We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid hotel, ticking all of the boxes”
Review of Hotel Krafft Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Krafft Basel
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My second stay at Hotel Krafft, and again a very positive experience, ticking every box with ease.

Location is tops, it cannot be beaten in Basel, right beside the Rhine, next to the Main Bridge. You have tram stops 1 minute walk from the hotel, taking you everywhere you need to go.

Reception staff are friendly and professional, and the friendliness seems genuine, not from the training manual, as experienced at many large chain hotels, this makes a lot of difference.

My single room on this occasion really was a single, with single bed, but absolutely fine for one person. The compact showerroom was fine, with excellent shower. Cleanliness 100%.

One slight criticism was that the curtains were quite thin and did not cut out the light 100%, not a problem for me, but could be for some people. Creaking floorboards outside could also be an issue for some, but again it was not an issue for me.

Another nice touch is the free and unlimted supply of tea and water in the hallways outside the rooms on every floor, very much appreciated in the warm summer months.

As a regular business visitor to Basel, I'm pleased to say that this city is blessed with many fine hotels, who maintain very high standards of customer service, and the Hotel Krafft is absolutely up there with the best of them. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AFCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was referred to this hotel by a friend who used to live in Basel, and I certainly wasn't let down.

We had a junior suite, which was located in the building across the road - a bit strange I thought at first, but it turned out that being in a separate building gave our room a greater sense of privacy, as I think there was only one other room on our floor.

The room itself was very large, and beautifully decorated, with a separate sitting and sleeping area. The sofa converted to a bed for our son, but still left us plenty of room to move around. There was no view of the river from this room, but the aspect along the street was pleasant. There was a cafe/bar below our room but we heard no noise. I loved the chilled water dispenser outside our room that offered still and sparkling water on demand. The bathroom was a good size, and although I normally don't like shower curtains, in this instance it didn't bother me.

Breakfast was amazing. There was not a large selection of items, but the quality of the food on offer was superb! And it was served in a beautiful room overlooking the river. Its shame we only stayed one night, and therefore only got to enjoy one breakfast! It was also a pleasure to see staff enjoying the same breakfast!

The hotel was easy to get to from Basel airport - we took the bus to Basel station then connected to the tram for a short ride to the hotel. The hotel provides clear directions on its website, and reminds guests that the trip is free when showing your hotel reservation if asked.

Basel is a relatively compact (and beautiful) city, so anywhere is an easy stroll from the hotel, but the free mobility ticket allows unlimited tram travel, which makes it even easier getting around the city.

All up, a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The location is great, in the heart of the city: close to the river - very nice for walks or just watching and enjoying the fresh air, the bridge and the tram stop are there too.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the hotel itself is very atmospheric. I particularly liked the water/tea bar - you can find them on each floor. The wine bar across the street is great. Plus WiFi and you also get a Basel travel card (though I had a Swiss Pass already)
My room was small, no iron, but still pretty comfortable.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank extemporizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great little hotel right on the Rhine. Lots of design touches without coming across as trying too hard. Rooms vary. I had a river view single. Very small, but nice views of the river. Will plan to book a superior room next time to get more space and also find some Vitra furniture in the room. The restaurant is excellent with seating outside by the river promenade weather permitting. But I liked Konsum even more, Krafft's version of a hotel bar. Across the street in an old storefront it offers good wine, mediterranean cold cuts and cheeses. Great atmosphere and covered by hotel WiFi, so a great place to catch up on emails.

Room Tip: pay attention when you make your reservation as the rooms range from very small without view to gorg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Krafft Basel 3 nights for work. I had a river view room which was wonderful as the room was fairly small (no closet) but the view was great! It is a historic hotel so the room did not have individual air conditioning but I was able to open the window and get a breeze off the river. If you are a light sleeper who goes to bed early you may not want to pick this hotel as the restaurants lining the river do remain busy and have some crowd noise.

I loved the vibe of the hotel and enjoyed the location- near tram lines, short walk from the marketplatz and near some nice places on the Rheingasse.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Torgeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Good, friendly staff. Rooms are comfortable, very clean and nicely decorated. Different than standard hotel room which makes it nice to stay in. Ensuite was really nicely decorated and spotless. Makes a change having a very easy user friendly shower.
My room had great view of river.
Only criticism is the floor boards are very squeaky and not much sound proofing between rooms.
Breakfast was nice.
Great location near tram line and right in city centre.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Whe1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is still one of the best hotels to stay in Basel . Sure , the floors creak , the bath towels are small and there is no ironing board , but given the awesome views and the old world charm of the place it is a must . If you are lucky enough to have a riverside view you are literally looking out on the soul of Basel ....the river cafes , the bridge , Basel old town ..fabulous . To be honest I think the restaurant is average , but there are plenty of apples to assuage your appetite , the reception girls were great and you are one step from the best Basel can offer

Room Tip: A suite overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonathan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#6 of 52 in Basel
504 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 52 in Basel
816 reviews
Hotel Basel
#7 of 52 in Basel
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 52 in Basel
657 reviews
Hotel Euler
#15 of 52 in Basel
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krafft Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krafft Basel

Address: Rheingasse 12, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Krafft)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Basel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#19 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: £115 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Krafft Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character, charm and quality: The Krafft Basel enjoys a long tradition as a city hotel with a restaurant situated in the heart of the old town “Kleinbasel”, symbolizing the life of the Rheingasse. The renovated building from 1873 combines classic with contemporary design: Individually designed hotel rooms and junior suites with a variety of extras in comfortable units across the street in the annex.The restaurant convinces with its variety of fresh products and with its authenticity and invites to experience the pleasure of dining in a new way. A smoking lounge and the wine bar consum complete the Krafft offer.Beautiful moments on the Rhine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Krafft Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krafft Am Rhein Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing