We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Der Teufelhof Basel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Having seen pictures of some of the rooms I was a bit apprehensive about the art on the walls, but ours was one of the neutral rooms in the Gallery part of the hotel and the pictures on the wall were in restful blue colours. The room was very pleasant and well furnished with a good size bathroom with walk in shower, a flat screen TV should you want to watch TV, bottles of water and an excellent Nespresso machine which I really enjoyed. It looked out over the street and had a window seat so you could watch the comings and goings below. We were in the part of the hotel which had a lift and although we were only on the first floor, that lift was very much appreciated when we arrived and when we left for our luggage.

If you were really fussy you could say there was a bit of noise. Basel has a lot of churches and they all strike the hour one after the other. I could vaguely hear the trams which ran the other side of the hotel but you had to listen very hard. You would hear these noises wherever you were in the hotel, probably wherever you were in the city. There was a bit of street noise but that is only to be expected.

Staff were all excellent, very friendly and helpful and the manager actually gave us a table on the Saturday night when we returned exhausted from the Christmas markets and walking around Basel, despite the fact that the Atelier restaurant was full. We very much appreciated that.

Breakfast was served in the Atelier restaurant which is on the ground floor and was very good with a cooked option which is quite unusual for European hotels. Plus, on Saturdays and Sundays it was served till 1pm. How good is that??

We checked out the wine cellar which was amazing and had some reasonably priced bottles of wine, relative to the cost of the wine elsewhere in Basel. bearing in mind that it is a very expensive city. We also enjoyed drinks and snacks in their bar which was located in the building next to the hotel and necessitated going outside to access it.

The location of the hotel is perfect for the Christmas Markets, which was the reason we were there. it is literally a few minutes away from the market in Barfusserplatz and perhaops 10 minutes walk at the most to the market in Munsterplatz.

The only downside for us, and this is no reflection on the hotel, was how expensive Basel was compared with other European cities we have visited for christmas markets.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I've been in this hotel twice for business reason.
The first time I've been in a room in the main building while the second I was in the dependance.
I would say that both options are very well furnished and you can fell like at home. Having said that, the room in the dependance was cuter because it was more particular, indeed it was completely pink, located under the roof with an amazing view over Basel. It is really recommended.

The staff is very nice and welcoming, food is great both at the restaurant and during breakfast.

The hotel is located in a very central area and tram number 3 stop in front of the hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank lotti23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Set in the heart of Old Basel, but a short walk to the main market square, the wooden floors, white linen and very basic but artistic spaces make this a comfortable stay. It is far from luxurious, Swiss clean lines, but the evening restaurant is excellent. Breakfast is better at other hotels, but this is away from the madding crowd and has a certain style about it. Different from the bed factories, not very suitable for a business overnight, but fun if you want something different.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toddy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We were given a room in the "annex" that did not have an elevator. I believe that I had emailed the hotel requesting a room in the main building that has an elevator, but were told that one was not available on check-in. We were tired from traveling and did not want to make a scene, so we took the available third floor room. The room was very large which is nice when you have luggage. We were only there for one night. We ate in the main dining room and the food was very good. I have a restricted diet and the staff was exceptionally helpful to me. It was probably good that we had to walk those stairs so often since the food was very good. The two buildings makes an odd situation, but you can walk back and forth from each building without getting wet in the rain.
We liked the location of the hotel very much. We were able to walk to the November fair that was very close to the hotel. We also caught the tram right outside the hotel. No problems or complaints with the location. It was also chilly outside during our stay so we did not have to worry about the lack of air conditioning or lack of screens on the windows.
We would recommend this hotel, but would highly recommend getting a room in the building with an elevator.

Room Tip: Hotel building with an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2travel039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWyniger, Inhaber at Der Teufelhof Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear 2travel039

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay in our Cultural Guesthouse. We are always thankful to get an impression of what our appreciated guests think of our location and our services.

We would like to thank you especially for the compliment you gave us regarding your evening in one of our restaurants. We are delighted to hear that you had been pampered by our service staff very well. It is important for us that all of our guests with special diets receive proper dishes so that they can enjoy their stay in our restaurants. And to get feedbacks like this shows us that we are on the right way.

Furthermore we would like to explain you the situation of the Teufelhof Basel. As you might have noted it is not an ordinary hotel with one building, where every corner looks the same. The two buildings, the Art Hotel, where you had your hotel room, and the Gallery Hotel are two different hotel concepts which are equal handled. Both buildings are part of an inspiring and creative world, where we want to pamper our hotel guests in every second of the day. The fact that the Teufelhof seems sometimes like a labyrinth makes it even more likable, don't you think this too?

We are aware about the fact that it is not for our entire hotel guests that comfortable that there is no elevator in one of the two buildings. As the Teufelhof is under monument conservation we are unfortunately not allowed to install an elevator in the Art Hotel. You might understand that we cannot ignore this. By the way, this is as well the reason why we cannot install ACs (apart from the fact that summers in Switzerland are not always that warm to justify a regular use of ACs - please note the immense effort of power).

We regret that you did not receive a hotel room in the building you asked for (whether before or during your check-in). We always try to be flexible and to provide our guests the possibility to change the room when they check-in. Unfortunately, this is not always possible, especially, when already most of the other guests have arrived and all the rooms are already occupied. In your case it was exactly this situation. Otherwise we would have provided you a change. We hope that it was not too exhausting for you to get to your hotel room.

Please note that we are sorry for the inconvenience you had during your stay in the Teufelhof Basel. We would be grateful to welcome you again when you come back to Basel and will provide you then with pleasure a hotel room in the Gallery Hotel.

Thank you,

Raphael Wyniger
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We booked a room for 1 night at the hotel to be a few doors away from our daughter's apartment (so as not to have to drive into town to see her), to stay in the old city, and to be in a hotel that seemed to have history and character.
When we arrived, we were told there was some problem with the water pipes and that there was no other room available......OK, stuff happens. But we were disappointed to have been re-booked at another very bland hotel out by the Bannhof that was not similar in any of the above attributes. Re-locating us to a similar hotel in the old city, such as the Basel Hotel, might have been anticipated to be a better choice

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank 381Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWyniger, Inhaber at Der Teufelhof Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear 381Rosie

Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your hotel room reservation in our Cultural Guesthouse. We are always thankful to be informed about all the different experiences of our appreciated guests with the Teufelhof Basel. As well if we even had not the chance to be their host.

We regret that we had to billet you out when you wanted to stay with us. Please believe us that this is absolutely not the way we want to treat our hotel guests. But, unfortunately, it sometimes happens, really seldom, that we have no other possibility than to react like this due to happenings we can not manipulate. Of course we always try to avoid these kinds of situations as we want to provide for all of our guests a wonderful stay with us and unforgettable memories.

When we have to billet out guests we always try to find another hotel for them, which is similar to us (regarding style, location and so on). A difficult task, as the Teufelhof is unique. But: Most of the time we are successful to find a suitable alternative. It can, so your feedback proves, happen that we do not make the right choice. But: We always take care that the chosen hotels have the same standard of service and quality as we provide.

In your case most of the hotels in Basel were fully booked. But we could find a hotel which is even rated in a higher category than our Cultural Guesthouse. Furthermore we could make a deal with the person in charge to give you a free upgrade in a better hotel room category.
We really hoped that with this choice we found a suitable alternative for you, but we do understand that people book specifically our location and our hotel. So I understand that you were not very happy.

Please believe us that we are truly sorry that your stay in Basel was not that satisfying. We would be grateful to welcome you in the Teufelhof Basel when you visit your daughter the next time and would be absolutely thankful for this second chance. Please accept my apologies.

Thank you very much,

Raphael Wyniger
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

If you are going to Basel, you will be treated right at this lovely hotel. The staff are professional, friendly, and go the extra mile for their guests. Location is terrific, easy walk to all of the central city. Also, tram is right in front of the hotel, and with the free transit pass, you can really get around easily. Restaurant is excellent, bar is cozy, room was very comfortable. We felt right at home here, and would love to return.

Room Tip: Suite #31 was large and comfortable, room #2 was very large, and also comfortable. Artwork is lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The rooms, and I tried three different ones due to paint smells from a recent re-painting, are very basic and not especially comfortable -- just adequate for sleeping. The location is quite nice, right on the very edge of the old town, with beautiful strolling right out the back door. So if this is the price point you're seeking, just set your expectations for a very basic hotel experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWyniger, Inhaber at Der Teufelhof Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear DaneP

Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at our Cultural Guesthouse. We are always thankful to be informed about the impressions of our appreciated guests. Especially also then, when not everything met to the expectations. We always want to get better and it is our daily goal: we want to provide a perfect service.

It is true that we are currently renovating our hotel rooms. Part of this is among other things a new wall and ceiling painting. This process is finished now. We are trying to avoid the smell of fresh painting, but it might be that there remains some. So we are sorry for this circumstances you had during your stay in our hotel.


And we regret that you do not regard our hotel rooms as comfortable and only as very basic. Our concept is to let the art speak. We do have art rooms (which you have not seen) and gallery rooms. In those we have original pieces of art and keep therefore the colour white as main colour for the rooms; we don’t want to interfere with the art. Luckily ,we get a lot of kind feedbacks from our hotel guests regarding our rooms and their style, but of course we have to accept yours. Please be assured that we take your feedback seriously and that we will integrate this in our further plans for our hotel rooms.

Please accept our excuses for the inconvenience you had during your stay in our hotel. We would be grateful to welcome you again in our Cultural Guest House.

Thank you very much.

Raphael Wyniger, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 52 in Basel
613 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 52 in Basel
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Teufelhof Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Teufelhof Basel

Address: Leonhardsgraben 49, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Basel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#9 Family Hotel in Basel
Price Range: £129 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Der Teufelhof Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Teufelhof Basel is a unique world, where dining, hotel and culture form a single entity. The hotel thrills guests with diverse aspects in the areas of dining, hotel, culture and unique events. Thus the hotel also runs its own theatre as well as two restaurants, the «Bel Etage» gourmet restaurant and the «Atelier» restaurant. The hotel is rounded off with the «Bar & Kaffee Zum Teufel» and the wine shop «falstaff», embedded in Basel's historic city walls from the 11th and 13th centuries with a small museum on the city’s history. The Teufelhof stands in the middle of Basel’s Old Town, surrounded by sights and unique cultural buildings, and is under absolutely individual ownership - simply put «Basel under one roof». The hotel and cultural house combines two historic houses in the Old Town. This fact, together with the modern interior, gives the Teufelhof its special, timeless charm - a truly fantastic combination of historical and modern. This unique hotel world has 33 rooms and offers two hotel concepts. The Gallery Hotel: modern, stylish, with a painting gallery for an artistic impact. The Art Hotel: art to live in, historical and individual. The latest addition to the Teufelhof Group: the unique restaurant concept of the «1777 Kaffee-Restaurant-Bar» managed by Fabio Gemperli, also in the heart of Basel’s Old Town.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Der Teufelhof Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Teufelhof Basel Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing