We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropol Hotel Basel
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Napoli, Italia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent location, very very close (just few steps) to the Basel's main station (SBB Hauptbanhof) and a tram station where something like a dozen lines pass. Pleasant view on a green park ahead. The staff has been very kind and gentle. Our accomodation, at the fifth floor, was absolutely comfortable and even large for a couple. Quiet and still at night, which is particularly important for me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Giuseppe,

How nice to know that you enjoyed your stay at our htoel - a recreative and quiet sleep for our guests is of importance for us !

We thank you very much for sharing your impressions and hope to welcome you again for another occassion.

Yours sincerely

Isabelle Tanachian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    125
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
50
18
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location close to SBB station and Hertz car drop off area. Right next to main tram hub. Friendly and efficient service with comfortable rooms. A mix up at check in (I had booked my colleague and I into 2 single rooms through otel.com - the hotel had incorrectly interpreted this as a booking for room ... on a night they were very busy!). All resolved in a few minutes. Excellent sound proofing in the room was perfect given the busy road this hotel fronts onto. Breakfast a little expensive for what it was - but will go back again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JMHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guest,

Please apologise for the mix up with your reservation at check-in and thank you very much for your compliments regarding the solution for you and your colleague.

We are glad to understand that you have enjoyed your stay and have forwarded your "high recommendation" to our team !

We attach great importance to the satisfaction of our guests and we are looking forward to receive your proposals or Information about what you have missed at the breakfast buffet.

Please do not hesitate to contact us personally when staying next time at our hotel.

Yours sincerely

Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

wonderful staff, great rooms (nice amenities), breakfast perfect. We really enjoyed two great nights and days in Metropol. We look forward returning to it and feel great about having "our home" in Basel with Metropol

Room Tip: The view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Stefan A.,

Thank you very much for your stay and your time to rate it.

So nice to understand that you found your home in Basel in our Hotel and with pleasure we have forwarded your big compliments to our staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and stay of course at your disposal for any further wish or request.

Sunny regards from Basel !

Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I couldn't believe how genuinely friendly and helpful the desk staff was upon arrival, and after meeting who I think was the hotel manager, I understood. He, too, was so very kind and thoughtful. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The breakfast wasn't lavish, but of such good quality and selection - I was delighted (which I admit rarely happens at breakfasts in Europe). Impeccably clean, fantastic hot water for shower - I loved it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrafirma2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions and of course for your stay in our hotel.

It is a big pleasure to understand that you felt that good during your stay and it goes without saying that we have forwarded your compliments to all our staff !

We are looking forward to welcome you again and wish you all the best until then.

Sunny regards from Basel !

Yours Hotel Metropol Team
p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is one of the cleanest hotels we've stayed at and it very very quiet for sleeping. Breakfast was fulfilling for us since we're not big breakfast eaters. Beds were good. We found it difficult to regulate the room temperature, but it was adequate. location of the hotel was good since it's only a couple of blocks from the bus drop off from the airport. Not many restaurants close, but you can ride the train downtown and find your choice. Very helpful front desk staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kssmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Good location right by train station and tram stops to go anywhere you need to go but also not too far to walk to old town. Rooms were small but adequate and very clean. Parking ended up being better than expected. We reserved onsite parking in advance at 18CHF per day but when we arrived, they advised we could park in one of the few spots right in front of the hotel for only 12CHF.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovestoTravel919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times and am always impressed with the staff, cleanliness and freshness of the hotel. Breakfast is always a pleasant experience. Location is perfect - just next to the train station and a bus ride from the airport. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Root74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle T, Manager at Metropol Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear guest,

So nice to know that you always feel good when staying with us.
We thank you very much for your loyalty and for sharing your impressions.

It would be of pleasure for us to welcome you still in the future and wishing you all the best until then.

Yours sincerely
Hotel Metropol Team

p.p. Holger Brombacher
Sales&Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#21 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Hotel Euler
#15 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#32 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#42 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel Basel

Property: Metropol Hotel Basel
Address: Elisabethenanlage 5, Basel 4002, Switzerland (Formerly Swiss Q Metropol Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Basel
#15 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#20 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropol Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the charming and unique atmosphere in this modern city hotel, centrally located at the SBB / SNCF train station and close to the Air Terminal (bus shuttle to the EuroAirport). With us, you have a quick access to Basel's diversity: The exhibition square, the old town and the "Basler Munster" (cathedral), museums, theater, shops and cultural attractions are only a few steps away and can be reached in a very short time. All our guests can use the public transportation for free, with the Mobility Ticket valid throughout your stay. A friendly ambiance ensures that you feel at home in our modern non-smoking hotel. Whether for a business or leisure stay: The 46 design rooms (all as a single or double occupancy available) in the "Economy," "Style," "Comfort" and "First" categories are soundproofed and offer a high level of comfort. Have a snack in our lobby, where we are pleased to offer you the famous "Basler Lackerli" and organic apples from a regional producer. Start your day relaxed with our "breakfast buffet with panoramic view" which offers local products in the winter garden on the 8th floor. We look forward to welcoming you! Isabelle Tanachian, Holger Brombacher & your cheerful Metropol team! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Metropol Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss q Metropol Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing