We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin walls, but overall decent”
Review of Hotel Munchnerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Munchnerhof
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Basel
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, Massachusetts
28
Reviewed 8 January 2006

This hotel is in a perfect location if you are attending a conference in Basel. For us, we were just sightseeing and the hotel was convenient to access using the city tram (free for tourists). The room was the smallest one we've ever seen during our Switzerland trip and looks like it was furnished by IKEA (I don't mean that in a bad way). Overall the room was clean. I would say that the biggest problem with this accomodation was the incredibly thin walls and ceilings. We could hear our neighbor talking all night which is fine, however I was actually awaken by the sound of loud snoring across the walls. Also in the morning, there was a strong smoking odor in our room. I'm not sure where it came from but it was very unpleasant.

Okay, the bad is over now. The hotel has friendly staff, lots of stuff in walking distance including Switzerland's tallest building which you can go up to the bar on the top and get a nice view of the city. 3-4 tram lines run to the hotel so you're never waiting long. The hotel staff even let me cancel a night of reservation with less than 24 hours notice (I cancelled due to change of travel plans, not because of the hotel).

Just to put this hotel in perspective, it was the worse of the three I stayed at during my Switzerland trip. Make sure you get a good price and I would say it's okay.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 46 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
428
Reviewed 11 August 2004

Have been spending a lot of time in Europe, and I have come to appreciate hotels such as this: reasonably priced, comfortable, clean (most important to me) and friendly staff that makes me feel important (I am not.) A full breakfast was included in the price of the room. When we were there, they were also offering free local transportation on trams. As a result, we ate in Germany one night, France the next, and didn't pay a cent to get to either place. I would stay at this hotel again.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2004

Stayed here about 10 days ago. Not really a dump, but now that great, either. It would be really conveniently located if you had business at the BaselWorld watch and jewelry show, which was set to run just across the street, I guess. For me, however, the neighborhood seemed a little dicey. Reminded me of a typical urban Bahnhof district. Judging by the young lady in the hallway downstairs encouraging a fellow traveler to catch her act at the conveniently located bosom bar down the street, rooms may also be available by the hour. Speaking of the room; kind of small, kind of seedy (seemed clean enough, though). The floor had some major squeeks, like the plywood underlayment hadn't been mailed down properly. The thing is, this place wasn't that cheap. Spend a few bucks more (or not, maybe) for a better place. The Swisshotel has right down the street (we almost had gotten reservations there) looked much nicer, and was available for about the same money.

4  Thank PlainVanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nadia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 臨馬路的房間會有噪音的問題
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Flagewang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renata C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank claushemker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 51 in Basel
403 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#39 of 51 in Basel
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel du Commerce
#41 of 51 in Basel
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Munchnerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Munchnerhof

Address: Riehenring 75, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly Munchnerhof Swiss Q Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: £62 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Munchnerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Munchnerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munchnerhof Swiss q Basel
Hotel Munchnerhof Swiss q

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing