We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such helpful and friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Spalentor Basel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Such helpful and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

For some hotels the fact that my coffee machine didn't work and the air conditioning didn't work (not the hotels fault) would have been cause to at least mark them down a rating or 2.
The truth is though the staff were so friendly and did so much to try to please that I can not give anything but full marks.
The hotel and in particular the room was clean and fresh and kept that way through out my stay. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice.
As I said above there was a problem with my coffee machine which I mentioned to the lady on reception who offered me free coffee from reception until the problem could be sorted. I only discovered as I was checking out the amount of hassle they had to go through to get a new one fitted but it was passed off with a smile and a laugh, assuring me that it was not my problem to worry about.
Apparently there is a rule in Basel about the use of the air conditioning so unfortunately my room was quite warm due to the warmer than normal weather for the time of year. I did open the window which helped but as it was ground floor and on a main road this was quite noisy.
Again I must stress that this in no way affected my thoughts about the hotel and the wonderful staff there.
I will definitely stay there again if when I return to Basel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the road and above street level, especially if i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zedbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
We hope you have had a pleasant journey back home and we thank you very much for your review. We appologize regarding your coffee maschine and the air condition. We are happy that you were satisfied with our staff and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    398
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
199
533
71
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Basel is expensive, so I guess we got a good value here. We came by taxi, but there is good public transport nearby. The young woman who checked us in was very apologetic that the elevator was not functioning, but we don't expect to find a lift in any smaller European hotel anyway. The clerk wanted to carry our bags up, but that was silly. Still apologetic, she gave us free ice-cream from the bar/snack counter, as it was the hottest time of summer. In smaller European hotels in this region we also don't expect to find air conditioning, and they were just installing it here. Good move, honestly. Our room fan could not do enough to move air, and the hotel is on a VERY busy intersection with cars, busses, and trams directly below, so it was terribly noisy with the windows open and disruptive to sleep... but this situation has probably been resolved by the time of this review. Contrary to the street side, the hotel faces huge trees and a upscale residential cluster. There's even a sort of grotto beneath a giant tree with tables and chairs that provides a pleasant outdoor reprieve, although it is adjacent to the parking lot. The next day we were given free ice cream again, as well as Spalentor t-shirts! The room is not carpeted, which is always my preference, and it was well-furnished, functional and good-sized. Interior is refurbished, but it's still a relatively older building, so the bathroom is a little small, but works for what you need it to. Everything's clean, and there's a nice little lobby with bar. From here you can take transport very easily, or just walk. It's very pleasant to do so, with nice areas all around, as well as the main centers, but it took a bit for me to get oriented (which is unusual). Breakfast is very good, but at the time, without aircon up in the attic where you are served, it was quite warm, so my experience was a bit tainted. Overall, really a good place for the money.

Room Tip: Can be quite noisy on street side, at least with windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLeopards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
We thank you very much for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to inform you that air condition is working now. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

After three weeks of exploring Germany, France, and Schweiz and traveling as economically as possible, we thoroughly enjoyed the visual and physical comfort of Hotel Spalentor. Our first floor (second floor in the US) room was bright, airy, and spacious. Moreover, it was close to the old town and the University of Basel, as well as good restaurants. Because we left at 5 am for the airport we missed the help of a desk clerk, who doesn't come on duty until 6.15 am. The taxi to the airport was about 37 Swiss Francs. We'd stay there again if in Basel.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank uilamaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We hope you have had a pleasant journey back home and we thank your very much for your positive review. We are happy that you were satisfied with your stay and that you enjoyed Basle.
We wish you a lovely autumn and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Giuliano Milanese, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Excellent cleanliness, excellent breakfast and beautiful rooms; the team in the hotel is very nice and professional. Good price for the value.
Urban bus and metro near the hotel and in a 10 minutes by walk you can arrive at the river Rheine or at the "Munster"

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roberto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We hope you have had a pleasant journey back home and we thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you were satisfied with the cleanliness, the breakfast, your room, our team and the location of the hotel. We wish you a lovely autumn and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Expensive not to include car parking as it was quite empty in the Hotel car park, they charged 15chf

Location was good...just a short walk to the old town.

Nice large comfy bed and the room was quite.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OMG744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We thank you very much for your review and we hope you have had a pleasant journey back home. We thank you for your comment regarding the car park and we are happy that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and your room with comfortable beds. We wish you all the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyreso, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

A nice place with friendly staff, large spacious rooms and robust enough breakfast.
A little noise from the kitchen in the morning if one stays on the floor just below (4'th).
Breakfast opens at 7 first so ask for a morning meal separately if you are to leave early. Reception closes by 22 but you get a code that lets you in also later.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennart_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We thank you very much for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our staff, the spacious rooms and the breakfast. We wish you a lovely autumn and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Great Hotel, very clean comfortable BIG room with everything you need. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Excellant breakfast. Hotel locates near beautiful University Botanic Garden, close to tram station, or 15-20 minutes walk from center ot the city.
Only one minus: very noisy from the city trams, if you prefer to sleep with open windows.
The beds was not comfortable for me: too soft, but it's my personal opinion.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank carol60lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
We hope you have had a pleasant journey back home and we thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with your room, our staff, the breakfast and the location. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Basel
#7 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spalentor Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spalentor Basel

Property: Hotel Spalentor Basel
Address: Schoenbeinstrasse 1, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Basel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#4 Family Hotel in Basel
#4 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spalentor Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spalentor Basel is a centrally located hotel in Basel Old Town. Renovated in 2012, this friendly city hotel offers extremely spacious, comfortable rooms, with free Wi-Fi, and a generous breakfast buffet. Welcome drinks, fresh fruit, mobility ticket and bicycle hire are all included in the price. The four-star Hotel Spalentor Basel in the centre of Basel is waiting to welcome you with its warm hospitality and impeccable service. You will stay in stylish, modern rooms with a large desk, comfortable rocking chair or sofa, flat-screen TV, DVD player, Smartphone docking station, mini bar and coffee machine.Throughout the day and during the evening, you can relax in the garden or hotel bar. You also have free access to the fitness centre and games room with billiards, darts and table football. A mobility ticket is included in the room rate for the use of buses and trams throughout Basel during your stay. You therefore have quick and easy access to Basel-Mulhouse (BSL) airport, the SBB and Badischer train stations, as well as the exhibition and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Spalentor Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spalentor Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing