We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and stylish Hotel and Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Der Teufelhof Basel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unique and stylish Hotel and Restaurant”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for two nights. Our room, 28 was very warm, comfortable and minimalist. Breakfast on Sunday was excellent, with a variety on offer to satisfy all tastes and we ate in the Restaurant on both Saturday and Sunday evening and the food was delicious, accompanied by excellent wines. The staff both at the front desk and in the restaurant were really engaging, they made the stay that bit more special.

I highly recommend this as a hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room facing away from the street with the Trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoutCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    131
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
63
212
27
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed here while visiting Basel in December 2013. The location on the edge of Basel's old town is convenient. The restaurant is expensive but very good. I was disappointed in my room, though, and generally in the hotel service. I was in a bright pink room that was very basic. The window did not have any shade or covering so the light woke me up in the morning. Generally I had the impression that the service was more focused on the restaurant and cafe than on the hotel. If I were to stay here again, I'd definitely request one of the rooms with more neutral colors.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWyniger, Inhaber at Der Teufelhof Basel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Amy L

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay in our Cultural Guesthouse in December 2013. It is always important for us to get a feedback of our appreciated guest's thoughts about our location and our services. Especially also then, when not everything met to the expectations.

First of all we want to thank you for your compliment regarding one of our restaurants. We are aware of the fact that for people from abroad the prices in Switzerland are always more expensive than they are used to. Just let us assure you that we use only superior products in return of this to serve our guests high quality.

We truly regret that you were disappointed in your hotel room and that you regard it only as very basic. Our concepts for our two different hotels are to let the art speak in different ways. We do have art rooms, where you have stayed in. And we have gallery rooms whose colors are more neutral as we have in there original pieces of art and keep therefore white as main color.
In your case you have stayed in an art hotel room. These rooms are all designed as a "habitable piece of art" and are redesigned in a constant interval. The current theme is "Colors". So that is why every room in this building has another main color. The concept is that we decide on a theme and, as we are not artists but hoteliers, we let the artist do their work. And as we want to let art speak as well in these rooms we keep the facility basic in consideration of our guest's needs. For your information we will redesign the art hotel rooms this spring with a new concept of art.

Luckily, we get a lot of kind feedbacks from our hotel guests regarding our rooms and their style, but of course we have to accept yours. Please be assured that we take your feedback seriously and that we definitely focus as well on our both hotels with the same effort as on the restaurants and our café.

Furthermore we regret that you did not have a long-lasting sleep due to the missing shade. As this is an old house there are folding shutter outside of the windows. We know that this is not anymore that common but it makes the Teufelhof even more likable, do you agree? And our reception team is always there to help our guests to close them.

Please accept our excuses for the inconvenience you had during your stay in our hotel. We would be grateful to welcome you again in our Cultural Guest House when you visit Basel again and present you our new designed art hotel rooms.

Kindest,

Raphael Wyniger
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCMC
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Basel has a very nice old centre, worth visiting and staying a few nights in this hotel. Bar, restaurant and lunch/breakfast area nice decorated and high quality. Staff is very well trained and pleasant in giving service and advice. The Christmas market is very well organized and one of the nicest decorated we have seen.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Having seen pictures of some of the rooms I was a bit apprehensive about the art on the walls, but ours was one of the neutral rooms in the Gallery part of the hotel and the pictures on the wall were in restful blue colours. The room was very pleasant and well furnished with a good size bathroom with walk in shower, a flat screen TV should you want to watch TV, bottles of water and an excellent Nespresso machine which I really enjoyed. It looked out over the street and had a window seat so you could watch the comings and goings below. We were in the part of the hotel which had a lift and although we were only on the first floor, that lift was very much appreciated when we arrived and when we left for our luggage.

If you were really fussy you could say there was a bit of noise. Basel has a lot of churches and they all strike the hour one after the other. I could vaguely hear the trams which ran the other side of the hotel but you had to listen very hard. You would hear these noises wherever you were in the hotel, probably wherever you were in the city. There was a bit of street noise but that is only to be expected.

Staff were all excellent, very friendly and helpful and the manager actually gave us a table on the Saturday night when we returned exhausted from the Christmas markets and walking around Basel, despite the fact that the Atelier restaurant was full. We very much appreciated that.

Breakfast was served in the Atelier restaurant which is on the ground floor and was very good with a cooked option which is quite unusual for European hotels. Plus, on Saturdays and Sundays it was served till 1pm. How good is that??

We checked out the wine cellar which was amazing and had some reasonably priced bottles of wine, relative to the cost of the wine elsewhere in Basel. bearing in mind that it is a very expensive city. We also enjoyed drinks and snacks in their bar which was located in the building next to the hotel and necessitated going outside to access it.

The location of the hotel is perfect for the Christmas Markets, which was the reason we were there. it is literally a few minutes away from the market in Barfusserplatz and perhaops 10 minutes walk at the most to the market in Munsterplatz.

The only downside for us, and this is no reflection on the hotel, was how expensive Basel was compared with other European cities we have visited for christmas markets.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I've been in this hotel twice for business reason.
The first time I've been in a room in the main building while the second I was in the dependance.
I would say that both options are very well furnished and you can fell like at home. Having said that, the room in the dependance was cuter because it was more particular, indeed it was completely pink, located under the roof with an amazing view over Basel. It is really recommended.

The staff is very nice and welcoming, food is great both at the restaurant and during breakfast.

The hotel is located in a very central area and tram number 3 stop in front of the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lotti23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Set in the heart of Old Basel, but a short walk to the main market square, the wooden floors, white linen and very basic but artistic spaces make this a comfortable stay. It is far from luxurious, Swiss clean lines, but the evening restaurant is excellent. Breakfast is better at other hotels, but this is away from the madding crowd and has a certain style about it. Different from the bed factories, not very suitable for a business overnight, but fun if you want something different.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toddy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis, mo
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We were given a room in the "annex" that did not have an elevator. I believe that I had emailed the hotel requesting a room in the main building that has an elevator, but were told that one was not available on check-in. We were tired from traveling and did not want to make a scene, so we took the available third floor room. The room was very large which is nice when you have luggage. We were only there for one night. We ate in the main dining room and the food was very good. I have a restricted diet and the staff was exceptionally helpful to me. It was probably good that we had to walk those stairs so often since the food was very good. The two buildings makes an odd situation, but you can walk back and forth from each building without getting wet in the rain.
We liked the location of the hotel very much. We were able to walk to the November fair that was very close to the hotel. We also caught the tram right outside the hotel. No problems or complaints with the location. It was also chilly outside during our stay so we did not have to worry about the lack of air conditioning or lack of screens on the windows.
We would recommend this hotel, but would highly recommend getting a room in the building with an elevator.

Room Tip: Hotel building with an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2travel039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWyniger, Inhaber at Der Teufelhof Basel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear 2travel039

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay in our Cultural Guesthouse. We are always thankful to get an impression of what our appreciated guests think of our location and our services.

We would like to thank you especially for the compliment you gave us regarding your evening in one of our restaurants. We are delighted to hear that you had been pampered by our service staff very well. It is important for us that all of our guests with special diets receive proper dishes so that they can enjoy their stay in our restaurants. And to get feedbacks like this shows us that we are on the right way.

Furthermore we would like to explain you the situation of the Teufelhof Basel. As you might have noted it is not an ordinary hotel with one building, where every corner looks the same. The two buildings, the Art Hotel, where you had your hotel room, and the Gallery Hotel are two different hotel concepts which are equal handled. Both buildings are part of an inspiring and creative world, where we want to pamper our hotel guests in every second of the day. The fact that the Teufelhof seems sometimes like a labyrinth makes it even more likable, don't you think this too?

We are aware about the fact that it is not for our entire hotel guests that comfortable that there is no elevator in one of the two buildings. As the Teufelhof is under monument conservation we are unfortunately not allowed to install an elevator in the Art Hotel. You might understand that we cannot ignore this. By the way, this is as well the reason why we cannot install ACs (apart from the fact that summers in Switzerland are not always that warm to justify a regular use of ACs - please note the immense effort of power).

We regret that you did not receive a hotel room in the building you asked for (whether before or during your check-in). We always try to be flexible and to provide our guests the possibility to change the room when they check-in. Unfortunately, this is not always possible, especially, when already most of the other guests have arrived and all the rooms are already occupied. In your case it was exactly this situation. Otherwise we would have provided you a change. We hope that it was not too exhausting for you to get to your hotel room.

Please note that we are sorry for the inconvenience you had during your stay in the Teufelhof Basel. We would be grateful to welcome you again when you come back to Basel and will provide you then with pleasure a hotel room in the Gallery Hotel.

Thank you,

Raphael Wyniger
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Basel
#8 of 51 in Basel
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 51 in Basel
521 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Teufelhof Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Teufelhof Basel

Property: Der Teufelhof Basel
Address: Leonhardsgraben 49, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Basel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#9 Family Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Der Teufelhof Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Teufelhof Basel, situated in the old town, with all sights and museums within walking distance or easy to reach by public transport, is a unique hotel experience with 33 stylish rooms. The hotel is classified as design and lifestyle as well as unique hotel. The rooms are either in the historic building, we call Art hotel, or in the more modern part in the Gallery Hotel. The Art Hotel has eight rooms and a suite. Each of them is made a work of art to live in. Especially business people who travel a lot enjoy staying in rooms which are not like the hotel rooms they know from their visits throughout the world. The Gallery Hotel's rooms and halls are a large exhibition area for one artist who can present his works for a particular period. We have chosen three designers for the rooms' furniture. The Gallery Hotel has twenty rooms, each different in size, three suites and a junior suite.The hotel comprises further the restaurant Atelier, the fine dining restaurant Bel Etage, the Teufelhof Bar, the wine shop «Falstaff», an own theater and the archaeological cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Der Teufelhof Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Teufelhof Basel Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing