We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only curtains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Der Teufelhof Basel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This lovely spot is exactly as advertised. Beautiful old building, wonderful Basel neighborhood. Great for exploring the old town. The young staff is terrific, and very helpful. The included breakfast even ijcncludes cooked to order I would stay here again. We very very well treated. ONE THING..I know this is a hotel/art gallery, sort of. I get it. But if you rent rooms t otravelers you do need to have curtwins dark enough so theycan sleep..Our room had light gauze winder coverings. Several times during the night I wondered what light was on. Noty much to fix, it would seem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samjammom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Both of us thought this hotel was superb. Mandy greeted us at reception and, although we were early, made sure our room was quickly made up and ready for us to move in. Since we don't travel lightly, we were delighted to find that Der Teufelhof does have an elevator. The hotel is a converted old mansion, very artistically decorated and furnished, open, airy and light. The food was absolutely fabulous, with fresh local specialties and a wonderful breakfast. The hotel is located in the music district, so we could (occasionally) hear people practicing the piano (not loudly, but pleasantly) when we opened the window -- this added to the beautiful atmosphere and enhanced the views of old town Basel. In addition, the hotel is immediately beside the tram stop for the Music Academy -- making transportation around town a delight. We were furnished with a free transportation pass at the reception desk. Throughout or stay, Mandy and her colleagues were available to make every detail of comfort and convenience available. I hope to return one day for a longer stay.

Room Tip: The hotel and restaurant are adjoining, but you should enter through the courtyard in front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wordDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed in room 2 in the older building and it was incredible! The largest room I have stayed I'm Europe painted a lovely blue, three large windows and a painting of orange branches on the wall that looked real! Bright airy and clean with hardwood floors. The bathroom was also clean bright, with its own window and fairly spacious.
Please note, there is no elevator in this building( the other building does) and this room was on the 2nd floor up a wooden spiral staircase - very neat but thankfully the staff were very helpful carrying our luggage. Also, this room is on the side of hotel that faces the tram stop right below- handy but noisy- more an issue if windows are open- otherwise ok.

The staff were very helpful, holding our luggage as were early for check in and also when leaving held for us for later in the day. They also kindly called our cruise ship to confirm docking location and arranged for a taxi.

We had a wonderful dinner in the hotel restaurant - Atelier - service and food were terrific. Breakfast in the morning was typical for European continental with good choices. In addition, they offered to make eggs for my husband and they were 'the fluffiness I have ever had !" - good to know!

There is also a little outdoor terrace where we had drinks and light food in the spring sunshine-charming. The hotel is in a great location for walking around the old town- lots to see and do- we loved Basel. Der Teufelhof Hotel is an interesting hotel with unique charms, stain glassed windows, gardens, theatre- real character- not a chain type hotel. We would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Consider if you need an elevator before deciding which building- also if facing the street with tram...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank no3putt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We had a meeting there - the meeting room was very nice in an authentic old/ancient room which was nicely refurbished and restored. The service overall was excellent and very much personalized - it was the opposite of a branded international hotel. You could feel the soul and hearth of the owner that was present and overlooking the management of this fine property. I very much suggest this boutique hotel to any traveller that comes to Basel for more than just a room

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samimanz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is one of the rare occasions when reality is much better than the discription you find on the web. When I booked this hotel, I did not expect such good quality and taste. Every thing was of a very high order- the kind and proffesional staff, the nicely modern decorated and comfortable room, the restaurant, the great location. The price of the room was very reasonable and you get great value for Your money.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Nulypetel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for two nights. Our room, 28 was very warm, comfortable and minimalist. Breakfast on Sunday was excellent, with a variety on offer to satisfy all tastes and we ate in the Restaurant on both Saturday and Sunday evening and the food was delicious, accompanied by excellent wines. The staff both at the front desk and in the restaurant were really engaging, they made the stay that bit more special.

I highly recommend this as a hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room facing away from the street with the Trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShoutCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed here while visiting Basel in December 2013. The location on the edge of Basel's old town is convenient. The restaurant is expensive but very good. I was disappointed in my room, though, and generally in the hotel service. I was in a bright pink room that was very basic. The window did not have any shade or covering so the light woke me up in the morning. Generally I had the impression that the service was more focused on the restaurant and cafe than on the hotel. If I were to stay here again, I'd definitely request one of the rooms with more neutral colors.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWyniger, Inhaber at Der Teufelhof Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Amy L

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay in our Cultural Guesthouse in December 2013. It is always important for us to get a feedback of our appreciated guest's thoughts about our location and our services. Especially also then, when not everything met to the expectations.

First of all we want to thank you for your compliment regarding one of our restaurants. We are aware of the fact that for people from abroad the prices in Switzerland are always more expensive than they are used to. Just let us assure you that we use only superior products in return of this to serve our guests high quality.

We truly regret that you were disappointed in your hotel room and that you regard it only as very basic. Our concepts for our two different hotels are to let the art speak in different ways. We do have art rooms, where you have stayed in. And we have gallery rooms whose colors are more neutral as we have in there original pieces of art and keep therefore white as main color.
In your case you have stayed in an art hotel room. These rooms are all designed as a "habitable piece of art" and are redesigned in a constant interval. The current theme is "Colors". So that is why every room in this building has another main color. The concept is that we decide on a theme and, as we are not artists but hoteliers, we let the artist do their work. And as we want to let art speak as well in these rooms we keep the facility basic in consideration of our guest's needs. For your information we will redesign the art hotel rooms this spring with a new concept of art.

Luckily, we get a lot of kind feedbacks from our hotel guests regarding our rooms and their style, but of course we have to accept yours. Please be assured that we take your feedback seriously and that we definitely focus as well on our both hotels with the same effort as on the restaurants and our café.

Furthermore we regret that you did not have a long-lasting sleep due to the missing shade. As this is an old house there are folding shutter outside of the windows. We know that this is not anymore that common but it makes the Teufelhof even more likable, do you agree? And our reception team is always there to help our guests to close them.

Please accept our excuses for the inconvenience you had during your stay in our hotel. We would be grateful to welcome you again in our Cultural Guest House when you visit Basel again and present you our new designed art hotel rooms.

Kindest,

Raphael Wyniger
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 52 in Basel
600 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 52 in Basel
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Teufelhof Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Teufelhof Basel

Address: Leonhardsgraben 49, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Basel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#9 Family Hotel in Basel
Price Range: £131 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Der Teufelhof Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Teufelhof Basel is a unique world, where dining, hotel and culture form a single entity. The hotel thrills guests with diverse aspects in the areas of dining, hotel, culture and unique events. Thus the hotel also runs its own theatre as well as two restaurants, the «Bel Etage» gourmet restaurant and the «Atelier» restaurant. The hotel is rounded off with the «Bar & Kaffee Zum Teufel» and the wine shop «falstaff», embedded in Basel's historic city walls from the 11th and 13th centuries with a small museum on the city’s history. The Teufelhof stands in the middle of Basel’s Old Town, surrounded by sights and unique cultural buildings, and is under absolutely individual ownership - simply put «Basel under one roof». The hotel and cultural house combines two historic houses in the Old Town. This fact, together with the modern interior, gives the Teufelhof its special, timeless charm - a truly fantastic combination of historical and modern. This unique hotel world has 33 rooms and offers two hotel concepts. The Gallery Hotel: modern, stylish, with a painting gallery for an artistic impact. The Art Hotel: art to live in, historical and individual. The latest addition to the Teufelhof Group: the unique restaurant concept of the «1777 Kaffee-Restaurant-Bar» managed by Fabio Gemperli, also in the heart of Basel’s Old Town.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Der Teufelhof Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Teufelhof Basel Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing