We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyperion Hotel Basel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hmmm not impressed”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Considering that this is the Ramada and I have stayed in many in Europe, this was very disappointing. Sole-less reception / bar come railway station waiting area, or so it felt like it that, does not know what it is, very, very small sky lounge. Unless you book a suite, your room will NOT have coffee/tea making facility...even Travel lodge has this!! The room we were in recommended that you opened the window in order to maximise the air con, you could not open the window, so what we had was recirculation of very warm air and a noisey aircon unit that could not cope. Boil in bag syndrome. Also, no were to hang your clothes, very odd and disappointing all round unfortunately.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest & "Reviewer"

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed comment regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

We do understand that your expectations have been slightly different in regards to the hotels infrastructure, but assure you that we are working constantly on future improvements to make this hotel being the best choice for a traveller when visiting Basel for business or pleasure.

I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Being situated in the "Messeturm/Fair tower" half of the tower consists of offices. Therefore the lobby is not a typical hotel lobby.

Thank you again for sharing your concerns and allowing us the opportunity to ensure that your next visit will be a positive and pleasant one.

Kind regards,
Petra Emmel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    327
    104
    26
    14
See reviews for
47
227
41
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anytown, USA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Located at the heart of Basel, the Ramada Plaza is a good hotel with nice rooms. Good restaurants and shopping at a walkable distance and tram station just outside the entrance make for a great location.

On a recent stay, I was upgraded to a suite on 13th floor with an excellent view of the city and I was suitably impressed though I didn’t spend a lot of time in the room (busy with the meetings at work during the day)

The only minus is that rooms don’t come with a coffee-maker.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in top floor with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay here in Basel.
It is always nice to read positive guest comments, and to get some guest feedback about the room ameneties. The view is great from the rooms, and I am happy that you also enjoyed that from the 13th floor.

I hope that you will return again to the hotel some day, and until then I remain.

Kind regards

Petra Emmel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Was staying in couple. Great situation for a conference or a fair for sure as it is situated nex to the centre. Out of the season of events, prices are great, get into the agenda of fairs and rest, multiply the cost by 20 to 30 %. It is also 10 min walk to the city centre or you can ride on the tramway.
For the infrastructure, the rooms are ok. Tiny not exceptional, being a tower you cannot open the windows. Basic decoration, the bathroom was nice. As I said, you can see it is an international group were, wherever you travel the rooms will the same... (not always but often can be)

A plus for the the last floor restaurant with its exceptional view on the city and for the buffet breakfast which is great and a big + for the coffee :)... it has a famous brand not to name it but gives you a perfect italian strong coffee. And to say.... makes the difference !!! :)

Room Tip: Higher you are better view on the city centre .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Confmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you once again for having chosen our hotel and thank you for taking the time to review you stay.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments to my team.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel, I remain

With kind regards,
RAMADA PLAZA Basel
Petra Emmel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Well positioned modern design hotel. 15 min walk to downtown. Good value for money when there are no Fairs in the convention center. Free public transport, tramstop at the door. Car park is opposite the street, 1 minute walk. free wifi. great views from topfloor cocktail bar;

Room Tip: cornerrooms have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guzbelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Let us thank you for taking your time to write a review on the Ramada Plaza Basel

As hoteliers, we strongly believe in the importance of guest feedback and are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Petra Emmel & Thomas Taanum
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed here for five weeks whilst working in Basel. Rooms are modern, small and quite basic. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

The location is good - a short walk into the centre of Basel and there is a tram stop right outside.

No windows open in the hotel, which means there is a real lack of fresh air and lots of dust builds up very quickly.

Superb breakfast.

Fine for a short business stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markmacdonald86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Mark
Thank you very much for your overall positive review of your stay. It is nice to hear, that you overall appreciate our staff and breakfast! On the other hand I am sorry to read about the aircondition. Normally there should be enough fresh air in the room, however we will check up on this matter. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future – see you soon again, your RAMADA PLAZA Basel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
178 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I only stayed here for one night but it will almost certainly be my last night.

There is nothing inherently wrong with the hotel but it fails to inspire any emotion at all. On checking in the staff were quite friendly and effcient and there is a nice welcome bottle of water and chocolate bar. Free wireless internet.

The lobby of the hotel is very strange, almost like being in a hospital, completely devoid of any charm or character.

Room was quite spacious but really annoying loud air conditioning made it impossible to sleep. so a choice between a hot a sweaty night or a chilly no sleep night.

Breakfast at CHF 31 is a disgrace. That might be the norm for Switzerland but its an absolute liberty, especially when there is only a buffet (i.e. no freshly cooked eggs etc.).

Oh and one final thing - why is it not possible to have ONE SWITCH at the side of the bed that switches off ALL the lights at once? Can't be hard can it?

The hotel equivalent of beige.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cap_Scarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied during your stay here at the Ramada Plaza Hotel in Basel. You can be sure that I have spoken to my reception manager about the experience which you had at the reception. I hope that you might consider to return to the Ramada during your next visit to Basel and I would be glad to meet you in person.

Kind regards from Basel

Petra Emmel Thomas Tanum
Cluster General Manager Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

You walk into what you think is a lobby and you're greeted by a cafeteria (most of the time closed and empty). Straight ahead is the reception desk. Not very helpful people here. The restaurant for dinner is surely the emptiest restaurant I've ever seen. Got scared to eat there but I have to admit the breakfast buffet was included and fantastic! They had everything and everything was delicious but I'm not reviewing a restaurant I'm reviewing the hotel. Which by the way was located within walking distance of a bus station but the walk was over this rough cement so bags did not roll smoothly. Also the wifi never worked good. I had to sit in the lobby to get reception. Not that the desk clerks cared as they spent all their time talking and kidding with each other. Basel is an okay city but make a day trip and don't stay at the Ramada! !

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEmmel, Manager at Hyperion Hotel Basel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Rhonda,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment. I am very sorry to hear that you
were not satisfied with your stay at the Ramada Plaza Basel Hotel. We have spoken to the Front Office Manager and she will train her staff better, so that they can improve the serviec at the reception. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and We would hope that you might come back another time.

This would give us the opportunity to show you that we actually proud our selfs regarding the service here. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, and until then we remain.

Kind regards

Petra Emmel Thomas Taanum
Cluster General Manager Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 51 in Basel
708 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Merian am Rhein
Hotel Merian am Rhein
#36 of 51 in Basel
301 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyperion Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyperion Hotel Basel

Property: Hyperion Hotel Basel
Address: Messeplatz 12 | 4058 Basel, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly Ramada Plaza Basel Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#18 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#20 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyperion Hotel Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyperion Hotel Basel, the highest habitable building in Basel, is located directly next to the fair & exhibition site. Situated in the center of the city, close to Basel's Old Town and just 300 metres from Badischer Bahnhof (train station on the German border), the hotel is an ideal starting point for sightseeing and excursions. The 224 modern rooms in the categories comfort, deluxe, executive and suite all have free Wi-Fi Internet, a desk, mini fridge, safe with a charger plug socket, cable TV, telephone, hairdryer and bathrooms with sophisticated lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyperion Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Basel Hotel Basel
Ramada Basel
Basel Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing