We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Basel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropol Hotel Basel
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In the heart of Basel!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

What a delightful, family run Hotel, situated close to the railway station and only 10 minutes from the airport. The staff are extremely nice and look after you well. The breakfast buffet is on the 8th floor with a beautiful view of Basel and the nearby Black Forrest. The hotel has recently undergone some renovations. I like the hotel that much, that I have been going there for the past 35 years.

Room Tip: If you like to open the window during the summer time, you might prefer a room at the rear, as the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Peter E.,

First of all, we would like to thank you for being our regular guest for more than 30 years.

It is of big pleasure for all of us to receive your very positive compliments and we highly appreciate your loyalty towards our hotel.

We will assure you of our most care and attention to meet your needs also for future stays and we are looking forward to welcome you again !

Yours Hotel Metropol Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    125
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
53
18
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed for one friday night two weeks ago. Good clean rooms. Staff were very helpful. Only used room, didn't have breakfast. Starbucks next door. Limited parking outside that needs to be booked in advance, if not cheap parking about a quarter mile away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for being our guest and for your time to rate your stay with us.

It is of big pleasure to receive your compliments for the cleanliness at the hotel and the service of our team.

Due to limited parking space in front of the hotel or in the underground garage, we recommend to reserve them in advance. If sold out, there are public car parks within walking distance.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and wish you all the best for the upcoming year 2014 !

Yours Hotel Metropol Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Note: If you want to park your car there, you must call the hotel in advance. They kindly accommodated us after wheedling a bit, but it's not very prominent on the website. The website says "valet parking - contact the hotel". Well, perhaps they are unclear about what valet means...we arrived ready to park our own car, and they winced at the fact we hadn't contacted them beforehand. They need to change that from "valet parking" to just "parking". But in the end, they were able to give us a space, which was very kind of them! (18CHF per night). Outdoor parking is virtually non-existent in that area, just so you know.

Anyway, the hotel rooms were very comfortable, and clean. Excellent breakfast service - one of the waitresses spoke German, French, and English fluently, which was helpful to our mixed group. However, even with the restaurant space, they do not serve lunch and dinner, which was fine for us because we hit the town. (There is a huge Starbucks next door, for those who are obsessed with Starbucks) We stayed in a basic room on the first floor which we were surprised to find was just as roomy and comfortable with lovely amenities (coffee/tea tray, slippers, bathrobe) as one of the superior rooms our friends stayed in on the 6th floor.

Free local train/tram tickets got us around the town and down to the Christmas Market which was our intention. Hotel staff was nice, even with a few irate customers (I don't know what they were upset about but at checkout time a few people came down to scream at the receptionists). They remained courteous and respectful and seemed to be trying very hard to help them.

Overall I was very happy with the visit and this would be my first choice hotel if I end up back in the area.

Room Tip: Don't bother upgrading. It is a small hotel and the rooms don't vary much in size or grandeu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Victoria B.,

First of all we like to thank you for being our guest and for your time to rate your stay.

It is of big pleasure to receive your positive comments and we have forwarded your compliments as well to our staff and the responsible person in the breakfast room.

All our double rooms have a size from 18 sqm and we are glad to understand that you and your group enjoyed your stay in all our room categories. The Quality rooms on the bottom floor with a different furnishing has of course amenities e.g. kettle to make coffee and tea.
Extra amenities like additional cosmetic articles are available in higher room categories as the Superior rooms with an extra sofa/seating area and of course a splendid view over Basel and the area from the upper floors.

Due to limited parking space in front of the hotel or in the underground garage, we recommend to reserve them in advance. If sold out, there are public car parks within walking distance.
Nevertheless, we thank you for your input with the "valet parking" which might be unclear when reserving the room.

We are looking forward to welcome you during a next stay and are happy to be your "first choice" when travelling to Basel !

In the meantime we wish you a good start into a prosperous new year 2014 !

Yours Hotel Metropol Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Staff were as helpful as they could be, the room was extraordinarly clean, minimalist but comfortable- speaking of comfortable- the bed was wonderful, individual duvets for both of us. The room was well insulated and very quiet- considering our room was by the elevator and the hotel is so close to the train station, we heard no noise at all. Definitley would stay there again. I have 2 recommendations: 1. call ahead to reserve parking if you are driving, and 2. there is a small area in the lobby to connect wirelessly to the internet, but no wifi- only ethernet connections- in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianPfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Marian,

Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel and your time to rate it.

It is of great pleasure to receive your compliments regarding the service from our team and the comfort in our hotel in general.

We always recommend to reserve a parking space in advance due to limited availability.

A free WiFi-access is available in all guest rooms as well as in public areas and our staff stays always at your disposal to assist you whenever needed.

We are looking forward to welcome you for a next stay and wish you all the best until then.

Yours sincerely
Hotel Metropol Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel for the second time. It has such a warm and cozy feel to it and such friendly and helpful staff. Being located so close to the main train station is a great advantage. The hotel' s logo and lication could be displayed more prominently, though. The WiFi worked very smoothly. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we thank you as well on behalf of our staff for your compliments about which we were really pleased.

We would appreciate to welcome you again also for your third stay and wish you all the best until then.

Yours Hotel Metropol Team

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Nice hotel. Spacious, clean and fully equipped room (free coffee and tea). Nice and clean bathroom. Complete continental breakfast. Excellent service!
No hotel restaurant but nice Italian restaurant next door, with possible room service. Tip : 1) provide complete restaurant menu and the room service menu for the guests. 2) could be convenient to indicate (all) the hotels locations around the SBB on a map in or just outside the station. (Metropol hotel is just behind the corner and so a little bit harder to find)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnB20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and of course as well the praise for the service and our rooms, what we certainly forwarded to our staff.

We always try to offer our guests a wide range of different room service menues. Therefore, we are working with our neighbouring restaurants "Da Roberto" (Italian cooking) and "Caspar's" (French cuisine). It is unfortunately not possible to offer their complete restaurant menues, but we are always there to help our guests with extra wishesand in most cases, the restaurants are able to fulfil them.

Your proposal concerning the hotels signposting at the station will be forwarded to Basel Tourism, who can maybe initiate this for a next renewal of the guidance.

It would be of pleasure to welcome you again for another occassion and we wish you all the best until then.

Yours Hotel Metropol

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is one of the best hotels I stay at. I have been here 3 times so far and every time they go out of their way to make you feel at home. This time I got to town early (9:30am) and even though check-in wasn't until 2pm they called the cleaning crew while I was at the desk and asked them to prepare my room so by 10am I was in my room. Outstanding customer service, always accommodating, if it is within their powers to make it happen they do. The hotel itself is perfectly located in Basel, walking distance to the train station, and shopping. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear LLoyd K,

what a flattering comment - thank you very much for it !

It goes without saying that we try our best to make our guests happy and it is really nice to know, that you are so satisfied with our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you as well in the future !

Yours Hotel Metropol Team

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Euler
#15 of 51 in Basel
243 reviews
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#32 of 51 in Basel
229 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Alban
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#42 of 51 in Basel
49 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
861 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#24 of 51 in Basel
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel Basel

Property: Metropol Hotel Basel
Address: Elisabethenanlage 5, Basel 4002, Switzerland (Formerly Swiss Q Metropol Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Basel
#14 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#20 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropol Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the charming and unique atmosphere in this modern city hotel, centrally located at the SBB / SNCF train station and close to the Air Terminal (bus shuttle to the EuroAirport). With us, you have a quick access to Basel's diversity: The exhibition square, the old town and the "Basler Munster" (cathedral), museums, theater, shops and cultural attractions are only a few steps away and can be reached in a very short time. All our guests can use the public transportation for free, with the Mobility Ticket valid throughout your stay. A friendly ambiance ensures that you feel at home in our modern non-smoking hotel. Whether for a business or leisure stay: The 46 design rooms (all as a single or double occupancy available) in the "Economy," "Style," "Comfort" and "First" categories are soundproofed and offer a high level of comfort. Have a snack in our lobby, where we are pleased to offer you the famous "Basler Lackerli" and organic apples from a regional producer. Start your day relaxed with our "breakfast buffet with panoramic view" which offers local products in the winter garden on the 8th floor. We look forward to welcoming you! Isabelle Tanachian, Holger Brombacher & your cheerful Metropol team! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Metropol Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss q Metropol Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing