We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quaint old town”

Altstadt-Spaziergange durch Basel
Ranked #6 of 154 things to do in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint old town”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A place to wander around absorbing all the city has to offer. Don't miss the market, especially on Saturday!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MxInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    233
    48
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful altstadt”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Beautiful and well-preserved Altstadt. It is a must to visit this beautiful old town. The market square, the shopping streets and the university surroundings are impecables. Lots of good places to eat or have a snack. You must walk looking all the balconies with fresh flowers and beautiful shutters.

Unforgettable!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvetteb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Lovely walks”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

There are five walking trails you can follow which take you round all the main areas of interest. You simply follow the sign relating to the trail you have chosen.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank winnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haute Savoie, France
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Walk through all the little narrow streets and you'll find many interesting buildings . Houses date as far back as13thC. Must see the Rathaus( Town Hall) . Beautiful architecture all round.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank minili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Life changing”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

In 1981, I went on my first inter-rail trip in Euope. I stopped in Basel as a friend of a friend lived nearby. I walked down from the station to the Rhine. I had wanted to see this river since we learnt it in school. It did not disappoint. Stand on the bridge that joined big Basel to small Basel I fell in love with the city. The old town is i think the largest in Switzerland with many narrow streets running off from the centre. I sat in a cafe and had a beer and thought how civilized it all was and thought, I want to live here. Then one day I did. I frequently come to the city which is a family favorite.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Altstadt-Spaziergange durch Basel also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Altstadt-Spaziergange durch Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing