designed to appeal mostly to UK & Irish visitors; bacon, sausage, eggs, toast. There is also a wonderful variety of breads, pastries and delicious preserves/jams. The restaurant staff are pleasant and attentive, even though it is a self-service buffet. I noticed that they were willing to cook eggs to a guest's liking if asked. And they also brew fresh tea and coffee for each guest.

At lunch and dinner, the Sperber Brasserie returns to its usual role as a gastronomic bistro. I found the menu rather too haute-cuisine for my liking so I didn't dine here for anything other than dinner. Menu prices did seem high, but then that is to be expected in Basel.

Away from the hotel, the Marketplatz is around 100 metres from the hotel entrance. Here you will find the tram stop and many other shops/restaurants. Freiestrasse, with its wide array of shops, is just a few steps further across the marketplace. The hotel's location felt safe and secure, even late at night. This is a major advantage of staying on the south side of the river; the north (German) side tends to empty after business hours and can be eerily deserted even early at night. The shops and restaurants are also measurably better on the south side, and all within walking distance of the hotel.

Overall, I would probably stay at this hotel again if visiting Basel. In terms of location, it is probably second only to Les Trois Rois. The classification of the hotel as a 4-star hotel is rather questionable, especially considering the size and features of the rooms. This will be especially the case for US visitors, where Westins and Sheratons are routinely classes as 4-star, but would easily be classed as 5-star by European standards. However, the Hotel Basel is a well-run, friendly establishment with a great, convenient location and with prices that are fairly acceptable by Basel standards.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CedarwoodLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

The Hotel Basel is one of those clean, basic Swiss hotels located in a charming area known as Spalenberg. Reception is welcoming. Trouble begins however when you ask for something that is slightly 'outside the box' of their usual habits. Then, the big chill begins. But this attitude is not at all unique with this hotel: many of the local restaurants share this. For despite hosting the annual Art Fair and being the seat of such international organizations as the Bank for International Settlements, Basel remains a provincial place. The Hotel Basel is part of this perspective. As long as you do things `their' way, you will be fine. Bathrooms are amazingly small: don't eat too much. A (clean) room with a view is about all you can expect. If this is all you demand, then the Hotel Basel is for you. If, on the other hand, you would like a teeny, tiny tad more, then stay away.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2008

I have no idea why this isn't the highest rated hotel for Basel!

I couldn't praise this hotel highly enough. The staff were super friendly, nothing was too much hassle. We arrived with my husbands mobility scooter without really thinking (we've been to Basel many times though not since he was disabled) and not only does the hotel have steps but the scooter was not much use for us in Basel. The hotel were so helpful about this, they stored the scooter our whole trip, I had thought we'd take it to the room but they said no, it's ok, you won't have any space in your room otherwise. Of course then I though oh no the rooms will be tiny. No they were a really lovely decent size!

The staff was helpful and friendly, the buffet breakfast was fantastic ( a little expensive but then everything in Switzerland is!), the Brasserie is amazing but you need to book if you want to eat here. I have never seen anywhere get so busy and we met many other hotel guests who just couldn't get in. I guess we timed it right, and another time we sat at the bar and drank whilst we waited for a table. The food is amazing so well worth waiting for, also we are vegetarian and they had delicious options for us too!

Can't think what else to say, I could rave about this hotel all night. If we go back to Basel we will definately stay here, after our experience we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RedFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldock
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2007

Clean, well run and comfortable, as you would expect any Swiss hotel to be. For position, the Hotel Basel is hard to beat, just off Markplatz in the city center, All the best shopping, Christmas market and riverside are a short walk and trams reach most parts of the city from Markplatz. The hotel gives you a free Basel card which we found invaluable as trams are so frequent. The brasserie is excellent and service is friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Well run and central
  • Disliked — Braserie gets very busy
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Daveg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2006

I stayed at the Hotel Basel with my husband, sister and brother-in-law for a long weekend, (dec 01-dec 04).

The hotel was in a great location between the Barfusserplatz and Marktplaz, which is great for walking or catching a tram around the city.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with a very warm welcome by reception. Although our rooms were not ready, (we did arrive early), we were signed in, and each given a transport pass, so we had free use of public transport for our entire stay within Basel.

The hotel has two non-smoking floors (BTW most restaurants and bars allow smoking). Although the rooms were quite small, the space was used extremely well and the fittings were modern. All facilities that you require for a weekend break were there; TV with the normal European channels, as well as 3 English channels, safe, free mini bar, (don't get excited, 2 beers, 4 waters and 2 Coca Colas; our bar was filled up each morning, but my sister's was not). Nice bathroom with a good shower. We found the hotel was well run, clean and in an ideal location.

Eating and drinking in Basel isn't cheap. A small beer (1/4 lt) cost between 4 and 7sfr, and a 5dl of wine arounf 22 sfr.

For a (relatively) lively Saturday night out try the Rio Bar on Barfusserplatz where Philip is the most efficient barman in Basel.

It's definitely worth taking a train to Mulhouse in France. It's only about 20 minutes away and we preferred the food.

The Kunstmuseum has a superb collection of Impressionist and Modern art and is well worth a visit.

Overall a good break, I would recommend Basel for a short holiday.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Steffihen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2006

I stayed at the Hotel Basel for three nights during the recent heat wave in Basel. The hotel room was small, however it had a queen size bed. Suitcase went on the floor since there was no room for a dresser. There is a desk and small TV. The minibar has a few drinks which are free (Coke, water, beer), which was nice. The bathroom is very small and the soap/shampoo are in those dispensers.

But overall the room was perfect - I love the location as it is just up from the Markplatz and the room was very comfortably air-conditioned. There is wireless internet in the room for a fee, or you can use the computer in the lobby for free.

In summary, the location was great, room was small but clean and comfortable, staff very friendly. Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MTLGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basel

Property: Hotel Basel
Address: Muenzgasse 12, Basel 4001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personally owned and managed Hotel Basel is situated in quiet yet central old town location. Pedestrian area with permitted access by car for hotel guests anytime. With 72 rooms furnished in a modern yet classic style, conference and event facilities and two cosy restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing