We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropol Hotel Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metropol Hotel Basel
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
1 review
“Great location and excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel for the second time. It has such a warm and cozy feel to it and such friendly and helpful staff. Being located so close to the main train station is a great advantage. The hotel' s logo and lication could be displayed more prominently, though. The WiFi worked very smoothly. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we thank you as well on behalf of our staff for your compliments about which we were really pleased.

We would appreciate to welcome you again also for your third stay and wish you all the best until then.

Yours Hotel Metropol Team

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    122
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
50
18
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Nice hotel. Spacious, clean and fully equipped room (free coffee and tea). Nice and clean bathroom. Complete continental breakfast. Excellent service!
No hotel restaurant but nice Italian restaurant next door, with possible room service. Tip : 1) provide complete restaurant menu and the room service menu for the guests. 2) could be convenient to indicate (all) the hotels locations around the SBB on a map in or just outside the station. (Metropol hotel is just behind the corner and so a little bit harder to find)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnB20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and of course as well the praise for the service and our rooms, what we certainly forwarded to our staff.

We always try to offer our guests a wide range of different room service menues. Therefore, we are working with our neighbouring restaurants "Da Roberto" (Italian cooking) and "Caspar's" (French cuisine). It is unfortunately not possible to offer their complete restaurant menues, but we are always there to help our guests with extra wishesand in most cases, the restaurants are able to fulfil them.

Your proposal concerning the hotels signposting at the station will be forwarded to Basel Tourism, who can maybe initiate this for a next renewal of the guidance.

It would be of pleasure to welcome you again for another occassion and we wish you all the best until then.

Yours Hotel Metropol

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is one of the best hotels I stay at. I have been here 3 times so far and every time they go out of their way to make you feel at home. This time I got to town early (9:30am) and even though check-in wasn't until 2pm they called the cleaning crew while I was at the desk and asked them to prepare my room so by 10am I was in my room. Outstanding customer service, always accommodating, if it is within their powers to make it happen they do. The hotel itself is perfectly located in Basel, walking distance to the train station, and shopping. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear LLoyd K,

what a flattering comment - thank you very much for it !

It goes without saying that we try our best to make our guests happy and it is really nice to know, that you are so satisfied with our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you as well in the future !

Yours Hotel Metropol Team

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk, Belarus
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Being on a business trip it is very important to have a place where you can feel yourself like at home. If you are looking for that place it is here. Big and quiet rooms, friendly stuff, convenient location are the great advantages of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliaksandr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Aliaksandar S.,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and your time to rate it.

It was a big pleasure to understand that you felt "like at home" and we have of course forwarded your compliments to all our staff.

We would appreciate to welcome you again for a next stay and wish you all the best until then.

Yours Hotel Metropol Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hotel situated near the train station & the tram station. Couldn't hear much noise from the street as there is a two glass windows system. Very friendly hotel, the service at the réception desk was excellent and the quality of the bedding so good....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vvvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay with us. It was a pleasure to read your comments and forward the compliments to our team.

The quadruple sound isolation of the facade guarantess a quiet sleep as well as the carefully selected matresses from the Swiss manufacturer Robusta.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again for another occasion.

Yours Hotel Metropol Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This small hotel was perfectly located for our two night stay at the end our river cruise. Our small group of 8 had 4 superior rooms rooms that were immaculate and very roomy. Each room was well equipped, with very comfy bed, even down to the robe and slippers that were provided. Ability to make coffee or tea upon awakening was an added bonus for us! From Check in to Check out, the staff was professional and considerate of our needs. Easy walking distance to the old city center with great shopping, and just seconds from the main train station. A great find was one of the biggest grocery stores located at the station with every food item you can imagine. We didn't need groceries, but loved looking at the variety of options. One stop shopping with restaurants that will surprise and delight you close by! Would return again, and would definitely recommend to clients. So much more to Basel than what meets the eye. Great Exploring, and a great place to visit before returning home..

Room Tip: Our room on higher floor had great view of lovely park across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for your stay with us. It was a great pleasure for us to read your comments and to forward your compliments to our staff. We are happy that we have been able to make the end of your river cruise an unexpected experience !

It would be of pleasure to welcome you again in Basel and of course in our hotel.

Yours Hotel Metropol-Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Sebastien sur-Loire, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Staff very professional with positive attitude. Staff members speak French, English and German. They are very nice and remember me... this is very friendly attitude. Rooms are very clean and large enough. Internet Wifi in all rooms works perfect on iPhone, iPad and laptops. Hotel is few seconds from train station and 10 min from old part of town. Breakfast is very nice, outstanding and included,

Room Tip: Higher floors allow to see more of Basel and scenery at night is even better I did not know that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Mike R.,

We thank you very much for being our guest regularly.

It is a real compliment for us and our staff, when guests are returning because of the familiar atmosphere and service in the hotel. It is our aim to make guests feel at home and therefore know their names and preferences.

We would be really pleased to welcome you during your further stays in Basel.

Yours Hotel Metropol Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#21 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Hotel Euler
#16 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#32 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Alban
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#43 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel Basel

Property: Metropol Hotel Basel
Address: Elisabethenanlage 5, Basel 4002, Switzerland (Formerly Swiss Q Metropol Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Basel
#15 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#20 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropol Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the charming and unique atmosphere in this modern city hotel, centrally located at the SBB / SNCF train station and close to the Air Terminal (bus shuttle to the EuroAirport). With us, you have a quick access to Basel's diversity: The exhibition square, the old town and the "Basler Munster" (cathedral), museums, theater, shops and cultural attractions are only a few steps away and can be reached in a very short time. All our guests can use the public transportation for free, with the Mobility Ticket valid throughout your stay. A friendly ambiance ensures that you feel at home in our modern non-smoking hotel. Whether for a business or leisure stay: The 46 design rooms (all as a single or double occupancy available) in the "Economy," "Style," "Comfort" and "First" categories are soundproofed and offer a high level of comfort. Have a snack in our lobby, where we are pleased to offer you the famous "Basler Lackerli" and organic apples from a regional producer. Start your day relaxed with our "breakfast buffet with panoramic view" which offers local products in the winter garden on the 8th floor. We look forward to welcoming you! Isabelle Tanachian, Holger Brombacher & your cheerful Metropol team! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Metropol Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss q Metropol Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing