We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We booked a double room which was a concrete cube.”
Review of Basel Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basel Youth Hostel
Ranked #5 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I thought that by having a double room with en suite that it would not be dissimilar to a basic hotel. I was wrong. It may be my own fault but we hated the new Basel youth hostel. Inside maybe youngsters would like it but for us, there was no comfort to be had anywhere. Had it been a cheaper option than a regular hotel, we could have accepted this only it was on a par with others which would have had at least a chair or a tv provided for our comfort. The shower taps couldn't be set reliably on a temperature. There was no window to it, fine if a fan had been fitted for ventilation. We saw a cockroach in the 3rd floor hallway. The food was okay but the general consensus among those we spoke to was that the place seemed a little above itself in attitude for a youth hostel and yet didn't provide the extra service or facilities to support that fact. For a double room for two nights we were charged for 4 persons and we weren't expecting that so it really was no cheaper than going to the local Ibis. I'll never stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audreyferndown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

Modern architecture has been integrated tastefully in the old previous building. The big lobby area is also appealing and you can sit there comfortably on huge leather seating. The double rooms are almost even a bit luxurious and are held in a purist modern Scandinavian style. On top of that: you just walk about 10 minutes to the city center (old town and many monuments). Also the hostel is situated idyllically on a small river surrounded of many trees and other green. This square is very quite (no place for parties or any other noise after 10pm!)

Room Tip: Double rooms on river side. We've got Nbr. 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I spent two nights in a 4-bed dorm room in June this year and found the place to be clean and adequate. The staff were helpful, although far from the friendly faces I'm used to in Youth Hostels around the world.

The rooms has secure lockers for your bags, and free Wifi is available in the lobby. They supply bedding, but not towels and offer a decent free breakfast. The bathrooms are clean,although the showers tend to overflow and each morning the main hallways are covered in water.

The hostel is located in a good spot, minutes walk from a tram station or not far to walk into the centre of town.

For the price, this hostel is worth it as a place to sleep. It's safe, secure, and caters to people of all ages, from school kids (large groups of school kids, in my experience), to people in "retirement age"

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emploding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Prices for rooms advertised (on their website) are per person so you will pay double what you thought (read the fine, fine, fine print). Found out too late and we were stuck with having to pay the same price as a double room in a comparable 3 star hotel. On top, you have to take the sheets to the basement.. Save money and go to a real hostel or stay at a nice hotel with soap in the sink. The sad part is that the place lacks soul and is boring.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chichochavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Only spent one night and wasn't in the room much. No complaints. Staff was helpful about explaining the area and the bus routes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

If you are going to stay in a hostel stay here. It is uber trendy attracting boardroom clientele. The rooms were clean, the place was affordable and I imagine the private rooms are very nice. The part of Basel the hostel is located in, is very beautiful. After a night of horrible sleep due to one roommate snoring so loud and the others alarm going off for 2 minutes at 5 in the morning, I thought I was hallucinating coming back from the toilet because the recycle bin was overflowing with Cartier and Rolex boxes. This confused me. The only reason this place did not receive higher marks was because it is a hostel and I am to old share a bathroom and room with complete strangers.

Room Tip: Private Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StraightTripin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This hostel was really lovely and I'd definitely recommend it. Switzerland is an expensive country, but the Jugendherberge is really reasonably priced. It's in a beautiful setting, really quiet, and the industrial architecture/design of the building is pretty neat. A 10 minute walk to downtown, and 5 minute walk to the tram. You also get a free travel card for your stay. The rooms/showers/washrooms were really clean, and the breakfast was way better than most hostel breakfasts I've experienced. Also - there were people of all ages. I saw way more people who were 35+ than "youths".
My only complaint would be two really rude/unhelpful girls working at the desk. However, we asked to speak to the Manager and he was lovely and straightened everything out immediately.
Also - definitely buy the museum pass card (you can get a 24 hour or 48 hour pass and it can be purchased from the front desk) - Basel has a few impressive art museums and lots of smaller quirky ones. The card will also get you into any exhibitions you'd typically be charged extra for.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#16 of 51 in Basel
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
490 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#8 of 51 in Basel
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basel Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basel Youth Hostel

Address: St. Alban-Kirchrain 10 | 4052 Basel, Basel 4052, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Basel
Price Range: £33 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Basel Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This youth hostel is a showpiece. The architects Buchner & Brundler signify innovative and modern architecture. New features are combined with existing aspects in Basel. Together with the construction of the youth hostel, the architects were also responsible for the Swiss Pavilion at the World Expo in Shanghai. An international orientation like youth hostels is therefore also normal for the architects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Basel Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugendherberge Sjh Basel Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing