We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in downtown Basel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Der Teufelhof Basel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nice hotel in downtown Basel”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel is located within the old town and must have been refurbished recently. It's architecture is done with good taste and there are nice pictures in the rooms and corridors. The hotel staff was very helpful and nice and we enjoiyed our stay thouroughly.

Room Tip: Excellent location, nice breakfast and even though our room was located onto the street, there was h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula_ohne_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    128
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
61
208
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Lovely friendly staff very helpful. Water with oranges, lemons and mint on arrival, delicious. Hotel is in a great location for the old city, literally out of the back door. it is only a 10 minute walk to the station.Rooms comfortable and clean. There is some interesting art on the walls, and the opportunity to draw on the walls of the Atelie resturant! We had dinner in the Atelei, it was really tasty food, best mushrooms I have ever eaten.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
515 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This hotel is situated in a historical building, right in the very centre of Basel. We stayed with two adults and two children in a suite, a beautiful two store appartment, just under the roof. From several windows we had a beautiful view over the snow covered roof of the Old Town. An unforgettable experience. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Small details in the room: books, magazines, free bottles of water made the stay even more enjoyable. We ate very well in one of the restaurants of the hotel. In the basemenent, there is even a small exhibition of archeaological exhibits found on the site of the hotel. On the downside: no elevator to our room, so if you are travelling with infants our for elderly people, this may be a problem.

Room Tip: We had a suite, for a stay with children it was fabulous, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delagioventu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I am currently staying at the Teufelhof and I am very impressed. The house has a soul, the hotel is charming, offers a restaurant, a bar, a wineshop, a theater, great food and it really offers something different and interesting. Definetly different than your average business hotel, for instance you will find a personally written postcard that welcomes you, you find books on your bed, a Nespresso coffee machine... You can also ask for an adapter.
The personal really makes a difference when you walk in: friendly, they even fill out your guest registration.

I am very impressed and I have seen many hotels from the inside - privatly owned hotels really make a difference :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ela66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Just back from a weekend in Basel. We stayed in the Art Hotel section of this hotel. It was first class. The young lady and gentleman on reception were so helpful and continually cheerful at all times. All the other staff were also very welcoming and extremely polite. We stayed in the 'yellow room' that as the colour suggests was completely painted yellow with a lovely art form on one of the walls. There were some lovely beams that gave the whole room a very special feeling. This hotel is also situated in a fantastic area of this city. I really wish we could have stayed for longer. We also experienced very helpul people in this lovely city, when we asked for directions to local tourist attractions.
All in all we had a great time and would recommend this hotel to anyone that would like to feel special for a few days.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Art Hotel and all the rooms looked exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishaClevedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012


We stayed in the hotel in the middle of August when the temperature is Basel was 90 degrees. The hotel wasn't ready for such a high temperature, there was no A/C. It was impossible to sleep in the hotel. Hotel stuff was friendly and helpful (5 stars). Breakfasts were delicious. Rooms were clean but small.
Another disadvantage is a fact that bugs came in when windows were open. There was no window screens. Bathrooms should be updated, ESP. shower curtains. They didn't stop the water from coming out to the floor.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porcelaine81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyniger R, Inhaber at Der Teufelhof Basel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Porcelaine81

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor. We are grateful to be informed about all the various impressions our guests get during their stay in our Cultural Guest House. Especially we would like to say thank you for the compliment regarding our stuff. It is very important for us that our team members always give their best to pamper our guests. And to get feedbacks like this shows us that we are on the right way.

It is indeed true that we had a really warm August this year. We are aware about the fact that especially in the USA all the hotel rooms have AC. As you might know in Europe it is not yet standard in all the countries to have AC everywhere. For example in Switzerland the summers are not always that warm to justify a regular use of ACs (please note the immense effort of power). In our case it is not possible to install this system as our building is under monument conservation. You might understand that we cannot ignore this. But as alternative we always provide ventilators. Our guests only have to ask at the front desk to get one.
Furthermore we would like to inform you that we will exchange all the windows in the hotel rooms in the year 2013. Your note about the missing window screens will be considered. We are sorry for the problems with the bugs.

We are thankful for the tip regarding the bathroom, especially the problem with the shower curtains. We will confer with our housekeeping team to find a better solution.

Please accept our excuses for the inconvenience you had during your stay in our hotel. We take your feedback serious and would be grateful to welcome you again in our Cultural Guest House, maybe already with the new windows.

Thank you very much.

Raphael Wyniger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Rooms on the smaller side are made up for by brilliant service, a lovely breakfast and super central location.

My only real qualm is that i cannot sleep with light coming into a room and the traditional swiss wooden shutters + light floaty curtains made sure i was up bright and early after a jet lagged sleepless night.

All the same - if you like a sunny bright room - all the better for you! Im sure they probably have rooms not facing onto the courtyard - next time i stay ill request one!

Room Tip: Dark side of the moon for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathylee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Basel
#7 of 51 in Basel
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 51 in Basel
500 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 51 in Basel
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Teufelhof Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Teufelhof Basel

Property: Der Teufelhof Basel
Address: Leonhardsgraben 49, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Basel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#9 Family Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Der Teufelhof Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Teufelhof Basel, situated in the old town, with all sights and museums within walking distance or easy to reach by public transport, is a unique hotel experience with 33 stylish rooms. The hotel is classified as design and lifestyle as well as unique hotel. The rooms are either in the historic building, we call Art hotel, or in the more modern part in the Gallery Hotel. The Art Hotel has eight rooms and a suite. Each of them is made a work of art to live in. Especially business people who travel a lot enjoy staying in rooms which are not like the hotel rooms they know from their visits throughout the world. The Gallery Hotel's rooms and halls are a large exhibition area for one artist who can present his works for a particular period. We have chosen three designers for the rooms' furniture. The Gallery Hotel has twenty rooms, each different in size, three suites and a junior suite.The hotel comprises further the restaurant Atelier, the fine dining restaurant Bel Etage, the Teufelhof Bar, the wine shop «Falstaff», an own theater and the archaeological cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Der Teufelhof Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Teufelhof Basel Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing