We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Der Teufelhof Basel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Charming small hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Rambling ancient building on a delightful ancient street. Bar also with outside seating. Hotel restaurant with outside courtyard seating -I phd not sample the food. Separate gourmet restaurant. Creaky wooden floors ( which I like) - very pleasant all white bedroom with wide opening windows onto the quiet street. Power at the trestle style desk which may seem obvious but many places don't do that. Free wireless. Excellent helpful and friendly staff . A good buffet breakfast: naturally costly as its Switzerland but plenty to eat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    125
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
59
205
27
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was a nice change of pace through Switzerland. This hotel had a personality. Reception provided us with a warm welcome. Water and fruit. Our room was on the large size so we must have been in the newer part of the property. It had a elevator. The only thing I didn't like about this hotel was that you could just jump into the elevator and not be seen by reception. Close to everything in the old part of Basel...all down hill. Breakfast was adequate. Everyone we met smiled and was helpful. We took the free tram right to the front door. Keep your hotel reservation until you reach the hotel and then they give you a mobility ticket that will be good until the evening that you depart the hotel.
I recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walnut123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Located in the nicest part of Basel close to bars, restaurants and museums. The staff were a stand out, all very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. The Atelier restaurant served excellent cuisine although a short menu. The wine list is the same as that for Bel Etage (which closes for a month in summer!), it is huge, really huge, maybe 30-40 pages and a choice to satisfy even the most discerning palate.

Getting around Basel is a breeze from here using the tram network which is free to visitors booked into a hotel in Basel.

A nice touch from the staff was making a packed lunch for us as we were leaving very early in the morning, at no extra cost.

If I am in Basel in the future I will stay at this hotel again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcopolo2088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A great friendly welcome from the staff, who were extremely helpful throughout our short stay. The room was not the largest however it was very modern, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfast was excellent (and good coffee!) This hotel in in a fantastic location in the heart of the old town with great restaurants and bars within a minute or two walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandg_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This small boutique hotel is in the center of Basel. You 're in the old town part in 2 minutes and its very cozy and located in a old and a newer building. The rooms are not big but vey nice and Swiss clean! The furniture is simple and from well known designer. The staff is very nice and the restaurants in the building are good. The only negative part is the location of the parking place, its 5 minutes down the street and a kind of compacted. Overall great price / value and a great choice for a simple good hotel.

Room Tip: When you are noise sensitiv don't get a room to the main street, cars and the "tram" m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hahee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Coming to Basel? That is the very place. Absolutely great and simple at the same time. Quite and elegant. Staff gentle and available .... Breakfast is excellent and cappuccino are the best outside Italy . It is my single and only place when in Basel. Hope it does not become too famous!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IlaBenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This lovely spot is exactly as advertised. Beautiful old building, wonderful Basel neighborhood. Great for exploring the old town. The young staff is terrific, and very helpful. The included breakfast even ijcncludes cooked to order I would stay here again. We very very well treated. ONE THING..I know this is a hotel/art gallery, sort of. I get it. But if you rent rooms t otravelers you do need to have curtwins dark enough so theycan sleep..Our room had light gauze winder coverings. Several times during the night I wondered what light was on. Noty much to fix, it would seem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samjammom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Basel
#9 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#10 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Teufelhof Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Teufelhof Basel

Property: Der Teufelhof Basel
Address: Leonhardsgraben 49, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Basel
#6 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#9 Family Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Der Teufelhof Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Teufelhof Basel, situated in the old town, with all sights and museums within walking distance or easy to reach by public transport, is a unique hotel experience with 33 stylish rooms. The hotel is classified as design and lifestyle as well as unique hotel. The rooms are either in the historic building, we call Art hotel, or in the more modern part in the Gallery Hotel. The Art Hotel has eight rooms and a suite. Each of them is made a work of art to live in. Especially business people who travel a lot enjoy staying in rooms which are not like the hotel rooms they know from their visits throughout the world. The Gallery Hotel's rooms and halls are a large exhibition area for one artist who can present his works for a particular period. We have chosen three designers for the rooms' furniture. The Gallery Hotel has twenty rooms, each different in size, three suites and a junior suite.The hotel comprises further the restaurant Atelier, the fine dining restaurant Bel Etage, the Teufelhof Bar, the wine shop «Falstaff», an own theater and the archaeological cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Der Teufelhof Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Teufelhof Basel Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing