We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok hotel but should be 3 stars” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropol Hotel Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metropol Hotel Basel
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Ok hotel but should be 3 stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Very difficult to find this hotel is quite basic. No bar no restaurant. Fridge in room empty and not cold. Rooms are functional but not nice. Quite a lot of noise from the road below with windows vibrating loudly when busses pass by. Somewhat a disappointment you would expect a lot more from a four star hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DandemanSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Dandeman,

First of all we thank you for staying with us and of course, we regret that you could not find what you expected in our boutique hotel in the heart of Basel.

All our rooms are soundproofed (quadruple sound isolation) with windows which can be opened, but normally absorb a lot of noise.

The booked "Quality" room category which is situated on the 1st and 2nd floor of the hotel is newly renovated and offers complimentary water in the minibar. It goes without saying that cool drinks can be ordered at our front desk 24 hours a day. The minibars have the task to keep the drinks fresh, but do not act as a fridge. Of course, our guests may use our fridge, if they need to cool something.

According to the official Swiss and European Hotel Classification, an inhouse restaurant is not a must for the standard of a 4 star hotel. It is our aim to describe and show on any internet platforms what our guests will find when staying with us.

Once again, we feel really sorry that you were not satisfied in full. We stay at your personal disposal for any further information and send you kind regards from Switzerland.

Yours Hotel Metropol Team

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    122
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
50
18
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My usual Basel hotels were all booked so went for this one. Firstly, if you like using the Basel trams or travel by train from the central station, this couldn't be more convenient, literally a two minute walk. Despite it's proximity to busy thoroughfares and the station, it was very quiet in my room although on opening the curtain I realized I was at the back away from the street (on the 5th floor).
Room was OK, bed comfy although pillows rubbish.
Arrived in the evening so as there is no restaurant service, ordered room service and they deliver from a nearby restaurant. Food was only average quality though. Breakfast the following morning up on the top floor was very nice though and a friendly service. For a one night stay this was found to be a pleasant and suitable stopover although lacking facilities of other larger hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amersham-Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much that you stayed with us and for your time to write a comment about it.
We are pleased to understand that you had on the whole an agreeable stay and we forwarded your appreciation as well to our staff.

We regret that you could not enjoy a completely restful night and for further improvements, it would be of great interest for us to know for which reasons you disliked our pillows.
Our Front Desk team is of course always there for you in order to provide you with additional pillows or an hyperallergenic one.

It is correct that we only serve breakfast in-house and do not dispose of an own restaurant and therefore, we offer our guests the room service from the neighbouring italian or french restaurant. Nevertheless, we are sorry that your were not satisfied in full with their performance.

We would really appreciate to welcome you again in our small "Boutique Hotel" with the personal atmosphere and wishing you all the best till we meet again.

Yours sincerely
Hotel Metropol Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed at Metropol Hotel on business travel. Location was perfect for me because it was across the street from BIS. Great breakfast and their staff was very nice and helpful. Room was clean, very complete and spacious. By the way, there are some restaurants near the hotel (Starbucks, Burger King, McDonald, Italian food, and more..) and the train station is only a few steps. If I´ll be back I´ll stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marielisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Marielisa,

We are really happy with your comment and thank you for your stay with us.
Of course we forwarded your compliments as well to our staff, which is a great motivation for the whole team.

It would be of great pleasure to welcome you again for your next business trip to Basel and until then, we wish you all the best !

Yours Hotel Metropol Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed one night in that hotel.
Room was at the opposite of the road so no problem with the noisy traffic in the morning.
Good bed, would have preferred a king-size rather than 2 separate beds.
Very clean room including bathroom.
Poor choice of TV channels.
Beginner at the service desk, but not that bad.

Room Tip: No idea if on the other side of the building rooms might be noisy but at least the ones in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghislain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Ghislain,

At first - thank you very much for being our guest and for sharing your impressions of the stay, which was obviously an agreeable one. It was a pleasure to forward your compliments about the cleanliness to our housekeeping staff.

We understand that you would have preferred a king size bedded room and we kindly ask you to inform us about your personal preference in advance. Most of our double rooms dispose of two beds standing together (not separate twin) and we hope that our comfortable swiss-made mattresses from "Robusta" even recompensed you a bit.

Our choice of 43 international TV channels covers not only European, but also programs from Russia, China, USA and arabian states. Please do not hesitate to inform us during a next stay of your preferred channel as it is always of our highest interest to meet our guests needs.

It is correct that we educate 2 trainees every year and they have the chance to work on their own as soon as we are convinced that they understand the philosophy and got the ability to satisfy the needs of our guests. Obviously this has been the case during your stay and we highly appreciate your compliments for them.

It would be of pleasure to welcome you again and we wish you all the best until then.

Yours Hotel Metropol Team !

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I am so happy I choose the Metropol hotel. I can't think of one complaint about this hotel. It is very convienent to the train station. As you walk out the train station, look ahead down the block and you will see the Starbuck's on the left and the Metropol is around the cornor facing away from the train station. The customer service was 110% and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I read in other reviews that the rooms were small but I found them to be decent size for two. Bed were very comfortable, towels were large and thick. Even the the toilet paper was great, two ply not cheap, thin or rough. Breakfast was a good continental. The hotel gave us a free day pass for city transportation which was nice. I would definitely stay here again and recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freddiemv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear guests

Thank you very much for your lovely comment, about which our whole team is really delighted and proud.
It is a pleasure for us to read, that you had a great time in Basel and in our hotel.
We never got an annotation about our toilet paper before, but please allow us the remark that it has even 3 plies :o)
Of course we would love to have you back with us again and wishing you all the best till then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have stayed here multiple times on business travel -- the hotel is centrally located, pleasant, comfortable. It is a few minutes walk to the train station, the trams and the BIS HQ. Staff are helpful if you need assistance and the breakfast is quite good. There is no carpet in the rooms so I would bring slippers if you are coming during cool weather.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Splitchanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest

First of all we wish you a healthy and successful new year and
like to thank you for taking the time and rate us.

We really appreciate your loyalty and were pleased to forward your compliments to our staff.
It is correct, that our rooms dispose not in full of a carpet – only the living area.
For hygienic reasons the entry and bathroom are tiled.

All our rooms are normally equipped with slippers for the guests and we absolutely need to apologise that it was obviously not the case the last time you stayed with us.
It goes without saying that our front office staff is always there for you, if you need or miss something.

It would be a great pleasure for us if we could welcome you again in 2014 and wishing you all the best.

Yours Hotel Metropol Team

p.p. Yvonne Scharnagel
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I chose this hotel as it was close to the train station during my travels through Europe. Very attentive and professional staff. Easy access also to public transport. I would highly recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear David t,

Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel and your very positive comments.
It was of pleasure to forward your compliments to our staff and of course to understand that we may welcome you again during a next stay in Basel.

Until then, we wish you a good start into the new year 2014 !

Yours Hotel Metropol Team !
p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#21 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Hotel Euler
#16 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#32 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Alban
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#43 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel Basel

Property: Metropol Hotel Basel
Address: Elisabethenanlage 5, Basel 4002, Switzerland (Formerly Swiss Q Metropol Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Basel
#15 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#20 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropol Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the charming and unique atmosphere in this modern city hotel, centrally located at the SBB / SNCF train station and close to the Air Terminal (bus shuttle to the EuroAirport). With us, you have a quick access to Basel's diversity: The exhibition square, the old town and the "Basler Munster" (cathedral), museums, theater, shops and cultural attractions are only a few steps away and can be reached in a very short time. All our guests can use the public transportation for free, with the Mobility Ticket valid throughout your stay. A friendly ambiance ensures that you feel at home in our modern non-smoking hotel. Whether for a business or leisure stay: The 46 design rooms (all as a single or double occupancy available) in the "Economy," "Style," "Comfort" and "First" categories are soundproofed and offer a high level of comfort. Have a snack in our lobby, where we are pleased to offer you the famous "Basler Lackerli" and organic apples from a regional producer. Start your day relaxed with our "breakfast buffet with panoramic view" which offers local products in the winter garden on the 8th floor. We look forward to welcoming you! Isabelle Tanachian, Holger Brombacher & your cheerful Metropol team! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Metropol Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss q Metropol Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing